just noticed a lot of these articles in the British media over the last few weeks https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10118013/Nightclub-spiking-victims-ordeal-left-semi-paralysed-highlights-risks-women-facing.html
While i believe "spiking" does occasionally happen, I wonder how many of these stories are people who voluntarily ingested substances but do not recall ingesting them because they were intoxicated
I was in a rural pub, about 10yrs ago. I was mid way through my first pint (back then my 'limit' was around the 5 pint mark).
Started feeling woozy very quickly. Left the pub and collapsed in car park. I was on my own. Came too. But collapsed again. Not sure how many times I fell over but I've hazy recollection of making it to my feet several times.
I was found by a random couple and rushed to A&E in nearest big town. My face was a bloody mess from all the falls.
Anyways, after an 8hr stay in A&E, no conclusions were come to. Bloods were taken but nothing of note...
I don't, for one minute, think I was spiked. There was no motive or opportunity for someone to do so. But from the outside, the events would definitely fit the spiked narrative.
I would hypothesise that spiking falls into 3 categories:
1) people who have over indulged in alcohol
2) people who have some unexplained illness/event that coincides with alcohol consumption
3) people who have had their drink spiked/been injected unbeknownst to themselves with a narcotic.
I think the first groups are likely to account for more than the third.
Love bite, whacked it off the kitchen door, who knows?
It's a bruise. It's not really a surprise that if someone has an injury where something pokes them and breaks the skin, a bruise will form around it.
Open-ended for me, I'm not saying she wasn't spiked, but it's very far from the only possibility. She's most likely absolutely telling the truth; she felt ill, went home and woke up with a bruise that she doesn't know where she got it. I've had plenty of nights like that when I was young. She panicked, went to the hospital, got tested and found "multiple drugs" (cough). Again, perfectly plausible.
The fact that one guy in the UK gets arrested with a needle in a nightclub, and suddenly it's happening everywhere? The amount of, "OMG this happened to my friend this weekend!" responses popping up.
Sure, you might get some psychopath that decides it sounds like a good idea, but there aren't guys in every nightclub secretly stashing needles so they can stick women. And to what end? This girl left and went home. Surely if someone had gone to the trouble of dosing up a needle and sticking her, they had some kind of plan in place? To follow her home? To try and "help" her at the bar? But apparently this guy stuck her, and then just walked off..?
If this does start copycat incidents, I think it's more likely to be gobshites going around with drawing pins poking women for the lulz and then saying it's just a joke.
Anybody with any common sense of the law knows why she didn’t name the bar.
I’ll explain anyway. Naming the bar gives the impression that they are culpable, which unless they are found to have spiked her themselves, is a potentially libellous statement to make.
Many people in this thread know that, but they’ll do anything to discredit people who report anything.
She said she has spoken to the guards, which many of those looking to discredit her conveniently left out in their posts.
Like most posters, I've found that the majority of people claiming to be spiked have generally just had an absolute skinful.
As someone who has many routine needles for medical treatment, the bruises and pinprick look legit to me- I had an absolute shiner after my first covid jab.
I worry that even if most of the needle spikings are fabricated, there's more than enough lunatics out there to feel inspired. Self fulfilling prophecy and all that.
I f**king hate this planet sometimes.
Naming the bar is not libellous. Saying the bar allowed it would be
She claims she felt woozy, told the bouncers that "I didn't feel myself and was kicked out alone". Story doesn't make an ounce of sense.
Sound like drunk and abnoxious to me
How would the bar be culpable? Absolute nonsense. All she'd have to say was "I was in XXXXX bar, felt woozy and told the bouncers who threw me out, subsequently I collapsed and was brought to hospital". Boards lawyers are the worst lawyers.
Just looked again at Zoe o Callaghand bruise. Looks more likely was inflicted by someone pulling or dragging her. Picture trying to get a drunk off the floor
I'd say she was tasered.
I am not buying any of that BS based on a Tweet. "multiple drugs" really...my ass.
A statement of fact can not be libelous.
There is a form of mass hysteria developing in the UK over this and the media there are stoking it.There have been reports of people with scratches on their body(after police investigation) but nothing that deserves so much attention.That's not to say it doesn't happen.
I would be agreeing with ChoclateIce about how scratches could occur.Some blottos might not remember the doorway,hedge,ditch etc
Exactly. She also claimed that she and her friends sat at the bar as they were worried about being spiked. If I was at the bar and felt woozy, I'd ask the barman if he'd used a stronger shot etc, or sent a friend to get a bouncer, I wouldn't head off alone and get thrown out alone. She surely had a jacket and handbag with her, at the very least.
She also claims to have “just” gotten unconscious. No explanation in which order these events happened. The whole thing doesn’t make sense.
That's perfectly plausible too tbh. "Kicked out alone" might be overegging it a bit, but the bouncers are there to protect the club. You'd hope that if someone went up to a bouncer and said they were feeling sick, the bouncer might get them a seat and call a taxi.
But you can see how there would be so many pitfalls from such an approach. So the process becomes, "If someone says they feel sick, you get them out the door and tell them to go home". Not in the club, not the club's problem. "If you're not feeling well, I'm going to have to ask you to leave". That sounds like a perfectly plausible interaction, which from the point of view of the tweeter becomes, "I got kicked out alone".
Gardai have confirmed that they have had 0 reports of anyone being spiked, by needle, or otherwise over the weekend.
Source please?
There's also the fact that it would be utterly pointless in naming the bar. It's not like any attacker would be restricted to one particular bar.
Have a read of that line again about the bouncers, and have a little think about culpability.
As said above, the truth is neither slanderous nor libelous.
https://gript.ie/gardai-say-no-reports-of-women-being-spiked-with-syringes-have-been-made/
After asking about the Gardai statement, I got no reply from "Zoe" but she has now removed her injection pic and fairytale from twitter. Coincidence??
We don't have slander or libel in Ireland. We have defamation.
And it is a bit more nuanced than you suggest.
Perhaps I should have been clearer.
Reliable source please?
hurr durr twitter post is 100% truff ! !!!!! !!!!!!
but the accredited, acclaimed, prize-winning, decades long writing authors that run Gript? NAW THEY'RE NOT RELIABLE AT ALL LADS.
all kids and young 20 somethings seem to just be hysterical by nature now, theres been posts on here already from women admitting that in their case when they got plastered they blamed it on somebody spiking them (men catching the blame for nothing mind you) just to save face yet now that fairly typical white lie which would let everyone forget a persons drunken antics is now giving these spastics a platform to cry wolf from.... and people like you are enabling it.
cafflingwunts the lot of yis ! !!! !!
Quotes from the Garda Press Office aren't reliable? What more do you want, Drew Harris to knock into you and personally give you the news. You were caught out with a fake Twitter fairytale that has now been exposed. Own it.
Its not really more nuanced. Truth is an absolute defence to defamation/slander/libel.
Not that I particularly think naming the place it happened would even count as defamation in the first place.