whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
There’s really no winning. Looking down on rural people for living in a bungalow, or giving out about us building a larger one off house. Feckin city folk want us to farm to produce food but be invisible after that. Bit like the servants at the big old houses.
They must be getting a serious SFP
I think they paid 150k for the bungalow. They agreed a budget of 250k. The final cost was 350k.
Half million for a bungalow with a galvanized roof. Wonder what it's like in heavy rain or hail stones..??
My father was saying something last week about there being calls to livelime about that show. The main point being those damned dubs looking down on us country people in bungalows was what he told me anyway.
No because I have gone completely off of these type of shows. The pretentious notions on display from the participants, and particularly the presenters drive me over the edge.
Anyone watching my bungalow bliss?
Galvanise roof - €330k
It really has, Spoke to a lad earlier in the year who had been on the pup payment for a few weeks at the start of the pandemic. he said it was the best thing to ever happen as he got work done at home that had been on the someday list for years. Said it was a break going back to work lol
One thing for sure, we wouldn't see them coming down as quickly as we seen them going up. A few weeks back I ordered home heating oil on the Friday, 70 c/l . Delivered on Tuesday 74 c/l and when I rang on the Friday to pay for it I was told it had gone to 76 c/l. I was lucky I ordered the first day. Just checked today and it's 79.5 c/l.
See oil prices fell significantly. Wonder will we see this reflected in fuel prices ??
A Bad night for female sport....
11-0
20-0
Youd think theyre playing rugby with those scores
Did you see the goalkeeper for the penalty?
Youngest lad is friends with a 14 year old girl who has had trials for Ireland . Both of them are goalkeepers. This sort of win is great for her, she was in Tallaght tonight watching and dreaming.
Standard is awful. England women put 20 goals past Latvia earlier too. Farcical really.
I just got home but I was listening to it on the radio. Final score 11-0 is some result.
Watching it here. Great for them
I see the Irish Women's soccer team are scoring lots of goals against Georgia, 9-0. Well done to them.
Lovely article. Always enjoyed his articles in the paper. Was a pity the way it ended for him over that article on AI.
some size of a farm in the end.
RIP Oliver, yes used to enjoy his bit in the Farming Independent every Tuesday, it was the one bit of the FI my late father used to always read. Have spoken to a few vets and contractors who worked around his place over the years they had nothing but praise for him. There was a big sale of his cattle in the mart a few years back so don't know what is happening there now.
There was lots of promoting and advertising too, ......power corrupts etc etc
He was the original Irish farmer youtuber of his time.
In fairness he sold papers.
Always enjoyed his articles.
Gerald Potterton is another in a similar mold. In his own unique way.
Rest in Peace Oliver.
In fairness that was the straw that broke the camels back, there was another article about a silage trailer that skated on thin ice too.
The article reliving his time is very good as alot of people could relate to it either as the farmer or a child
Probably wanted someone to fence it for free.
Remeber the slating he gave the AI company, FI learnt a big lesson there
Thats a brillant bit of writing ,He wrote in a eay you could relate to him and we ended up knowing him as well as our neighbour I used love reading his page review of what work went on the previous week in his own farm ,I remember coming in from school at 20 past 4 every tuesday gulping down my dinner and straight after studing the farming independent until 5 and then out to milk the cows .He always loved praising his children and was a straight talker .He seemed a powerful man ,it just shows life is so short .Rip Oliver
I remember my Dad getting a great laugh out of it.
ha - I remember that article too. Long time ago now, strange how something stays in your mind...
That's a great article...
Great article definitly a man ahead of his time and a great attitude to his experience as well i did farm placement for a fella who started out in those times too and hes a miserable f#cker altogether and wonders why none of his lads came home to farm whereas nearly all of that mans kids are involved in the farm some way or another.
A link below to a very well written piece from Oliver about his own farm which was published in the Farming Independent in January 2000. I think it's worth a read.
https://www.independent.ie/business/farming/from-1979-to-the-dawn-of-a-new-farm-millennium-26125888.html
Oliver's column was only reason I used to buy Tuesday independent back when he used to write for it. He was ahead of his time, I think he had a couple of hundred cows and tillage as well. I presume his sons are running a big operation now.
Used to read his articles in the FI years ago. RIP
Was he the fella bought sheep one time and complained that hedges wouldn't keep them in?