Don't want to take the thread off topic, but what he did was absolutely shocking. I remember some of it, I saw a mention of one case involving a guy in a wheelchair, following an accident. So on top of trying to cope with that, the additional stress of being done out of money by someone in whom you placed your trust, as a professional. That's scumbag behaviour 😡 of the lowest kind.
I suspect that the wide angle makes it look more bare than it is. You’re right about the wallpaper though
Also a lot of wine storage space!!
Nice house with strange wallpaper tastes. House is very bare though.
Some people might have a problem living in the former home of one of Cromwell’s cavalry commanders, but a beautiful pad nonetheless
https://www.daft.ie/for-sale/detached-house-castletown-manor-cottlestown-sligo-co-sligo/3575951
Its a bungalow that thinks its a country mansion! Look at the entrance and block work
Don't see a centre speaker but I see an amp under the smallest TV available, and 4 speakers in the ceiling, so a surround sound attempt was made.
Worst "cinema room" ever. You'd need binoculars to see that screen. No surround sound either.
White muntined Upvc windows.
They always look like a "mates rates" job when they're slapped onto a period home.
400k! Wow
it looks like there are glass walls to the left and the right.
I was trying to figure out was that a wall of glass or what???
Most bizarre!
what is with the raised area?
It is a good price cheap snooker table though. Can tell by the skinny legs.
Serious house though and good price
Interesting for some people, not just the house but also the former owners. A disgraced solicitor and his wife (who is the former joint-Treasurer of Fianna Fail). House has a fair whack of Celtic Tiger Chic about it.
Grand piano? Check
Chaise Lounges? Check
'Library'? Check
Snooker table? Check (not full size, so maybe a minus point there)
Bar? Check
Cinema room? Check
Silver plated mirror on open display in the bedroom? Check
Walk in wardrobes? Check
Herself was known locally as 'Mary Two-Names". I could write a lot about them but I won't.
A wee bit on the golden couple:
Himself... https://www.google.com/search?q=Suspended+solicitor+Declan+O%E2%80%99Callaghan&rlz=1C1CHZL_enIE811IE811&oq=Suspended+solicitor+Declan+O%E2%80%99Callaghan&aqs=chrome..69i57&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
And herself... https://www.google.com/search?q=mary+devine+o%27callaghan&source=lmns&bih=657&biw=1366&rlz=1C1CHZL_enIE811IE811&hl=en&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjZ4uaxqsjzAhXKQcAKHQiqDBQQ_AUoAHoECAEQAA
I'm sure the legal pack provided to prospective bidders would make this fact clear, so it would be a case of Caveat Emptor and hence the price.
As an aside, I see the property 'benefits from vacant possession.' I think the previous occupants had an aversion to glass, both inside and out!
Do they not run the risk of being sued the same way that the current owners sued the builders and architects? Surely new owners would be buying/inheriting the same problems that the current ones have been compensated for? (Assuming that they won the courtcase, i didn't see the results anywhere).
This house, or another one in the same estate, was for sale about a year ago for 30k. They appear to have gone around the local auctioneers with no luck, and have now engaged an auction house to just get rid.
Ponder your wardrobe choice for the day as you sit on the bog. Classy!
Imagine all that money, and yet this is your solution for a gym room!
Yep same estate
At least they'll bring most of their interior taste with them and hopefully some of the garden objects as well.
Plenty of money but no taste.
Did this estate not feature on the TV show abandoned engineering? (may be one very similar, foundations were sinking iirc)
Look under the ramp outside the the door, massive gap. I am certain this is the estate. Surely to god they wouldn't try sell it, not even in Ireland. Featuring on a TV show showing how faulty and dangerous it was built!
I hate pine and timber in a house, but there is something log cabiny about that I find quite nice. I surprised myself at liking it!
That said it's in louth and I promised myself I'd never live there again 😂
The arch feature over the front door looks slightly phallic
But to go along with the above, the photos are crap. There's obviously a good bit of money behind the house so you'd imagine they'd put some effort into gathering proper photos
Its supposed to be a water feature I think, not seeing that its a well?
It's suppose to be a well.
What is odd is that it is a seven bed house with all kinds of wonderful and amazing rooms, according to the blurb, but they only managed 5 interior shots in total. Meanwhile what is that yoke in the garden that looks like a sewer pipe opening into a sunken space?
Dunnes bag gives the game away
Is it wrong that I find this place horrible? or am I to common for it?
https://www.myhome.ie/residential/brochure/grangebeg-on-c-16-25-acres-dunlavin-wicklow/4513561