whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
Slurry deadline day, there was some fleet of tractors spreading this last week. With ground conditions near perfect it was a good help to everyone. The 1 problem some people had was too much grass cover on the fields.
Yesterday was the day. Tough going on contractors between maize slurry and a share of lads at grass as well. Twill be some bollix for em when deadline goes back to September with the amount of other work on then
Ye, seen lads around here we're working around the clock at it putting out slurry for the pig men. This arbitrary date thing is stupid.. ,3 years ago you couldn't travel with anything heavier than a pair of wellies on land around here yet lads were ploughing out to empty out tanks. I would guess this farming by the calendar is doing more hard than good.
Got last of mine out Tuesday, hate leaving it close to deadline but it's true there was nowhere to spread until this week with such good covers. Small bit of FYM to get out at weekend and I'll be done till cows come in hopefully in December some time at this rate.
Grand morning for trimming behind the fences. 🌞
Chugga chugga chugga chugga chugga 😀
Is there much cost getting an electricity connection to a shed? Shed is about 120 yards from the road, haven't checked if the neighbours have poles closer but let's say for the moment they don't.
My neighbour is following the cows with fertilizer today. Must be going for an early 1st cut. 🤔
Was it dusty? Could have been MOP which is allowable, still questionable this time of year but allowable. Would be risky to spread before cows due to increase in tetany risk
Best to request a quote, they tend to take their time these days...
Where did he get it :-)
Depends very much on what you want to cut.
It makes a nice job of the lorrel around the house and I have lots so worth it for that alone.
It's handy for cutting the briers growing through the electric fence and keeping trimmed hedges with a seasons growth. It won't tame a wild hedge by itself though.
https://www.clontrac.ie/hedgecutters, it was almost €1000 cheaper last year
Would it be lacking a small bit of reach maybe? Be grand if you could drive both sides of hedge
Bps showing in amounts due
Call into Danso machinery, Clohamon and they'll have something similar. It won't be the same brand nor price but the idea will be the same. Usually have machines in stock in the yard.
No sign here. Be OK anyhow, it'd only be spent if it arrived
Had someone else message me there that they didn't get it either...
Very sad news today to hear about a man killed in a road accident in Limerick on his way home from the mart with a load of cattle.
I just heard this eve it’s a man I know very well. A highly respected engineer that worked with some of the better known Irish manufacturers before setting up his own company. I know there are a number of Boards users here who have purchased some of his machines over the years. RIP.
Yeah I knew him since he started out on his own in 2016. Bought one of his first machines. Strange feelings looking at the front ripper in the yard this morning. She's definitely one of a kind now. He only ever build one like mine to date. Pure gentleman.
Papers say it was a 4 by 4 and cattle trailer, He had a Land Rover with a 5 or 6 litre Cummins engine in it, also had one of those big american lorries as well.
HE was very particular and very clever, he left a 13 spanner on my trailer when i was collecting a machine, he rang me about it after saying it was from his fathers toolbox and would colect later but I just posted it to him. He sent me a €40 'one for all' voucher for christmas after . His father died in may this year
as you say a real gentleman
Would nearly pass as a bad pumpkin for Halloween 😁
Farmer who claims 'mad cow' in Clare mart 'flattened' him loses €60k damages case (irishexaminer.com)
Would they have CCTV in SMB mart? The judge said he was 75% negligent, then he could have awarded him 15K. He is lucky not to be facing costs.
No cameras there.
How could marts assess all animals as whether they are dangerous or not? Not a hope in practice.
No, he said the onus on the seller/owner. That said I saw one of our cull cows going head down in ring at the drover behind the gate, she didn't have a history of aggression.
I’d be thinking a man of his age shouldn’t be trying to get cattle out of a pen by himself. He should be waiting for the staff to do it for him and not putting himself at risk like that.
If claims like that are to start getting paid out on it will affect us all as it’ll get to the stage where insurance will only cover staff and everyone else will be forbidden from entering livestock areas.
My thoughts exactly, you can get caught out with stock no matter what your age but being elderly leaves you more vulnerable. Coupled with the common complaint of having no patience and everything having to be done straight away and you're pushing your luck from the outset.
As for the days of no one only staff being let into the yard its fast approaching imo. There's a good share of marts implementing it already locally and the rest will have no choice but to follow in a few years due to insurance demands. Cases like the above will only fast track it although thankfully the judge seems to have taken the common sense approach in that particular case.
Maybe I read the article wrong and I’m not reading it again but did it not say his cow and calf were in a pen with 5 or 6 other animals? I don’t think it was just one animal deliberately put in with his. If that’s the case that there were a number of other animals then he shouldn’t have been going anywhere near the pen. Give his lot number to one of the staff and let them get the animals for him would have been the sensible approach.
I don’t disagree about far less deserving cases being paid out but there’s no point having the attitude that just because someone else got money they didn’t deserve then I should get money I don’t deserve.
I’m sorry, and maybe I’m alone, but I don’t see this man having a leg to stand on with his case and I’d say the same for anyone (myself included) that gets hurt getting cattle from a pen in a mart. We should be waiting for the staff to do it but none of us want to wait so we get them ourselves. It’s all grand until something like this happens.