RTE's new 8 episode gangland drama with an all star cast.
AMC start date is September 9th I can't see a start date for RTE just a coming soon.
I'm guessing Eamon has some dirt on Frank's sexuality which he is using for leverage
Do You mean his pretend father 😆
I wondered if the man bun one-note acting mumbler had set up his brother, for shagging the missus. He had the tantrum about him pre funeral, and did go on about the exit door. It would also be a neat way of not letting sad-face beardy ever be allowed to see his daughter. Which could be revenge for sad-face being present at the son’s death, and not somehow saving him.
Looked like that Junkies iron burns are starting to heel up. Btw that actor looks familiar
I was an altarboy in that church ( in real life its Greenhills D 12) years ago ,and the express funeral service was popular , they ran a tight ship , corpse in the hearse in 15 minutes or your donation back!
I hope Jimmy (bad actor), Amanda (bad actor) and Gillen (talking from side of mouth) get killed off soon.
Mikeys daughter will probably be killed eventually.
Eric is alright. His line about telling the guards to **** off could be seen coming a mile away.
8 episodes ffs
its definitely no love hate.
at this point frank needs to grow a pair and top eamonn
I normally will try and watch these type of irish dramas for at least a season, but I'm not sure if I can continue after that episode. 20 **** minutes of a funeral scene. It was like pulling teeth. The shooting scene was well done but everything else is woeful. Dreadful acting, cringe dialogue and just a very poor pacing and script.
They had a huge budget and a very experienced cast. Is that really the best they can come up with?
Moore set alight few of their stash houses I think. Don’t think he had shot or killed anyone. Then the Viking wanted to get approval to get him, couldn’t get it, so he squared up to him and hit hit with a few soaps from Moore and his gang. Then enraged the Viking goes home and gets a gun, and fires stupidly while driving at a large group of Moore gang. It was said someone got shot but not how serious. I wold blame the Viking for all this as he took things up an unnecessary high level without considering the impacts.
Yer man Fudge looks like a fat Jonny Sexton
@J.P.1994 no but interested, and hadn't thought about other funding for that series. and I still don't understand how section 471 works, still 1 to 1.5m makes is a relatively cheap series. Thanks @Murph_D for the info.
Moore didn't actually do the two fatal shootings in the first episode - it was the young curly-haired guy (from Sing Street). He cycled for the opening shooting. Jimmy showed a photograph of him to Michael just before the latter went in and shot Moore and then Michael sees that lad on the street afterward and they run away.
I dont think they were stolen. Probably money laundering.
Something like this.
Someone on Twitter said all the slow pacing shots are basically there to pad out and fill out a very meagre plot line
Im enjoying it so far. I came to the love hate party late as I remember people **** on the first season so I didnt bother with it until season 4. watched season 1 to 4 on dvd and noticed the first season wasnt great but it picked up.
I also think people are so used to netflix binging now they are quick to call anything that drops weekly now as slow.
Brilliant double entendre, whether intentional or not! 🤣
The black female detective with oul Chuck from Glenroe, doubt we've any black detectives?
meant something else in my day !😂
Thought the informant lad inside the pub would have at least checked the back door escape route, there was plenty of time to do so, kinda par for the course.
It's fiction, not a documentary.
Watched this last night and I missed the significance of this so thanks for pointing it out. Might have to watch those bits back again before the next episode.
Am enjoying the show, we binge watched 1 & 2 during the week and were really looking forward to the third episode. It is watchable tv and having to wait for the next episode is not a bad thing either, otherwise we'd all have it binged in a day and forgotten about by next week 🤣
I'm watching trying to pick out various spots but missing most of them, the interiors especially. Where was that bar in ep 1 where Frank and Eamon met, with large booths and in a high rise? One of the hotels in Grand Canal maybe??
AMC clearly have targets...
That's only from the top of my head. The full cast list is about 40% black
https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13444408/fullcredits/?ref_=tt_cl_sm.
@miamee The Mayson Hotel in North Wall
It just shows what it takes to fund a good series.
From what I heard about darklands they were severely underfunded to the point where though couldnt even do nightshots and had to fill in a lot of scenes with drone shots etc.
Even with its flaws and limited budget I was enjoying darklands far more than I am kin 3 episodes in.
The actor playing the male detective Paul Breslin, and previously Chuck in Glenroe, is David Herlihy. He had parts in other RTE dramas - The Clinic and Single-handed. I remember seeing him playing a barman called Eoghan (his name was on his tee-shirt) in the film Leap Year, and the American lead character (played by Amy Adams) called him Eo-gan! David was also in the film Veronica Guerin, playing "Fatso" Mitchell. He is another actor with considerable stage experience as well.
A lot of tokenism in it alright. Token Irish\Gaeilscoil first name. 'Caolan' Moore. Of all Irish, Gaelic Christian names 'Quaaalan'. A wonder he wasn't dealing in 'Quaaludes'.
The 3rd episode picked up a bit but it's still a very bland production. Music is abysmal. Most episodes of Love/hate ended on a cracking tune, like 'All Around the Town' by The Rattling Kind. The American connection with this has meant it's neither one thing or another and lost in the mid Atlantic.
As I think has been pointed out already one of the Kinahan goons sent down recently is called Caolan. Probably not a coincidence, he was or is relatively well known around Dublin.
Not in 2021. And it's also doubtful that Frank is latent.
Incessant comparisons to Love/Hate and we're only still scene-setting 150 mins in. What happened in the first three episodes of L/H? Robbie killed outside a newsagent, Jimmy killed in front of his family and not much else.
Who knows how Kin will develop but it's almost certainly going to have a better first season than the mediocrity that was the start of L/H.
I’m out- not absolutely terrible but not compelling either. A lot of prestige drama frowning going on