Interesting for some people, not just the house but also the former owners. A disgraced solicitor and his wife (who is the former joint-Treasurer of Fianna Fail). House has a fair whack of Celtic Tiger Chic about it.
Grand piano? Check
Chaise Lounges? Check
'Library'? Check
Snooker table? Check (not full size, so maybe a minus point there)
Bar? Check
Cinema room? Check
Silver plated mirror on open display in the bedroom? Check
Walk in wardrobes? Check
Herself was known locally as 'Mary Two-Names". I could write a lot about them but I won't.
A wee bit on the golden couple:
Himself... https://www.google.com/search?q=Suspended+solicitor+Declan+O%E2%80%99Callaghan&rlz=1C1CHZL_enIE811IE811&oq=Suspended+solicitor+Declan+O%E2%80%99Callaghan&aqs=chrome..69i57&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
And herself... https://www.google.com/search?q=mary+devine+o%27callaghan&source=lmns&bih=657&biw=1366&rlz=1C1CHZL_enIE811IE811&hl=en&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjZ4uaxqsjzAhXKQcAKHQiqDBQQ_AUoAHoECAEQAA
Serious house though and good price
It is a good price cheap snooker table though. Can tell by the skinny legs.
what is with the raised area?
I was trying to figure out was that a wall of glass or what???
Most bizarre!
it looks like there are glass walls to the left and the right.
400k! Wow
White muntined Upvc windows.
They always look like a "mates rates" job when they're slapped onto a period home.
Worst "cinema room" ever. You'd need binoculars to see that screen. No surround sound either.
Don't see a centre speaker but I see an amp under the smallest TV available, and 4 speakers in the ceiling, so a surround sound attempt was made.
Its a bungalow that thinks its a country mansion! Look at the entrance and block work
Some people might have a problem living in the former home of one of Cromwell’s cavalry commanders, but a beautiful pad nonetheless
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-castletown-manor-cottlestown-sligo-co-sligo/3575951
Nice house with strange wallpaper tastes. House is very bare though.
I suspect that the wide angle makes it look more bare than it is. You’re right about the wallpaper though
Also a lot of wine storage space!!
Don't want to take the thread off topic, but what he did was absolutely shocking. I remember some of it, I saw a mention of one case involving a guy in a wheelchair, following an accident. So on top of trying to cope with that, the additional stress of being done out of money by someone in whom you placed your trust, as a professional. That's scumbag behaviour 😡 of the lowest kind.
That's the ugliest wine rack I've ever seen.
I've been in that house a few times. I think 400k is well over priced given that's its Ballaghaderreen and especially the side of the town its on too. Location, location, location.
The boom is back baby!
Eco house. Sorry don't have the direct link.
There's the link
Disappointingly few photos but it looks like a very calming, bright, relaxing place to live. I like it!
The price of it though.
I'd have 7 nation army playing on a loop in that house.
I haven't seen a single 'Eco-House' in Ireland which doesn't cost a fortune or which didn't leave a huge carbon footprint when being built.
Well I've seen a couple but the Indo, IT and the likes would never sully their pages with them.
What's going on in pic 3?
Also pics 7, 8 and 9 are hilarious, pictures of a phone with the daft app open.
And the photos of the app say it was 525 a month, and they're charging 560.
What does it matter which side of the town it's on? It's all the same really, isn't it?
Wouldn't want to be that close to any country town.
Why? There's a effluent plant and a factory quite close which often leaves a horrible smell depending on the direction of the wind. Also there's a few very run down or unfinished estates beside it.
It would be a personal decision on living in a country town so I can't really comment on that. Each to their own.
Not sure if I've ever posted this before in here and I still cannot figure out the search function to check but if anyone has a spare million hanging out in their bank account I'd suggest having a look at this. Designed by the same guy (Lanyon) that designed Queens University in Belfast, it's absolutely stunning.
It's in a bit of a state though so it would need extensive renovations. It's a listed building too so it'll be tough getting stuff approved but there's already a planning application granted for it's renovation and split into a house with lower ground floor apartment.
For sale over a year now, and price dropped to 2.37 million euros to 1.87 million euros. Probably fairly lonely to live there, and if the same people were around all the time, it could possibly make things worse. Would probably need a lake or a giant pool to attract some tourists...
https://www.idealista.com/en/inmueble/38931074/