Eh no need to go back 10 years. It was between €7.50 and €8 last year when we could use vouchers
Wasn't that 20 euro last year?
Yeah. My guess is it's been priced to be compliant with MUP, which kicks in on 1st January, so the price doesn't have to be adjusted at that point.
Sorry for not remembering that it was 50 cent cheaper 8 years ago 🤣. And I didn't mean with vouchers included.
20 bottles of beer for €13 is a new low, sorry I meant high🙂
Is there any limit to the amount of beers and spirits one can buy across the border in Northern Ireland and bring it can to your home for personal use?
Aldi
Tesco
Dunnes
Eat, drink and be merry, for in January ye MUP 😡
As long as the NI Protocol remains in force, no.
If the EU and UK can't come to an agreement and the current deal is torn up, then we're back to the hard-border scenario and standard duty-free allowances would apply to cross-border traffic.
Not so sure about that. There's been indicative limits for personal use within the customs union for a long time, you can't fill the back of a Transit with crates of Hennessy in France, drive off the ferry and expect the customs lads to say that's grand if they stop you. So in theory at least if Customs stop you on the M1 having done the same thing up in Newry they can seize it.
The following quantities are generally considered as being for personal use for individuals travelling within the EU:
800 cigarettes
400 cigarillos
200 cigars
1kg smoking tobacco
10 litres of spirits (whiskey, gin, vodka and so on)
20 litres of other alcoholic drinks with no more than 22% alcohol (for example, port, sherry and some liqueurs)
90 litres of wine (of which only 60 litres can be sparkling)
110 litres of beer.
Are they all from today?
Those limits are simply the limits at which no questions are asked. If you exceed those limits, you have to be able to prove what you're carrying is for personal use.
No Rockshore 20X pack left in Supervalu Kilbarry and told they are not expecting anymore..😕
Supervalu have Hennessy Cognac for 25e, I nearly missed it on the shelf as it's been rebranded and the dull colours don't stand out on the shelf...
Bud 12 for €13 in my local Centra!
Wasn't sure where to ask this , anyone who's thinking of stocking up on slabs of beer before xmas do you know how long beer lasts in cans before it starts to taste dodgy .
And also for storage would just room temperature away from sunlight here in Ireland be ok ?
Don't want to stock up too much and then it starts to taste dodgy .
But on the other side we have been spoilt with the €24 slabs , paying over €40 doesn't sound appealing .
Edit ,, l suppose slabs will last until late May at least ,, but when summer months come in will that be problem if not kept in a fridge ?
Best before date is on the bottom of the can, on craft beer it's often 12 months but usually longer on everything else (less taste to lose 😉 )
Cans are better than bottles because light degrades beer. Room temperature is fine.
Checked local Tesco/Aldi tonight. Didn’t see those deals. Is it from Friday? Thanks.
Tesco had that ad in today's paper, no mention of start date, would have assumed it's live now. One way to check is with the Tesco app and scan the barcode, that store may not have updated prices. I don't think any of the deals apply in the Tesco Express stores.
Blacks week 2 offer, Grab yourself our latest BLACK FRIDAY mega deal with 3 Bottles of Spirits at an unbeatable price!!
1 x Bottle of Blacks Irish Gin 700ml
1 x Bottle Blacks Golden Rum 700ml
1 x Blacks Distillery Exclusive Peach Moonshine 375ml
Reduced from €130 to just €55
https://www.blacksbrewery.com/shop/black-friday-week-2-spirits-mega-deal/
Brilliant deal that, cheers!
Sold out already
just went in to order and sold out, they must have had feck all
Beer in cans will last indefinitely. I’ve had cans that were years out of date and tasted grand. They say that the flavour may wane slightly but the alcohol will preserve it. Especially in cans.
Cans of Guinness last a good while after best before date imo.
Currently going through a slab which bbd for last Aug and is tasting just nice.
Have drank cans of Guinness last year which were over 7 months past date and they were grand also
I've had bottles of beer that were 11 years out of date and still tasted fine. I think the oldest can was maybe 6 or 7 years, it doesn't really go off it just goes a little flat.
wait, am i the only one who sees those dates as a target and then beats the target by many many months?!!
Tesco 15 for €15 Guinness missing again In Wexford
same a few weeks back when meant to be on offer
The 15 packs are the devils work to store safely within the 24 pack stacks.