RTE's new 8 episode gangland drama with an all star cast.
AMC start date is September 9th I can't see a start date for RTE just a coming soon.
a bigger hole is how a convicted killer was allowed fly abroad like that ?
Thought the finale was decent enough, no surprises really except the Turkish lads getting shot and Frank nose.
Yes you can find flaws like why are the criminals all following covid protocols so well that they never have any backup with them but you can find issues in all shows.
Setup for season 2 with the Turkish angle, the potential kin fight for leadership with bran being released as well. But also no major cliff hangers left if no season 2 which is good.
In Kin Frank was portrayed as such a poor leader, and the beards not strong characters, Amanda's rise looked inevitable. Particularly with Michael's emotional attachment to her. She had little opposition.
I'm not fond of woke agenda, but I didn't see it here tbh.
Decent and watchable. Amanda is a terrible actor.
Not sure why they'd shoot the Turks though.
Jimmy's character is terrible considering he was featured so heavily in the trailer leading up to the series....he was a wet wipe on the show Amanda was walking on top of him...
I hope if there is a season 2 we see Bren on the outside and Birdie is interesting so I hope we see more of her and she develops as a character/her past etc...
Michael is interesting in that he spends his days brooding over Anna and his illness but has shows up in a time of crisis and gets the job done.
I thought something would develop out of the pharmacist holding her gaze on him tonight.. or was that just me?
Right guys... 18m budget. Name an actor we can get for this.. Emmett Scanlan. Whats he done before? An ad for orange juice where he irritated everyone unlucky enough to view it? Can he act?? Not for sh1t. He's hired!
https://twitter.com/CovidIreland/status/1454941627412369412
his passport is going to show him in Spain or abroad in Europe at the very least and an airport car park is going to be crawling with CCTV and witnesses. It’s a bit eye rolling. He had to arrive by car to track his targets. If car park had a ticketing and camera system at entrance he’s going to be on camera as I think most do then it’s really so full of holes.
Fair points. Still think she would have to prove herself more. She was a car sales woman and now she's Tony Soprano within a short time frame.
id hazard a guess that gangland organisations are generally not known for their commitment to equality and diversity whatever about monarchies and political parties. They tend to be made up of bad ruthless people who would sell you for spare parts.
I think this description of the series which I saw online was fairly good!
Slow as coastal erosion.....
Eamon: I am ruthless!
Also Eamon: Choose Eric, Frank, jimmy, or Mikey, Im sparing three!
It doesn’t really work as a strategy. I’ll kill one of ye but leave behind 3 of ye to avenge ones death. Maybe eamon was just lying in fairness.
The finale was actually better than I expected. But the plot holes were just terrible. And none of the characters were more than a puddle deep.
The decor, the unrealistic wokeness, the plinky music, the utter unbelievablity of Jimmy (I’d be completely put off watching anything that he’s in ever again), the nutso retreat that went nowhere plot wise. Completely style over substance, with an agenda tacked on, and the plot came last.
The drama rte were advertising for next Sunday has the same writer. How is he getting away with such low standards?
This is my issue, the whole reason why this even started was coz of Viking, and Eamon knows that Amanda is aware of this. So she was always going to choose Eric 🤣 All in for a woman in charge of a gang but the writer dumbs everyone down a bit too much at her expense.
Eamon: Thats it, you shot one of my men, you're all fcukin dead.
Also Eamon: You stole my drugs.... You are dead if they are not returned!
Also Eamon: Return the drugs and ill only kill one of ye ....... 🙄 Master negotiator
Lads, there's going to be black people on tv these days. Maybe you should get over yourself?
If RTE is so keen to portray black people in a positive light, it seems a bit of an OG to cast them disproportionately into a gangland crime series.
yeah. That pharmacist scene was weird. Seemed pointless in the end
The Michael character showed promise early on (notwithstanding Hinds character of course) ......but it never really developed if at all, still mumbling small bit of dialogue from ep1 through the 8 and carrying the same facial expression when shooting someone to drinking a glass of water
Did she have the hots for Mikey?? i wonder are they setting her up to be his new moll? or Gumar??
Amanda Lady Hamlet MacBeth Queen Kinsella, she pulled it off as Jimmy and Mikey will do anything for her
Think thats BRON/AMC doing, american and Canadian based orgs.
Where did you get the "keen to portray in a positive light" from?
It really wasn't that good or bad. I was invested but without the Irish angle it had no real appeal to me. Much better versions of this type of show.
On top of that Eamon could have been flying to anywhere, they had a few hours to organize the trip and make sure guns would be available when they arrived, they can't trust others in their crew but no bother meeting up with some random to get weapons in a foreign country with a 1/2 mill bounty on your head. No driver for getting away from the airport?
That was her whole plan, when I ring for a meeting and say not your place he will go somewhere I can get him, not friggen likely
When Eamom stopped the missus in the car why didn't he kidnap her or the son and exchange for the drugs?
To many holes, who writes this muck
the acting was poor in my opinion.I would imagine Joe DUFFY will be contacted re the use of Greenhills church for a such a programme.Not religious myself but was surprised they got that access for the Church scenes at climax of the show.
RTE are pro-diversity and pro-quota's. They've pretty much nailed their colours to the mast on this long time ago. Id imagine any production they see fit to broadcast will have to reflect these values. Its ironic that in one sense, they have a considerable quota of black actors (and some very talented black actors) in this production, and yet the theme is gangland and murder. Im surprised RTE are comfortable showing them in this light and yet championing diversity on the other hand. It seems a strange dichotomy.
Still not sold on it. Unrealistic.
But RTE still red lighted the project for their own broadcasting
Perhaps you need to get over yourself, Diversity is a good thing but this attempt at diversity was just silly, embarrassing and utterly ridiculous, I'd argue it made a mockery of diversity.
The same guy behind the one they advertised as being on next week. How is he getting away with it, do they not have script editors / overseers?