Not sure why that particular poster is being allowed to continuously post conspiracy theories in the current affairs forum. Thread is being clogged up again with it.
Half the country supports the GOP.
This seems interesting. Awaiting further sources at present...
Now if only there was a way we could just devise a system which the whole country could say who they supported? Maybe hold it every 4 years perhaps?
Wait?? You're saying there is? How'd the GOP do in the last 'election' you speak of?
If anyone in the Capitol security was doing their jobs then it's likely disabling all access cards due to the potential for them having been stolen should be one of the first things to do. Could be something else to it being shut down, but very likely that it was just standard procedure for a security breach.
More subpoenas issued...
No, they don't.
The GOP haven't come close to winning the majority of votes cast in a national election in decades.
If you add up the votes cast for each House/Senate seat , the GOP don't come close to 50% and haven't for a very very long time.
They get close in the House , but in the Senate the gap is massive.
Other than GWB's second election they haven't won the popular vote for Potus since Reagan.
Jesus wept when will these clowns cop on.
I was under the impression the house was a better judge of the overall populations' support than the senate as the senate gets a flat two senators per state regardless of population. Although I have no idea to what extent gerrymandering skews the results for the house.
While you are complaining about a private citizen and the "zuck bucks"
Always winning
What "forensic audit report" is he talking about?
The same one they were all talking about I presume the Cyber Ninjas nothing burger audit that found more votes for Biden.
America is more or less split 50:50. It's a good thing because it means that, unlike Ireland, people aren't disenfranchised politically. It also means there's a functioning fourth estate. Unlike Ireland again where the newspapers are identical. Just like the identical political parties.
Around half the country voted for Trump.
And it's the electoral college that counts.
So the "Cyber Ninja" thing that showed no evidence of voter fraud? This is the smoking gun he's trying to cling to?
Am I in some sort of twilight zone or something? How can this nonsense continually get pushed back and yet be clung onto so hard by some people?
I don't get how this is still a thing for some people. Astonishing gibberish altogether.
It's around half. But maybe 55:45.
And Trump beats Biden in 2024 according to the most recent polls: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.newsweek.com/donald-trump-beats-joe-biden-latest-2024-election-poll-1646713%3famp=1
The House is definitely a lot closer, but the GOP still tend to get a bonus from gerrymandered districts.
I can only find the figures for the 2016 Election , but back then the GOP got 49.9% of the total votes cast but won 55.2% of the seats.
So with a proper distribution of votes , the GOP would not have controlled the House at all during the Trump administration.
The Senate however is much much worse
The GOP hasn't represented a majority of Americans in the Senate in 25 years but has wielded enormous power, confirming judicial nominees that will change the nature of the federal bench for decades to come and blocking progressive priorities despite representing fewer people than the Democrats since 1996.
The Republican Party was in charge of the chamber between 1995 and 2007, with a brief interlude in 2001-2002 as Vermont Republican Jim Jeffords became an Independent and started caucusing with the Democrats. The Republicans also controlled the Senate from 2015 until 2021. This means that Republicans controlled the Senate for just over half the time since the late 90s despite never representing more Americans than the Democrats during that time.
Open your eyes and mind form the clutches of our Left's lies. It's right there in front of you in the numerous articles I presented. Or is it your contention an entity pretending to be non partisan spending $8.00 on every democtat voter and $1.50 on each republican voter is somehow fair? Unfortunately, I think you might. Sadly I don't think the medical community will ever find a cure for Trump Derangement Syndrome. 😒
I think I was reading your first post arseways, thought you were saying the senate was the better representation.
I would have thought the reason the parties are so different in the US is that they're are such polarising, all or nothing affairs. A vote for anyone other than the two main parties is ultimately a wasted vote. There's less choice, just fall in behind your team, red or blue. Same goes for the Tory majority in the UK, they chose to stick with FPTP and they got a dumpster fire.
The thought of Trump coming back at the next election is depressing.
The only "Trump Derangement Syndrome" is coming from the utter fools who are clinging to this complete fraud.
Quit the hyperbole about derangement etc., or I quit the debate.
We aren’t debating fairness. You said it was illegal and amounted to vote rigging. Where is your evidence that votes were cast illegally or even that votes were bought?
You realise how extraordinary the claims you're making are, right? You’re claiming someone rigged and election. That’s an massive claim to make, but you’re making this claim based on very little. I think to accuse people of election rigging without evidence to support it is disgusting.
But maybe Trump has moved the conversation so much that accusing people of rigging elections is no biggie.
So, since you're making a claim that it's 50:50, please show how both the popular vote and the electoral college went in the last general election. Just some kind of citation would be super thanks
Yet if it was the other way around and $8 was spent on every Rep voter and they won the election, you'd be crowing and excusing it. Get off the moral high horse, you're not fooling anyone.
Q : who was the biggest loser of all of the US presidents?
A : Who is Donald Trump.
You can only laugh really. The Democrats had the biggest open goal in history and they went with Biden. Now they are left with a guy falling to pieces who doesn't look with it most of the time and they can't even put him in front of the press to answer questions. When the press turn on him and turn on him they will it's going to get ugly.
When will ye get it through your collective heads that biden was *exactly* the right guy to run against trump.
It couldn't be a black guy because a lot of Republicans don't like black guys.
It couldn't be a woman because a lot of Republicans think women shouldn't be in politics.
It had to be someone the Republicans could hold their nose and vote for.
It had to be an established white guy who was clean.
And ye seem to always forget that he won! And according to Trump’s own metric, biden won "bigly".
So does that put to bed the fact that the wrong selection was made in who to run against 45?
As for Biden's effectiveness, ye have been shown that he got more done in 10 months than 45 did in 4 years, yet ye still trot out Fox talking points about his inability to get anything done. Perhaps turn it off for a bit and get some information from elsewhere.
In control of the presidency, senate and house.
Sounds like a winner to me.
Ever notice that before 45, Republicans were a thing. Definable by their political aims, whether you agreed with them or not.
Like this person
Then 45 came along, a Democrat himself on issues, who donated to the clintons, and basically told the party that he was the party, whatever position he took was the party line and everyone else, including a life long Republican like Cheney above, was a RINO. And all of them just accepted it? Lol.
What?