To me thats where a lot of the problems are the clubs are not strong enough to have there say to much polotics involved.
Is the County Board not made up of club representatives? Surely they can force change and have the officers replaced if they truly wish to?
Looking ahead to next year, when team managers are being selected, now is the time to propose change in how we go through the selection process. No point in waiting until the last moment and moaning about it afterwards. It would send out a clear message that no one person has control.
So, clubs, if you want change, start now.
I could easily name 7/8 lads that should retire, a lot of the older players with the exception of the obvious few have been very very poor the last 4/5 years hence Kilkenny have no All Ireland. As for the the bunch of sleeping dictators in the county board including Cody, delighted Henry gave them the 2 fingers. Kilkenny have become a shambles and its going to get a lot worse before it gets better.
I've sat in front of county board representing our club over last few years , to say it's shocking is putting it mildly .....
We have seen in other sports when a long term manager leaves it can be a poison challis.Dessie farrell won the all Ireland with Dublin but I dunno will they be a big queue for the kilkenny job when cody goes.
I don't know Jimmy Walsh but from the outside looking in it seems to be just full of yes men that just move positions every few years.Theres no one there with innovation or vision or anyone to challenge anyone.Our lack of underage success has being well highlighted and we've being incredibly slow to react.Muldowneys appointment being met with resistance kinda sums up the whole thing.We badly need the whole thing to be shaken up and that's unlikely to happen.Its working in offally and cork and clare are getting things together.The is an air of doom and gloom around the county and we need to act very very fast.
Retirements is it not time for Buckley , Fogarty , Wally, Hogan to go absolute madness to me if there part of the panel for 2022 .
Henry like most people sees it even if Brian was to go in next year or 2 can't see Kilkenny winning an all Ireland in next 8 years or so no matter whos in charge .....the first thing that has to happen is Jimmy Walsh has to go the worst Chairman we've ever had ....
Tommy and Dowling already ratified for next year with the camogie.
All the talk of retirements is rubbish. A lot of the current KK seniors are in good jobs or enjoy being ambassadors for certain brands of car manufacturers etc, and will not want to give up these "perks". The modern day intercounty hurler is far more media focused than their comrades from the past and as a result I cannot see too many retirements tbh.
KK without a shadow of a doubt need coaching for a gameplan/puckout strategy. Again the question needs to be asked that if they are not being listened to ,why oh why are they staying on for another year. In fairness to DJ he had the integrity to walk when not being listened to. I personally think a lot of people in the current set up(incl players) could do worse than follow suit.
I really don't know where we will end up next year with the way things are going.
Massive move by Henry with only himself and Richie O Niell involved but I presume Tommy will come on board shortly. As has been said before I think the Shamrocks job was one of the easier ones but it was well done and likewise with the Thomastown job(bar a disaster, they'll win in a canter). I think himself and RON still have a massive amount to prove at management level but I do think they'll do well up the west and maybe, just maybe at our expense!!
I couldn't agree more.
He writes as if he is "in the know" on everything but I'd say half of it is pure speculation and hearsay. I quite enjoy his writing generally though to be fair to him.
A lot of people are not happy with Shefflins decision but are probably a bit reticent to openly express those thoughts. In fairness it is just not our way to be like that - bar myself it seems!!
I still cannot believe he is willing to manage a county team, a direct competitor, against guys that were team mates - especially after he expressed sentiments about not wanting to manage V's Ballyhale. Let's not forget he will be managing teams featuring at least one if not more of his nephews.
I also still cannot believe that people on here think that it is just a training exercise for him when it's not a stretch to say they will have a better pool of players to pick from. He himself was one of the few cards we had to play in the next few years and he has gone to a direct rival, strengthening them and weakening us.
Granted the position wasn't available now but he surely would not have long to wait and could have forced this hand in.a roundabout way.
Shefflin will know where Kilkenny are weakest!!! Doesn't every County Manager know. Don't we all know!
An interesting view from Jamie Wall.
RTE.ie: Shefflin will know where Kilkenny are weakest - Wall.
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2021/1026/1255921-shefflin-will-know-where-kilkenny-are-weakest-wall/
Extract from Irish Examiner article by PM O'Sullivan - That obvious topic, Henry Shefflin’s decision to take on managing Galway? People shake their head, lost for wryness. From what I hear, there exists no animosity towards the Ballyhale native. Disappointment and frustration, yes, but his name is not being held to a flame. -
This is bull! Practically everybody I spoke with in the last week would not be at all happy with Shefflin.
Many former players have got involved with Kilkenny squads, minor, under 20 etc over the years. Some have gained experience with Meath, Laois, Kildare etc and various clubs. That to me is putting your hand up and showing genuine interest in getting involved with the seniors when Cody steps down, or told to go. I'm not aware of Shefflin getting involved at any level with the County. Why then should he be considered the successor to Cody? He certainly hadn't shown obvious interest.
On the expected retirements from the senior setup - any of us could name at least six players likely to go. You don't have to be a journalist with "inside knowledge"! Liam Blanchfield is the young player he's referring to. Again, fairly common knowledge.
Yes, Cody has been helepd by a few bits of silverware (2018 National League and the 2020 smash and grab on Galway to win Leinster) but the level of performance from 2016 to 2021 has mostly ranged from barely average to often abject.
Over the course of hurling history, Munster teams would always take any AI final opponent ahead of facing Kilkenny, not now.
Every one of the five strong Munster counties would take an AI semi or final versus Cody's Kilkenny over Galway any day of the week. They believe they have our number. Arguably the weakest of that five (Clare) have no fear whatsover of Cody's Kilkenny and have routinely beaten us for 4-5 years
I'd take with a pinch of salt what ex players are saying publicly, they are being deferential to a man they soldiered with, and that only reflects well on them. Privately I would imagine most feel he has stayed too long.
Someone made the point here recently that Cody's mantra has always been about "the team and not the individual" and yet here he is breaking his own code, making it too much about himself.
How many great inter county careers did he bring to a sudden end? Lots, and some of them in the most ruthless and even callous fashion. But it appears the same tough code just doesn't apply to him.
Five years after an All Ireland final defeat that should have heralded the end of his glorious tenure (a torn assunder tactical defeat that prefaced what was coming, the game and its sophistication moving beyond what Cody had preached successfully for 15 years), there is no one to tap him on the shoulder and say what he said a dozen or more times "you had a good run but it's time to go"
I think we're all braced for a few retirements.Hogan has being plagued by injury and I think most will agree the lack of game time himself and joey got the last few years was very unfair.Then you have lads like Buckley,wally,fogarty who have given us great value but have become impact players.Blanchfield has lost all confidence.
PM does have a few valid points.Cody has made a few terrible decisions over the last few years and in any other county its unlikely he would get reinstalled without any fuss.Our puck out strategy against particularly cork last year and brining on a player who missed a years hurling and let him get roasted by Kingston was very poor.
The talk here a few weeks ago was eoin Murphy isn't happy so thats probably who he is talking about.The only positive I'd say is cody unlike what Liam sheedy done last year is he wasn't loyal to the older lads and he has blooded a good few lads but there's no getting away from the obvious.We lack a puck out strategy and game plan.
I was at alot of matches over the last few weeks and theres not many lads putting up their hands for inclusion.
While he has some interesting points puffed up with flowery writing..
The author says... "I intensely dislike public house conversations" and then spends the next few paragraphs basically tells us what rumours he's allegedly been told.. A lot of the article is "supposedly" and "I am told"
Until the 10 exits that has been predicted by the author come to pass its all just idle pub talk.
I'm sure most players wouldn't be informing pm directly of their intentions.
Most player especially when it comes to retirement are more in the camp of treating journalists like mushrooms. Feed them **** and keep 'em in the dark.
This section of the article really strikes a chord first of all who are the players in question leaving the panel? And secondly who’s the player from the Village? Is it Brassil?
Surely if all this plays out Cody’s position becomes untenable, to replace that many players of the required quality is surely too much of an ask for us at this point
The biggest thing seems to be the toxic atmosphere in around the squad which seems to be there a while now going back to the Waterford game last year which seems to be something to do with why Colin Fennelly walked away.
Will the present manager allow a coach capable of improving the players we have come in no he is there a quarter of a century to long people do not last in the one job. Michael Fennelly was on a podcast a couple of weeks ago with Shane Stapelton it was very interesting what he said about the kilkenny situation he said Cody is still wining silverware nobody has really put there hands up to take over from the present man.
More importantly, who is the current player, in his prime, who is considering retirement.
And what is realistic expectation for your new management team. Who you believe can't win a All Ireland. After all its a results driven business.
Bring in a coach capable of improving the players we have and who can put a game plan in place which suits them.
And the solution?
When we don't win the All Ireland we should be judged on the level of our performances not on league or Leinster titles and our performances have been shite for 5 years with the exception of an occasional bolter like Limerick in 2019. 2020 and 2021 has been consistently poor regardless of the Leinster titles won.
You talk about us not judging ourselves fairly. Personally, I don't think we have the talent to win the All Ireland so I don't judge on that. I want to see progression and we haven't seen anything approaching that now in 5 years. The same errors being repeated in the same situations over and over.
Brassil is the one referenced in the article
Was it the village centre back?
If Kilkenny won the next 3 leinster titles it doesn't really mater as we are a farce and its leinster.As you have pretty much drawn a line though the last 2.
Davy fitz one won one in five years and the wexford term was seen as successful enough. Even if he had a group who won 3 leinster u21 in a row.
I'm not for a minute saying everything is rosey but I don't think we are measuring ourselves fairly.
Who was the best player on view Sunday who left the county panel because of the atmosphere??
Not sure what point you're trying to make but at this point in time, yea, Leinster is pretty much irrelevant. Plus let's be honest we robbed Galway in 2020 and were shockingly poor in this years final against a Covid riddled Dublin side
success for Henry in Galway will be 2 leinsters in 3 years.🤔
But to us it's a meaningless competition 🤯
Our club sent in 4 players, all sent home only one. The 2 most obvious ones omitted by the club mentors.