whelan2 wrote: » One of our Angus bulls had a pig tail post wrapped in his ring this morning
Looking at the news lately in relation to importing peat for horticultural use and now the looming energy crisis this winter i can now see where a saying i often heard in Oz came from "its a bit f#ckin Irish isnt it".
At least the fuel shortage in the UK is due to an ignorant majority voting for Brexit, whereas here weve a group of ginnets running the show that will crack under slight pressure from a fairly vocal mimority.
And then its suggested well have a bank holiday to coincide with thanksgiving, why not give us a bank holiday in January to celebrate Australia Day too 🙄 have we no sense of pride left in the country at all, surely theres something else to be celebrated here.
Cant but wonder over here.
Yea use to deal with all the multiples in a previous life. Dunnes abs Tesco were absolute disgrace. Everything down to cents. Change their minds. Put suppliers under severe pressure . No loyalty.
I would never darken a Dunnes stores even since.
supervalu we’re ok but following the trend in later years.
Lidl and Aldi were tough negotiations but one the deal was done they honoured the contract 100% and everything paid on time
Yup, same as that. Know a couple of lads used supply them- said they were absolute tramps to deal with. One said lidl and Aldi were 100%, hard negotiators but once the deal was done, they honoured it.
If it's promotion week in Tesco the supplier plays ball, if not truck loads start getting rejected on quality grounds.
It won't affect their profits too much, but I wouldn't darken their door!
I know a good few potato and veg growers that have been severely fooked over by them in the past. They drop agreed prices/change contracts at the drop of a hat and don't care about the consequences.
Out of all the videos I've watched, I actually enjoyed that one!
Why Tesco - they have far more items stocked than Lidl or Aldi
Other than seeing occasional FB announcements from Lidl and Aldi apologising because they didn't receive delivery of a "special buy item" their shelves seemed to be stocked as normal. Our local supermarket (Centra) has all the normal goods that I buy.
Youngest in Inverness told me a couple of weeks ago that he couldn't get chicken in the local Tesco store - having said that I would rather take out the .22 and hunt rabbits than shop in Tesco.
My good wife was saying Flora oil is hard to come by? That's the only thing we have noticed.
I must say though, we are gone to ordering online and getting it delivered now for groceries, so we aren't in the shop to notice empty shelves.
Was in tesco the other night and didn't notice empty shelves.
Was in town today for the sadist, sorry, dentist. Had a few minutes to kill before appointment so wandered into TK Maxx, lots of empty shelves. After appointment I wandered into Boots, more empty shelves. Obvious connection between them is their home country. Seeing as I don't get to "civilisation" much I'm assuming this is more Brexit than Covid related? Heard about M&S as well. Are Irish owned stores suffering same, hadn't noticed in local town but them's German owned stores!
I started to meet a few lads I work with for a mid-week lunch at a local farmers market at the start of the summer, this was when restaurants weren't really open. So the farmers market was grand, on a fine day at least. Was great to get out, and meet a few people, and have something different to eat...
Then the pubs opened, and we met for lunch and had a few pints afterwards. We have done it a few times now, and its fecking lovely, would recommend it to everyone - dinner, few pints, home early again and not shook the next day. 😊
Few of us that work together and haven't seen each other in over 18 months decided to go for a few pints mid October. Looking up hotels here in Athlone. One place charging €180 for a Thursday night, not including breakfast. If that's not gouging I don't know what is. Nearly double other hotels in the town.
check out toni lindgren on youtube
That’s it, I was one female shy.
this lady is very small barely . I wouldn’t bull her in 6 months with my bull and he easy calving. Shes not genotyped so didn’t qualify for the scheme.
I had rang the dept to see what would the fine be for not hitting it this year but they couldn’t answer me so I just bought. I wanted to buy something anyway.
Plenty free lessons on youtube. Start with this fellow:
This Should Be Everyone's First Guitar Lesson
YouTube · The-Art-of-Guitar
Does anyone here play guitar? I've an itch for a few years now to learn but not sure where to start, lot of courses online but very mixed reviews.
Some farmers do this to meet the quota and sell them in November.
I suppose it depends on the amount of money at stake.
Presume he hadn't his 60 percent of 4 or 5 star suitable females.
Is it worth paying out to buy in stock to satisfy the scheme?
Of your total number of cows, only half of that number of female stock are required for DNA sampling every year, not necessarily cows only. You are allowed have less cows, just ensure you have enough females for DNA
16 months and already in working order with a successful calveing, that was a good enough deal, and your genomics stars covered, I wouldn't be getting rash over it.
Was short a cow for the star scheme and couldn’t get one so a neighbour put me onto his supplier. €1200 for a springing heifer. I didn’t get to see her but neighbour said she was grand so I trusted him.
ages coming so in meantime I bought a pbr Hereford heifer too as a back up.
anyway he dropped off the heifer and her calf today while I was up the land. I said I’d be down in a few minutes. He had her unloaded.
I couldn’t find the cow- I mistook her for my 6month old black limo. She’s aged 16months with a calf at foot. I told him take her away. I hadn’t accepted her online yet.
rang the neighbour and all he said is “what do you want me to do about it”
i told him I’ll remember that when his cattle are on the road or in my lawn.
Besides artisans, were Glenisk the only one taking goats milk?
Everyone is thankful of the West Cork coops now. Milk will probably head down there now.
Is incalf beef heifers the new system/thing? Facebook & dungdeal full of them. I know a couple locally who moved to that system too.
Safe out I'd say. I don't ever recall it being an issue at an inspection.
Jeez that’s terrible for everyone involved.
Still flying low today. Some on the wire last Friday along with starlings. I took some photos to try to find out were they swallows or house Martin's. I will upload them later onto the "Nature on the Farm" thread.
I remember seeing the first swallow last April, on the wire preening itself, a starling flew down from an ash tree to join it. It got short shrift from the swallow who attacked it and saw it off. It would have made an interesting photo.
Sad to see the Glenisk plant on fire. Nobody seriously hurt TG. Must have about 40+ suppliers.
Anybody still have swallows around? Still a nice few here, thought it'd be gone late for them this time of year.