does anyone, who has made any level of analysis of the current smart tariffs, really care? current players are cynical vampires and public servants are living in LaLaLand
What do public servants have to do with this?
I've been Rickrolled - I love it......
We're at home using too much electricity sitting around all day watching box sets 😁.
I changed my behaviour a bit, installed a 10kWh power wall and now I 100% self consume except for on a handful of long blue sky days in summer. Fukc that FIT...
Yeah, I'm already more than impressed with my Solar PV + Battery system so far (just over 2 weeks in), and have already concluded that I'll need a Zappi installed by next summer to put all excess into the car...
I've already generated 89kWh over the last 15/16 days and given 4kWh of that up to the grid, which although not a lot in the grand scheme of things, still bugs me..
Good luck when you will be exporting 20kwh on a sunny summer day... Unless all can go in the ev
well, yeah, I'd hope so.... the car sits on the driveway for most of the day so why not...
20kWh is about 40% in my car, and even on quiet days, I might only use 5%, though in summer with brighter evenings, we'd tend to go for more regular drives...
Am I reading this correctly?
Premium FIT for new installs?
Basically a big FU to those of us who A/ Wanted to help the environment B/Save on current bills C/Ponied up before a FIT based on what we were told?
The expectation is that the premium FIT will replace the SEAI grant.
Yeah, but it doesn't say what exactly are the criteria to avail of that premiun FIT. I'd say wait and see. For all we know they might get a premium tarrif, but they may axe the €3000 grant that we existing users got. Who knows.
One thing that I think is nonsense though is that FIT floor of 0 cent / Kwhr. As if the companies are going to have that more than 1-2C.... LOL.
The green councilor Michael Pidgeon who was mentioned in the article is truly for the birds, he paid E8100 pre grant for seven panels and he thinks he will have payback in 7-10 years😀 he even went public with the fact he has old meter that goes backwards.😂
Ryans latest mutterings
Individuals, groups, businesses and communities who can generate their own power through wind, solar, and biofuel use have until now had no outlet for any excess energy they have produced.
Mr Ryan told the Oireachtas Committee on Climate Change that the situation was now changing and would happen in three phases.
He said that in the first phase, people would be able to sell power back to the grid at the wholesale market rate.
I got the €3800 grant
This guy mentioned €50 to €80 per annum and said earlier about "managing expectations"...not sure where he's getting that info but with that type of rate nobody will take any interest
The explainer/demo she gives there at the end. Is this a kids show? Or is the perception in RTÉ that we are all kids?
Tomorrow's World or BluePeter from the 1980s level of TV
Were you expecting more?
It has been expected to be near average wholesale rate at around 5c/kwh.
To get 80euro you'd have to export 1600kwh in a year.
On my 8.6kwp system I've exported 1500kwh so far this year.
And his figures are grossly overstated. He talks about 6 panels on a typical house, lets say those panels are the newest most efficient ones, say 330W, so 2kwp in total. He assumes 80% self use. Let's say that house is pure south facing in the best possible location in Ireland for solar. That means it generates 2000kWh per year, or 400kWh go back to the grid (not taking account of losses), or at 5c, about €20 per year...
My intention is to export as little as possible...
EV will be plugged in every day.. even thinking of buying a mini electric hob for cooking in summer time when even the car is full and I've nowhere left to put it!!
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Russell-Hobbs-Plate-Mini-15199/dp/B002KGP60G/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=mini+electric+hob&qid=1637765988&s=kitchen&sr=1-4
Yes definitely expecting more -- its got to make people sit up and take notice (not just the early adopters) but here I am talking common sense where the decision will be taken by politicians 🙄
Which should be the complete opposite of what FIT should set out (early days anyway).
There should be enough incentive to export that people actually want to do it and drives solar installs.
Yep agreed with you there Cork_exile. A net metering solution is the best. As they have in many countries and in the likes of California. It would incentivise people to produce more electricity than they consume. Giving zero yearly electricity costs.
Ah shure, stop making sense there lads
The reality is you will give back plenty during the summer. I think our systems are similar size. I averaged about 25 kWh May - July, hitting 30 kWh many times, and hitting 40 kWh a few times.
The good times are around the corner!
Did somebody say 2800W kiddies pool heater?
That would have been class last July.............
There's only one lucrative way to use up your excess PV production yourself: crypto mining!
Feck off I was looking a them last night. I need something for the summer pool.
Now just get a GPU for anything near recommended retail price