No need to be smug about things, as I've already said it's an irrelevance as people generally prepare for getting locked out.
People might like to consider the candle in the kitchen. No lights on as one might not want to alert others that you are up and about and watching.
If the door wasn't locked then they didn't need to unlock it to get in!
You massive tool 😂.
What happened to the fencing? Who was doing the job?
It was locked. Go back a page or two and see my post from last night.
Im not smug. There are a number of poorly informed contributors here spamming the discussion with half baked theories. No wonder MoonUnit fecked off. Oh....and I live in a rural location and I never leave a spare key out and about for easy access. I have also confronted a stranger at my door at around 4 am. I hope he still has the headache.
It's possible, however the motive for murder is low:
Interesting. Sophie saw somebody(s) interfering with her gate perhaps moving blocks etc. quickly put on her boots and grabbed the axe at the door and headed down for a confrontation. Person there doesn't back off and swings at her with the block in their hands knocking her down etc...
Yes that would be it. Just equiring as to whether that was a new structure or old structure and how long the blocks had been there. What's known about it?
So if you get locked out you have to call a locksmith or break a window?
I have a key....my other half has a key. Sophie had a key....her housekeeper had a key. It is an important aspect of the assault which you seem to want to disregard. Why was she locked out?
By the look of it, it was there a few years. I'd like to know a bit more too. If you see my post earlier today I am curious to know if it might have had something to do with the boiler problem in the house.
I'm sorry lads can anyone confirm before we go around the block again,
was the door locked when alfie went up to warn sophie of the body on the road?.
Was it a door latch that can lock when pulled out.. were her keys in the home for the back door?
Did the Hellen family have to let the gardai in.... Were they the only ones with access to the home.
Sophie called up to the hellen home the previous day, but no one was home, what did she want? was there an issue..
The French Documentary has a lot of Sophie's blood on the stones outside the back door,
they were convinced the altercation began by the back door;
You don't know whether it is or not an aspect of the assault or whether Sophie would have been unconcerned about the door locking behind her. It is important to you because it has to fit with your highly unlikely theory of someone getting out of bed at 3am, putting on boots, answering a door before getting assaulted but managing to break away and running down a field in the dark.
I hadn't heard about her calling to the Hellen's. It's not in any timeline we've seen on this site.
I think you need to work on your mathematics.
Your scenarios add up to 115%.
Also, you've assigned a likelihood of 35% to the scenario you believe to be the most logical, yet you project a guard being responsible to be 40%.
A bit confusing to say the least.
Often the spare key is kept under a block outside.
Quite appropriate really since nothing actually adds up in this case.
As Clarkson would say;
"Here's what I think"
Whoever came calling on that Monday morning was the reason Sophie was in Ireland at that time.
She was expecting some sort of confrontation and asked family members and friends to accompany her.
Her feelings of foreboding and dread on the Sunday at the Ungerer's were related to this.
It may have been the damage to the pump house, caused by someone taking a cavity block to keep the gate open;
the gate which she always wanted closed.
Or it may have been to do with the fence which was being erected by her gable wall, shutting off her usual parking spot.
Or it may have been to do with both .
Who would have told her about these issues?
Who would she be in contact with in the locality?
Is it possible any fingerprints or DNA found at the crime scene were expected to be there, ie; someone coming and going regularly?
Sophie may have made a few enemies in the area, she was known to be a complainer.
I believe Dwyer got one thing right, the answer lies in the locality.
It was a phone call. It's in this timeline.
19:10 She calls and talks to Josephine Helen.
19:30 She calls and talks to Pat Hegarty handyman
21:00 She calls Josephine again but she isn't home.
22:00 Josephine calls her back.
I don't think the murder was a result of a property related squabble in the neighbourhood. It's by far too brutal for that. The murderer must have had extreme hate for her, or wanted her dead, or wanted to send a message to others, - it wasn't even an accident after a heated argument.
Property issues rarely get resolved like that, that's usually a legal matter and Sophie would have had enough money to hire a solicitor. And any kind of disagreement with the neighbours would have ended with her departure, if it's just regarding open or closed gates, or who parks the car where and how long. Maybe it was also about water pressure, the pump not doing the job as it should, or electricity and or phone connectivity.
If there was a property related issue, Sophie would most likely have contacted the solicitor she used when she bought the house. Most likely as she dealt with this solicitor before, and wouldn't have to look for a new one or could even have initiated contact from France prior to her departure. The police could have followed up on this line of enquiry, contacting her Irish solicitor, and eliminated this motive.
This is what's suggested, I know about the phonecall;
"Sophie called up to the hellen home the previous day, but no one was home, what did she want? was there an issue.."
I think this is just a misconception by @crackcrack30 , maybe they can confirm?
Now we are getting places....spot on IMHO
We dont know if there was a heated argument or not do we? Alfie claims he didnt hear the assault so why must he have heard an argument?
Maybe we are in rare territory...
The evidence has finished in the trial of a 63-year-old north Kerry dairy farmer accused of the murder of a neighbouring tillage farmer. The trial, which is in its second week, has heard of ”catastrophic injuries” to the heart and liver inflicted by the prongs of a teleporter on tillage farmer John Anthony O'Mahony (aged 73).
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-30876450.html
Arguments between neighbours regularly turn violent. If you're a man and you've just assaulted/knocked out a petite, rich woman you know you've got a serious problem even if she attacked you first. Then a person can lose all sense of perspective.
Boundary and property disputes that end up in death/killing are rare but so is murder/manslaughter. It does happen after tempers flare and escalate. I know of a case where a man was shot dead fencing his land.
But these disagreements seem absurdly trivial as the casus belli for such a brutal murder. I suppose they might just be a plausible catalyst if Sophie died as a result of being pushed over in the heat of an argument or something like that but obviously that's not what happened here.
Contact a solicitor for a minor property issue. No way most Irish are too proud for that let alone the French. If there was one she was firey she would have addressed it herself. I agree she went to meet someone. Did she want to surprise and confront the person who was bathing in her home?