Wait a minute, 85% on metacritic from 22 reviews is a stinker these days?
"Lack of review copies and day 1 embargoes demonstrate the devs don't believe in the game regardless of how it turns out. It's bad practice and we as consumers should not support it."
But I do hope you get the brownie points you so desperately seek.
What's with all the hostility, brah?
Lads, seriously.
As for the game, the reviews I've seen seem to think it's just a bit been-there-done-that albeit in a nicely imagined world. I'll give it a go when/if it makes it to PS+.
Just tired of you picking on easy targets in order to score popularity points, and making a mountain out of a molehill in the process. Brah.
Considering the game is being self published by the developer I feel it's down to a lack of organisation rather than publisher apathy.
Eh, what are you on about?
I hope you're right. It looks pretty and I was planning on picking it up next month but think I'm gonna wait a bit longer now.
Ok no more hostility towards each other please.
It's getting a physical release in November. Think I'll wait until then, have a better gauge from folks who've played it by then plus the trade-in option with physical makes it lower risk
Loads of hands on previews for Guardians of the Galaxy went live. Seems to be getting good feedback all round
Hmmm, I find very few games able to pull off the single player party style, so I will be keeping a eye on this. It's not making me excited or anything, and I don't feel like it's being advertised much. Nice to know it is definitely single player though!
So many great superheroes out there why Guardians of the Galaxy? Fun to watch but to plaY?
I just want my Superman game FFS. Rocksteady needs to make it happen.
It still puzzles me why they'd take a super team with different styles, weapons etc, and not make it co-op. Not that I don't want a good single player adventure mind you.
Drax looks like Mr X from RE without his hat & jacket. Rocket is a Splinter cosplay. Looks like they pressed random in the GTA online character creator for Gamora & Quill.
I loved these, but hated Lara and her story. How could she even vindicate being the good guy, murdering hundreds of people trying to make a wage.
As soon as I realized I couldn't relate to her as a character, I put it into my head to make her the bad guy serial killer in a horror movie, then it made it more enjoyable.
She does kill insurgents. They would kill her just as quick so no big deal. I loved them games. What I found when I was playing is that she has the worst luck like really bad, falling and injuring herself and the environment collapsing around her.
____
I'm now imagining C3PO with blonde hair and huge boobs.
Dot Matrix from Spaceballs?
Something along those lines!
Gave the Actraiser remake a go and there's something really weird about the visuals.
The game is entirely pre-rendered, like Donkey Kong Country. And while I'm not a fan of pre-rendered games I kind of love how Actraiser looks. It's a visual style you never see anymore and it's very nostalgic. The animation also has a very Ray Harryhausen look to it. I think it looks great.
On to the bad, it's a **** PC port. You can turn v-sync on but it's actually not on and you'll get screen tearing everywhere. Hopefully it gets fixed quickly.
On to the bad, it's a **** PC port. You can turn v-sync on but it's actually not on and you'll get screen tearing everywhere.
Reminds me of playing Shadow of the Tomb Raider on the Xbox One X. Where I went wrong is playing it at launch as it was screen tearing like crazy and this was a console release. I finished it like that and went back to it just for the craic later and it was buttery smooth.
Just goes to show it's not always best to play games early even console versions.
Is the game itself any good though? Has the gameplay been modernised or tightened up?
Well I consider the original a classic. It's still well worth playing today.
This is definitely a remake and not a remaster. It plays and feels a little bit differently, level layouts have been changed and boss attack patterns have been adjusted. Platforming and attacking have been tightened up a lot and it feels a lot more solid than the original.
DF's John Linneman says to avoid the Switch version btw:
Playing Assassin's Creed Odyyssey and it's beautiful and plays really well on Series X. Stunning at times, in 4k 60 FPS. Love the setting, the "history", the sailing, the humour, the combat, the parkour, the eagle scout, assassion moves, huge battles, Kassandra ... No annoying things like stamina meters. No real dungeons, got sick of those after Skyrim recently. Good clean clear menus, maps, controls. Can save when you need to ...
I've had more fun flying the eagle than flying in MS flight sim 😀
But I am just swamped in samey stuff to do. This is just making me anxious. I knew it's a busy game going in to it, but the map is stuffed with stuff now. Breath of the wild is such a relaxing game by comparison. Burning up hours !!!
It has touches if brilliance. I think they could have done more with the eagle, eg back story, eagle training, eagle specific quests. And have real sleuthing and puzzle missions, not go to the magnification glass on the screen ...and less stuff to do, but better quality and variety. This could be a masterpiece...
Glad I picked Kassandra as Alexious looks like an idiot. Hopefully I can get through the main game soon and get my life back ☺️
It's my first and last AC game. I got the edition + all the dlc for 24 quid. But I will probably never do any of the dlc. Love the setting for Valhalla too, especially including Ireland, but I'm not going through this again. Pity!
Playing Tell Me Why at the moment. Finished Episode 1 this morning and it's a good game so far.
What's Smyths like with getting pre orders delivered on day of release?
PowerWash Simulator is something I would like to give a try.