I think more people think it's time to move on and unite the country. The NI/British thing was never practical, (done to appease landowners), less so now with Brexit. I know an Italian family in Ireland four generations, still call themselves Italian. Proud of it too, fair play. Ulster Scots will be accepted no bother.
In my thoughts today and hopefully will wake some people up who think that murders was just one sided.
Look everyone would vote for a world of milk, honey and wine with no work, but if they are then told that it means compulsory euthanasia at 50, they would have second thoughts.
It is the same with a united Ireland, everyone wants it, until we have to change the flag or the anthem, or we have to pay more taxes. Then they are not so sure. That is the reality, you can keep the dream.
You are making an assumption here. Every change is an aspiration and a dream if you want to get colourful.
Do you think people let the possibility of higher tax affect their vote on the rights of same sex couples or abortion?
There wasn't any possibility of higher tax as a result of the vote on the rights of same sex couples or abortion, so obviously people didn't consider that issue there.
Some of the comparisons you draw are bewildering to say the least. This one is right up there.
There will be higher taxes as a result of a united Ireland - to the extent of the cost of a Metrolink every year. Do you think the people of Dublin would prefer a united Ireland to a Metrolink?
Meteolink? Thats up there with unicorns, rainbows and slaintecare.
UI hands down IMO.
UI wins hands down, against what?
Because the more we talk about a UI, the more the common man realises that its waaaaaaay more complicated than we realise, a thousand times more complicated than Brexit and look at that mess..
My takeaway from the recent polls is that most people have no idea what a UI is. The majority of people don't even want to change the flag or anthem?
LOL, just LOL.... that will be the least of the changes....
New Anthem
New Flag
New Constitution
New political arrangments
New Health services/quagos
New Education curriculums
Britain will still have input into the affairs of the North even after a UI, just like now, Ireland has an input into the affairs of NI.
Most likely the monarchy will have some special role as well.
Commonwealth may be in the mix...
Its all on the table...
Yet, we think its just grabbing a few counties and 'job done!!'
Just LOL
There will be a lot of tough medicine to swallow for people.... and I dont think people will want that medicine.
Don't be pouring cold water on those dreams of comely maidens at the crossroads dancing to Ireland's call while we all live happily ever after, because that is about as much thought as has been put into a united Ireland.
If you read what you quoted you'd know. IMO tax concerns wouldn't harm a successful UI vote.
You don't know what a UI is by the looks. The monarchy have no input in the UK ffs :)
See? This is you being condescending in the face of plain honest discussion.
I would say it’s facing facts.
Unfortunately, this is behind a paywall and I can only read the first few paragraphs.
Does anyone know what a "shotgun start" is? Is it something comparable to a graveyard salute? Did they wear balaclavas?
Nice money though, what is it for?
You'd be wrong.
jaysis blanch , a " shotgun start " is a term used in certain golf events were those playing start at the same time !!! are you actually that niave , or have you let your obsession with the shinners make you look so lololol 🤣
on the golfing event , nice legally allowed event by the looks of things , ( unlike those lads in clifden ) and youre correct , nice money , and them that didnt need a " legal loophole " to hold on to it lolol
I would say not, my friend.
Are you in denial?
Yes. I deny the condescending nature of that bullhockey mo chara.
Eh?
Uhh…. Right so Ted…….🤔
Oh, I am sure it is legal, will it come into the party coffers North or South, or will that depend on which jurisdictions rules Sinn Fein are playing by this week?
A bit bourgeoisie for the working man/average industrial wage merchant don't you think?
Mary-Lou off on a junket to the US, funny that, seem to remember her demanding that the Taoiseach not go to Washington for St. Patrick's Day because of the high levels of the coronavirus.
On 28th February 2021, 7-day numbers were 648, now they are 4,551.
Once again, with Sinn Fein, it is do as I say, not do as I do.
Too right Blanchey, obviously nothings changed between Feb 2020, and Nov/Dec21 that made travelling between countries across the world somewhat possible and normal again. Good point fella, obviously Michaél going to the States in the early day pre vaccination days of Covid and now are exactly the same.
Stick to defending Leo in his leaking thread, at least your own hypocrisy in that thread is giving the rest of them a laugh. 😂
What were vaccination numbers like then?
What was the government position regarding international travel then versus now?
Just seeing if we have a fair comparison or if you're at your usual spin, Blanch. I don't think MLMD travelling to fund raiser events is a good look, but as usual the spin to exaggerate things completely diminishes legitimate criticism.
Like imagine going off on one about a Shotgun start because of the word shotgun and just leaving an insinuation out there instead of typing the term into Google and reading literally the first f*cking result? You have absolutely no rationality when it comes to anything SF. "Just asking questions" will be the inevitable defense I suppose?
May God bless Provisional Sinn Féin for they have broken down the rigged system that was meant to keep FF/FG in power forever, without them to this day there would be still no chance of any other party being powerful/influential enough to ever challenge them.
And this is just about as much of a load of sh*te as my criticism of the other side.
Numbers are 8 times worse now than they were in February this year.
What is a load of shite?
Well having a brief peruse through it, I'd say the vast majority of your posts.
Care to elaborate or is that all you've got?
I'll happily elaborate.....the post I initially replied to was such a gross caricature of the armchair Republican who never spent a second dealing with the reality of politics that I don't believe for a second that someone could simultaneously hold said opinions and also be capable of typing out a coherent sentence. Simply put, I think you're a low grade troll.
So there was no ''load of shite'' in my post like you claimed? What I was saying was that no one would have had any chance of breaking the two party system that has existed in Ireland for nearly 100 years like other countries with a two party system (UK and USA for example) it would take a massive entity to break into the world of politics as the two parties generally have massive control and influence over different strands of the state like the media and intelligence services for example.
Another reason that it is next to impossible to challenge these two party systems is that it would take an unbelievable amount of money to effectively break into the world of politics which Sinn Féin is believed to have inherited from the IRA behind the scenes and has been using to get bigger and bigger into politics.
Generally in the Republic from the 70s to late 90s there were three large political entities FF/FG and the IRA which judging by the biggest poll on IRA support in the Republic of Ireland during the troubles was at about 25% of people in the Republic supporting the IRA.
Although Sinn Féin didn't really start putting much effort into it's political campaign in the Republic of Ireland until the very late 2000s without the momentum it gained from the IRA (although then disbanded) it would have stood no chance.
The reason two party systems exist is not because the people of those countries think that they are the only two parties worthy and capable of running the country but that it is next to impossible for anyone else to be able to get into the world of politics with all the resources it takes and that those two parties are going to use everything in their power (like the media for example) to discredit you.