RTE's new 8 episode gangland drama with an all star cast.
AMC start date is September 9th I can't see a start date for RTE just a coming soon.
For anyone who has seen ep3 I am genuinely interested what you think of the show at this stage, I am starting to rethink my initial lack of enthusiasm and am getting sucked in.
Scripting is still a bit dodgy but the plot is moving along at pace now, it was a big improvement on ep2. No spoilers.
3: Bit strange. I think I got lost there at the end.
Not sure who that dead guy is. At first I thought it might be the guy who got the Iron to the face but I don't think so. I don't remember whoever he was all that much so far.
The episode felt mainly cold, kinda stone cold
Like early into it, I could see the grief on their faces and at the funeral and after.. but it all just felt cold and revolving around the hit.
The bolted door and seizure during the hit did up the intensity but it didn't last long
Aidan Gillen and Ciarán Hinds
had a strong scene there with their short phone call. Gillen reminded me a bit of his early Game of Thrones style there.
Episode was a massive improvement
3 the guy who delivers cars ....he laid a car on for the hit (sorry aint a clue how to do spoilers)
is yer man daughter a dead ringer for the ladyboy in the Crying Game or am i seeing things 🤣
@Slydice
that was Noel, the guy who gave Amanda the car for the hit
Also here, it'll come in handy :)
Chances of some idiots using it are slim though.
See ye Monday.
Which hospital front was shown in Episode 2 (if it was actually a hospital) the one Viking was brought to after the shooting?
So we know that Amanda had relations with Micky while Jimmy was in jail and he is Jamie's real dad
This episode we saw a bit about Eammon's personal life but not sure was it his wife or daughter ?
Im guessing that it was maybe that junkie guy who was beat up in Episode 1 that told squalled to someone that it was Jimmy and Micky that shot that Moore guy. I'm wondering how did they find out about the guy who sold them the car ?
Not really gone on Birdy, does she have her own kids or is she just cuddly auntie ?
I hope we will see more of her but I have my doubts. I don't see her credited in the cast listings anywhere.
Considering the part she plays (As Jenny Lawlor) it's hard to see what further role she could have.
That said, 'Hell has no fury like a woman scorned'
3 Episodes in I notice a change from your regular gangster tv show, not a single person onscreen on the entire show smokes, healthy criminals are welcomed.
In episode 3
I wonder did the comment made by one of the male actors to one of the female actors as he left the church suggest that they both may have a past?
" come out of nowhere "
He's been constantly on screen since the mid eighties
He has managed to more or less completely fly under the radar however, I've never once seen him interviewed down the years
Church of the Holy Spirit in Greenhills
Testing testing 1 2 3 .....come in 1 2 3
That's the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Dun Laoghaire. It is a hospital but not somewhere they'd take someone who had just been shot though!
Looks like all they did was alter the hospital logo, presumably DCH is supposed to be Dublin City Hospital?
Watched the 3rd episode this morning and for those (myself included) who thought it might be losing the tempo shown in the first episode you have nothing to worry about.
Really impressed with the latest one. Others who have seen it today might give their 2cents without spoilers of course.
I suggest you don't give up on it yet. ✌️
Thats what I basically said just above. Agree with you mate. Not going to give up on it yet after this mornings episode (3rd).
Not really a stretch for her acting range from Red Rock though based on the little we saw. She's typecast now.
Birdy "Cuddly"??? WTF?? 🤣🤣🤣
Yep, take Breaking Bad for example, the amount of people who gave up on that after 3 episodes with excuses such as "it's too slow" "it's boring" "there's nothing happening" without realising that was the whole point. Walters life was slow, boring and unremarkable which made what followed so wild and such a totally addictive show. The old saying "don't judge a book by its cover" really applies to TV shows too. Sometimes they start off with an awesome pilot and good first season even and turn out being terrible like 'Lost' for example or a slow burner like BB which ends up being Legendary.
I'd love to hear other users examples of this.. Ehh.. phenomenon??✌️
The Late Late Show interview with him was the first I've ever seen. He came across as very gentle and timid, a little feminine even which was at odds with what I expected. Makes his acting roles seem even more impressive.
I missed that ,never heard him speak off camera
Denise McCormack has turned up in a few TV dramas including Love/Hate, as well as Fair City and Eastenders!
Probably the first time I'd seen him be interviewed also, can't remember any others. He was on last Friday with Clare Dunne to discuss Kin and her new movie Herself. t's obviously still on the RTE Player. They were the first guests I think.
Its on RTE Player(LLS 17th Sep). Hinds and Dunne are the first guests, starts at 6.30
Well worth a look
Think this is really good so far. Bit like if Love/Hate had a big budget from the get-go, back in the day.
It's basically an Americanised take on Love/Hate, but it's working well enough so far and plenty of Irish identity. I've heard that it's slow, has bad acting, etc, but I'm genuinely not feeling that at all - the hallmark of any good show is the complusion to keep watching, and I already can't wait for the next episode.
Big thumbs up from me. I mean compare this to RTE's follow up to Love/Hate about the Direct Provision Centres....
It was made with American audiences in mind, hence constant references to "Police" not "Garda", that's becoming a bit of an irritant for Irish viewers
Love the Sheehan's story. That's a barman with class.
Wasn't really needed, should have left it as Garda, they would have either Google'd the term or found out when they saw the Garda cars that it referred to Police.