whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
A cage type trap, can't remember the name of it, that the rat goes into and can't get out if it
Just burn the car
Make sure the rat is still in it first
What about one of those companies that deal with them every day.
One thing for sure, if it was my car, I wouldn't be seen within 50 metres of it. I can't stand any kind of vermin.
Same as that. Hate them!
It has to be paid for before I can burn it,
A lad, slips off the wellies one evening & leaves them at the back door, outside,comes out sometime later & slips them back on & hops into the jeep & away up the road, he finds, what he thinks is a itch round his thigh or there while driving,what he thought was a itch, is suddenly moving for his crotch area
He knows he's in bother now,to make matters worse, he's wearing a boiler suit,which slows down the rescue.
Eventually gets the trousers undone to find a very small mouse, now at the top of his trunks waist.
Mistake he made was, he left the wellies lying down to the ground.
Mod's - any update on the Slurry pits thread?
(https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058219361/slurry-pits/p1)
On the subject of wellingtons that reminded me of a story the auld fella tells about my paternal grandmother and a bachelor neighbour that was fond of the drink.
My grandmother used to keep an eye on said neighbour especially if he was on the beer. It was around this time of year and our man was experiencing cash crisis, in order to free up some capital for the coming Xmas he decided to sell a few cattle. Mart day came and the cattle were converted into the promise of money. He must have gotten a sub off someone as he treated himself to a new pair of wellingtons before venturing up town to celebrate the days work.
Fast forward to evening time and our man returned home drunk as a Lord and sporting the new wellies. It being a bitter cold evening he stoked up the fire to warm himself and retired to an armchair pulled up close to the hearth. Of course he soon fell asleep in front of the now roaring fire.
My grandmother called in to check on him before bedtime and discovered him sound to the world in the chair. Unfortunately he was sitting so close to the blaze that it had melted and blistered the new footwear but he was well tanked up and feeling no pain. Granny's shouting awoke him suddenly, "Brian look at you're feet, you're burning". His retort "Don't heed me feet mam, look at my good f#cking wellingtons!!!".
I'm starting a new thread to cover the issue shortly, having discussed with the mods.
That's why you do the awareness ticket so you when you come across it you can deal with it appropriately. You can refuse to do any job if you're not satisfied the job can be done safely. However if adequate safety measures are in place then it may be deemed unreasonable of you to refuse to work.
New thread here to continue the discussion.
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058220911/openstreetmap-unnecessary-public-listing-of-our-farm-buildings-features
I can see it now. Car is set alight. Rat jumps out of car and straight into the other car. ( There's a scene like that in The Simpsons.)
Get a Cat and leave it in the car in a cat cage. Smell will drive out rat.
I was in a scrap yard 1 day, fairly fresh avensis been let off the tow truck, Paul that owned the yard told me that insurance company had written it off because there was a rat in it. Paul thought the rat might have chewed a few wires but he wasn't sure as it was driving fine and no lights on the dash or anything.
Have to admit Jeremy Clarkson is very funny. And he's a natural born salesman.
https://twitter.com/JeremyClarkson/status/1466476262432587776?t=s_sBUgncAet8nXYiNCKO7w&s=19
Can you bring it to a garage and get them to look in the area by the center consul? Say there's a strange squeaking noise coming from it and it sounds dangerous.
You won't be a liar.
Rats who have never seen a cat, bred in labs for generations, go demented with fear when they smell cat pee.
They'll scream for up to 24 hours on seeing one which is the equivalent of a human screaming nonstop for a few months, lifespan wise.
The other rats send out the one who saw the cat the cat the day after to see if things are ok.
A nice Christmas video from Horsewear Ireland.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUo94pxHOk8
That's an interesting series of facts and I seem to remember reading something similar about horse's and rattlesnakes in America. The last native members of the Equine genus went extinct in North America over 10,000 years ago. They didn't make a reappearance until the Spanish explorer's arrival in the 15th century. In spite of the absence of any previous interaction between European horses and rattlesnakes the former showed extreme fear when confronted with the snakes from the outset.
From my experience horses show fear at white lines on the road, traffic cones, wheelie bins, and the dreadded plastic bag. Just about anything that wasn't in that position before.. And I still love the feckers.
When you think about, humans are terrified of snakes and spiders. Anything that scurries along the ground. It must be in our DNA.
Would you think of pumping exhaust fumes into the car, seems to work on films for humans anyway
Park it is a pond
How to find the dead rat afterwards, by smell? 😂
Your wife is some woman kollege. Mine wouldn't go into the same yard as that car, never mind drive it knowing that yoke was in it.
8 Confirmed Smells That Rats Dislike - DIY Rodent Control (rodentguide.com)
Did you try getting your hand on a Ferret?. Wont be long about moving house with one of them in a cage in the car.
Incidentally, my childhood best friend is now living in Dublin. The neighbour in an estate has a load of poultry in the back garden including a cockerel who crows at 5am in summer. Theres been talk of me sourcing a ferret a bit like in the general lol
Clear Test here today 😀
All good, but have to do a test every 4 months for the foreseeable due to constant breakouts on a neighbouring farm.
He could ask his neighbour to keep the cockerel in the dark until a more reasonable hour. They only crow at daylight.
We were told same. Had a clear test because of high rates in the area, test again in 4 months. Bit if a pain