Sophie took the time to put on her boots before going outside so would that suggest she went outside to confront/investigate something. She was in her night clothes so she probably meant to go outside briefly as it was cold. I don't think you would put on your boots just to open the door to someone knocking.
Them old properties by the sea, I'm guessing they have concrete floors??
Wouldn't it be prudent for Sophie to wear slippers (boots in her case) around the house?
I know some older properties by the sea used to have stone flagged floors, but these would have been usually lifted and stolen over the years (worth a bit of money). But even if she had wooden floor boards, I'm guessing it's fairly nippy down there in December..??
My point being, Sophie having laced up boots may be no more than an exercise to keep her feet warm around the house.
Where is the evidence that she reported Alfie for drugs? Also Mrs Helen stated that Sophie and Alfie were friends.
Fair point, could be the case and in that case means that she was up and walking around beforehand.
They were walking boots tho. I imagine she had house shoes of some sort.
I think she was going outside for a reason. I also think it was morning.
Here are two stills from Sheridan doc. The bathroom and one other room. There may be other footage of the floor
Right, so she had house shoes.
the ones beside the bath? They are laced boots. I see them better in the doc MATC part 2 at 5.54
6.14 shows a tiled floor under a chair
It looks to me like she took them off last thing at night/to get in bath so yeah I'd say they are house shoes /slippers, possibly French style?
Not an expert on French shoes tho
Looks to me like flagstone floors with many mats. Shoes look like slip ons?
here is a wider one. I think they are the shoes she had on outside. can anyone find the shot of her feet at the scene from one of the docs?
flagstone? aren't they tiles?
I remember from docu they were beige walking style ones, with a fairly chunky heel if I recall. There's no way they were the ones in the house as they were taken for forensic testing. Obviously we don't know when the house photos were taken but I very much doubt the gardai plonked them back beside the bath. The house scene photos had to be exactly what they found after the murder.
The ones in bathroom are soft shoes, they would be ideal for indoor, especially in a house with cold floors.
here is another floor shot
There's no way they were the ones in the house as they were taken for forensic testing.
would have been photographed first.
So what's the point about the floors?
Related to the shoes?
I was replying to the person who said it would likely be stone flloors
Yknow, when you edit your comments after posting which you frequently do, it's quite frustrating.
Are you telling me that you think the boots sophie was wearing when she was murdered have now found their way back into the bathroom to be photographed?? Am I reading this correctly? The boots with the mystery DNA sample on?
you're very sensitive
i'm not telling you anything. i uploaded the photos in response to the person who was saying it might have been a concrete floor just to show the floor
i don't know if the bathroom shot is a garda shot?
I am sensitive, actually.
Your words were "I think they were the shoes she had on outside", I don't quote in italics I'm afraid, but my further comments to you were based on this comment.
They cannot be the shoes Sophie was wearing when murdered as they would have been taken to the post mortem. It's likely that while waiting for Harbison to arrive, the house photos were taken, no?
tracking murderers is no place for the sensitive
I don't know if all the photos are garda photos.
i did say
"I think they were the shoes she had on outside"
but i cannot find the doc shoe clip now to compare
if they are all garda shots yes. why would she leave her house shoes by the bath if she had had a bath the night before. Would she not have put them back on again after the bath to walk to the bedroom?
I believe Jim did use crime scene photos taken by gardai yes. And since the boots she was wearing are still under forensic investigation, it's highly unlikely that they are the same ones.
I can't remember the boots exactly either, but they from memory they were walking style ones.
And since the boots she was wearing are still under forensic investigation, it's highly unlikely that they are the same ones.
that is true if it was a garda photo
I believe Jim did use crime scene photos taken by gardai yes.
Did he use ALL garda photos?
I'm pretty sure that the premise with crime scene photos is you photograph what is there.
We know that sophies boots were retested several times and that there's an unknown DNA on them, as revealed after the French trial.
I've no idea about anything else
For clarifaction purposes only.
These are the boots Sophie was wearing at the time of death.
Now that the wine bottle has turned up and may be re-tested with new forensics I will go back to what I suggested may have happened. Sophie sees a person at her gate or coming up the her house (carrying the bottle of wine as a peace offering/present) which suggests they knew each other. She is angry and wants to let them know it, goes out to confront them and arms herself with the poker/axe. There is a fight and she is overpowered/disarmed and the bottle may have been used to hit her first. The items are thrown out of the car soon after.
Has it turned up though??
Is it with the gate?!
It seemed she had plenty of footwear;
Boots left at bottom of stairs as she never wore shoes/boots upstairs
Wellies & gardening shoes left in the porch;
Already mentioned slipper type footwear left beside bath;
Boots she was wearing when found;
[Removed distasteful photo of murder victim]
These were her walking boots and the I find the Guards assumption that she put these on to leave the house as the only reasonable explanation. She had other options just to answer the door. So having to walk down to the driveway and attend to the gate seems more plausible than wearing these around the house to keep her feet warm.
Wow, good finds. Are these from MATC?
Yes she most definitely intended to go outside then.
You'll find all the crimescene/house photo's in this link;
Ah yes, have that one. It's a brilliant resource.
Forgot there was photos on there. Cheers 👍
I think most of what you say is the most plausible lead up to the murder, that she went down to the gate (early morning) to confront/meet somebody. All blood traces are between the gate and the house so a car would seem to me to be the only way there wouldn't be anything on the road leading away from the house. But if somebody did come to meet her in a car why would they go up to the house after the murder? I don't think the idea of an attack at the house and a chase is credible nor that the wine is relevant.
There were some small traces of blood in the field, and outside the back door, from the house to the gate which led to the chase theory. But the killer travelling the opposite direction, leaving very small traces behind, is far more plausible. Even with a lot of blood on their clothes there is no reason to believe it was dripping but the bloodstain on the door indicates a bloodstained/ bloody gloved hand that may have been unnoticed by the person who left it there even though they were being careful.