Love to see Shane fired up and fist pumping like that in 2 years to help win back the cup (or retain, after tonights miracle 😎)
watched 9 holes coverage of Shanes round 3 today on Sky.It really was a master class in playing into a links wind,the sky team were drooling over his ball control ,short game etc,it really did demonstrate how he came to win an Open in tough conditions.Hopefully either he or J Murphy (who I never heard of) can pull off tomorrow.
Saw it too, was lovely, he looked so relaxed, some of those missed putts would have made such a difference for today, bit of windy rain would suit Shane perfectly (Irish/The Open)
More lads need to keep in touch with the local amateur scene. Some players who were very good on it a couple of years ago coming through on tour now. Murphy included
watched alot of Shanes round ,played really well but a lot of his putts on line fell short.Willett impressive and never really in danger.Certainly more benign conditions then yesterdays back nine.
Tied for 4th winning €191,000. Well done Shane 😊
Murphy played Walker Cup this year!! Seriously, you must have been living under a stone for the last year to be posting on the golf forum on Boards and not to have known that.
I don't follow amateur golf , no coverage under my stone.
That is a bit much.
Enough to be following US golf, European Tour , Ryder cup and the increasing scale of the majors. You have ladies pro golf at a higher level of exposure these days .
His last best result was The Big Green Egg German Challenge.
Fair play. I'm.delighted to have another irish interest out there.
But I never heard of him before.
Never heard of him.
Same - had never heard of him either. Do not follow the amateur scene one bit nor the local pro scene.
Shane 12 shots behind leader after first round in Las Vegas today, seems to find himself 6-12 shots behind leader after first round in almost every tournament he plays.
wouldnt say every tournament but does happen a fair bit.Not so bad on tougher courses where a good second round puts you back in frame but when the field have half a dozen shots or more on you and the leaders are likely to go below par each day its almost impossible to make up that ground.
After being asleep for 2 days he has woken up.
Just build some confidence and get ready for next week in Japan
Fell asleep again on the 10th and 11th and dropped 3 shots. I am open to correction, but I think he has withdrawn from next week.
Great round so far today -6 after 14, -10 overall.
Good round but days late.
a birdie at the last for Shane. Just the 64 blows for the pride of Offaly.
Boards are a tough audience.
Equivalent of 2 under on this course 😋
Too little too late but a nice way to finish.
Terrible finish to his round today.
On a chicken run course he struggles again on par 5’s and slow start
Disastrous finish to round today, 3 bogeys on last 3 holes. Once again way behind leader after a first round, 10 shots this time.
Playing next week in Houston and then I presume Dubai
Killed a decent round with a double on the last.
Why o why does it always happen that Shane manages to mess up and spoil an excellent round ?😳😡
And an early double in R2, from top 10 to outside the cut.
Always is a bit much now
Maybe, but just check where he is now in his 2nd round, heading for another missed cut unless he does something spectacular 😞
The 2 doubles weren't bad enough so he's had a triple as well. Technically he could miss the cut without a bogey 😋