just noticed a lot of these articles in the British media over the last few weeks https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10118013/Nightclub-spiking-victims-ordeal-left-semi-paralysed-highlights-risks-women-facing.html
While i believe "spiking" does occasionally happen, I wonder how many of these stories are people who voluntarily ingested substances but do not recall ingesting them because they were intoxicated
Agreed, as someone who studied Media Law- slander and defamation do exist in law in Ireland.
However, naming the bar in question would be no more libelous than me saying the perpetrator was wearing a certain brand of clothing (and the brand calling it libel).
I want a reliable source. Not Grift. A reliable source.
You might want to think about how the Garda Press Office could speak definitively on Tuesday lunchtime about what had or hadn't happened in hundreds of police stations around the country over the weekend.
Maybe she felt a bit intimidated by idiots making jokes about assaulting women?
Some ratio there.
I've said this before but no medical evidence or hospital admission or even a GP visit to back any of this rubbish up but yet 'they' are running off to the tabloids and social media.
Multiple drugs...honestly...I almost feel like setting up a Twitter account just to go after this tripe.
I believe slander is the verbal form of defamation and libel is the written form but happy to be corrected.
You are a decade or so out of date.
From an actual lawyer; https://www.lawyer.ie/defamation/defamation-act-2009/
"The distinction between libel and slander is now abolished. A statutory “tort of defamation” (which incorporates both libel and slander) has been created."
And here's an example of the kind of nuance around 'truth as a defence' that you seem to have missed in your media law course. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/denis-obrien-barred-from-using-truth-or-honest-opinion-defence-in-defamation-case-gk0s8fbnz?t=ie
"“I am entirely satisfied that all six of the pleaded [defence] meanings arise from separate and distinct allegations in the impugned publication about which the plaintiff does not complain,” Heslin ruled while striking out the truth defence sought to be used by both O’Brien and Morrissey."
That would be about right. It is over 20 years since I last studied it.
Ah here now, you can't accuse one person of making things up and then turn around and use Gript as a source. They're worse than liars.
It's very common for Gardai to say, "We have no reports of X", because they're not obliged to reveal anything to journalists or discuss ongoing investigations. In fact, it's a common method of discrediting someone; to ask Gardai if anything has been reported to them, knowing they'll say "No".
In terms of the libel/defamation piece, I think ye are overthinking it. People will often not name the premises in a case like this because they have it in their head that they'll get sued if they do.
Other internet randomers saying, "Tell us the name, it'll be grand" is hardly going to fill them with confidence.
It's like the amount of accused/defendants who have "no fixed abode". I always found that curious but it was revealed to me that is just down to shield the family of the defendant especially if he is the type of lad that might have a few heads looking for him.
Of course they have a home but it is purposively withheld.
Spiking with syringes in nightclubs? You need a good minute to inject any drug into a bloodstream area, plus steady light to find it, plus a stable body part to inject it in. Someone on a strobe-lit dancefloor prancing about to pop tunes is definitely going to notice this is happening, even if they are on 20 jagerbombs. If this was actually happening there would be arrests, multiple witnesses and hard evidence gathered immediately at the crime-scene.
I had my flu jab last week and I didn't even notice it going in. It took less than 2 seconds to be administered.
No doubt the setting was just like a nightclub at 1am with music blaring and all the trimmings...but seriously I too didnt even feel my Covid 1st jab..I actually asked myself had it been adminstered but there is just too much BS surrounding all this.
Yeah but that was done in medical professional setting, no? Was it well lit? Did the professional administering the jab take some time to identify the area where they were going to administer the shot? I'm sure they did. Not the same in a dark nightclub trying to clandestinely place the shot, without anybody else seeing this going on to go with it.
They asked for a source and got one. Why would would the Gardai refuse to say if they had a report or not? Simple fact is this type of crime in very rare, and as usual, has been over blown due to social media. There was poster saying this happens every Saturday night which was shown to be demonstrably false.
Who is doing that? Also, are you going to back up your previous statements regarding the regularity of spiking or not?
Oh so now all of this is BS is it?
Ever been in a nightclub where you've been packed in like sardines? Bump into someone?
Honestly, the amount of people here trying to discredit anybody who makes any claim is terrifying.
Same people would be the first ones to tell others to mind their drinks as well, only to not believe them later on.
Yeah, what would the Garda press office know. It's not like the guards have a computer that records all the crimes that happen in the country....oh wait...
It's from the usual 'be proven wrong so attack the source' play book.
Oh wait indeed.
I'm pretty sure that spiking has and will continue to go on in the likes of nightclubs and other late venues where public inebriation goes on. That's logical, sad but logical.
What isn't logical are these new claims that now a new breed of serial potential rapist is now going out in various countries, seemingly in numbers, simultaneously, armed with a new method of poisoning through syringes, with the capability to administer doses of drugs into peoples bloodstreams, in nightclubs, without anybody seeing this visibly intrusive, outlandish and crazy behaviour, with high numbers of witnesses and surveillance security cameras within these sort of places.
Heroin addict with drug paraphenalia gets arrested in club while selling benzos..evidence of widespread spiking!!!!!!!
That article states that less than 1 in ten crimes take longer than a week to be recorded. And that seems to be adversely impacted by specific garda areas..DMR South, Laois/Offaly and Mayo..
So 90% are reported within a week and of those that aren't the majority are for "road offences, followed by insurance and theft". So the majority of crimes are recorded as per the protocols. You are clutching at straws.
“We don’t provide comment on third party materials (Twitter). The response made available is up to date.”
Longer than a week! And you're relying on the 'definitive response ' just 24 hours on a very unusual incident that could well have been miscategorised?
If you were a potential spiker, what type of person would you be more likely to try to target? A completely sober one or one that already had a few drinks? Never mind the logistics of getting something into their drink without them noticing ... looking at the posts on here you'd have a fair idea that any attack you perpetrated would subsequently be sneerily written off by society as the victim's own fault and just their overindulgence in alcohol.
I did post earlier about a 100% teetotal girl I know who was spiked as a teenager and ended up in hospital. If you met her and she told you that story, I'd assume you'd confidently tell her that she just had too much to drink? Even though she doesn't drink and never has (for genuine medical reasons).
It's a culture, I mean even today it's seen as funny in reruns of shows.
https://streamable.com/3ld6ry
What are you getting so angry about? Nobody claimed that this doesn't happen, but that there are lots of people who wrongly claim to have experienced this for their own reasons. Does that not anger you, given that you were present for your friend's experience?
I can't believe noone has pointed out fact the article you linked is from 2014
Not getting angry and I never said I was present for her experience (which may or may not be some kind of an attempt at a "set-up" on your part). If you are surprised to learn that some people don't drink alcohol, wait til you learn that some people aren't lucky enough to be born with two fully functioning kidneys.
I do know a girl who was spiked and raped but given I was told that in confidence, I will not be elaborating further. That behaviour is particularly rife on US college campuses.