This is the Sinn Fein thread, and I am talking about current issues regarding Sinn Fein cronyism. Varadkar has nothing to do with this thread.
Kind of my point. I don't see any cronyism. I believe SF followed the correct procedures. Not 100% on how the north operates in such matters. Can you show what your problem is?
I just produced links to show that Sinn Fein blatantly lied about it. Are you not concerned at political parties telling lies?
I answered the question directed to me. What ever you create in your mind is for you to deal with.
Yeah I saw that. It shows nothing of the sort. If you can show where they dodged protocol to put in a party chum or crony, please do. I suspect you are desperately trying to equal the FG lying and cronyism. Am I right?
Well yes, the article presents that evidence, they claimed ALL appointments were the subject of an independent commissioner, I showed with a link that was a lie, so not only did they dodge protocol and put in a party chum, but they then lied about it to a newspaper. As I said before, this is the SF thread.
Sounds damning...
I don't believe you care about that rather insignificant example of pedantry. Credibility is thin on the ground in the FF/FG/Green camp, so I can't believe you hold SF to a far far higher standard tbh.
Ah right, everyone else is wrong about housing, including economists and SF have all the answers.
These Build to Rent apartments have nothing to do with the state. You are diverting the issue.
It is a simple question though, why are SF voting for BTR housing units in Belfast, yet against it 100 miles down the road in Dublin?
The positions are publicly advertised with an interview process.
It said appointments to cross-Border bodies require the approval of the North-South Ministerial Council, which the Taoiseach co-chairs.
Did MM approve?
Zappone's job was not advertised
Hahaha don't come in here with your facts man
Snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.
What a moron!
You really need to do some research before walking into haymakers of your own construction.
It's more most experts, bodies and all the opposition parties are telling FF/FG/Green they are wrong. The housing minister is even caught telling lies.
Build to rent is the basis of government policy. It's everything to do with the tax payer.
Again, you don't know what you are talking about. You keep comparing the north to the south. I've told you before you need read up on the different situation up there. You are trying to compare apples and oranges. While I don't follow that faux satellite government very closely, I do know the difference.
He never claimed he had evidence. He's succeeded in dragging on the topic of lying and leaking FG ministers. He referenced what we've been discussing for months and has been reported in the media.
Of course Varadkar lied saying there was no investigation 😎
I'll donate 50 euro to Fine Gael if Harris seeks legal redress from Carthy.
Eh, Sinn Fein abstained on the motion. At least PBP had the balls to vote against something they didn't agree with.
I thought they increased the number of social and affordable?
Are you giving out because they blocked it and giving out because they abstained, and commending PBP for blocking?
Carthy’s career now in jeopardy…….. serious repercussions will follow, it’s been reported.
Bad mistake it would appear.
Absolutely nothing is going to happen old hand. Nada, zilch. For Harris it'll be a case of 'I think the lady doth protest too much'. The more he keeps the story lit, the longer FG consisting of liars will be in the news. I can't see them allowing Harris drag it past a few days.
Carthy referenced the FG internal leak hunt as publicised in the papers and claimed they were after Harris, as many others have claimed.
FF/FG/Green have zero credibility and some neck to be trying to hold an opposition minister to a higher standard than their own.
I'm not entirely sure how SF managed to block the March 2020 proposal that they objected to sine they appear to have only 4 out of the 40 SDCC council seats.
If they were responsible for blocking the original proposal their main aciievement will have been to delay the development hundreds of social and affordable homes by 18 months.
I would like to hear more about these reports Brendan Bendar, have you a link to them? Let me guess....no?
Heres my take on things.
Harris only has two openings here,
he can categorically deny the allegation made (under Dail privilege, thus no, despite what you might say, "repercussions" nor "career in jeopardy nonsense) and seek to clear his name, which may involve a full on enquiry and investigation, possibly from the Gardai.
Or he can let the accusation stand, and do nothing.
I predict that Harris will complain and moan out loud for a bit, before ultimately heading in the same general direction as Leo with his "would be like suing someone on Twitter" statement, about the empty rhetoric he used re "Village Magazine".
You have permission to come back and haunt me if he chooses the former option over the latter one Brendan Bendar.
By the way, by my reckoning, that's almost all the big names within FG that have been caught up in this Zappone affair.
Varadkar ☑️
Coveney ☑️
Donohoe ☑️
Harris ☑️
Heather not dragged into it thus far, and Helen McEntee (maternity leave) it's quickly becoming the red wedding of the FG party.
(Don't forget to link to those reports you have by the way)
They were opposed, the criteria changed, they abstained. Personally I don't think any build to rents should be supported by the state. 25 year leases with no option to buy. Very bad deal for the tax payer, pushes buyers/renters out of the market.
I don't believe any BTRs were ever proposed for this development.
Not a problem dude.
And don’t bother co ing back and saying ‘Sure everyone knew this , it’s only smoke and mirrors’
Its what was reported and if followed through,and proved wrong, Carthy could be in trouble.
Not going down any rabbit holes, a chara.
All the article says is Harris might raise a complaint against Carthy but everyone knows it won't happen. It reminds me of the time Leo threatened legal action against Village Magazine but never followed through because he knew he would not win and did not want further questions raised in court. Simon does not want further questions raised and is going to keep his head low as he is on paternity leave.
I know that.
Thats what I said in my post….. all backed up and fact.
Of course it may not happen, but if it does and Carthy is found to have breached privilege , he’s in trouble.
Thats what I am saying, Mr S.
That's a big if. We know Harris won't follow through on what he said.
Thanks for the article you linked to Brendan Bendar, it just so happened I already had read that article earlier today (currently on paternity leave, and have the time)
"And don’t bother coming back and saying ‘Sure everyone knew this , it’s only smoke and mirrors’"
Ok, I won't, but I'll come back asking where in the report any of this stuff is mentioned?
Carthy’s career
i can't see anything "reported" about his career in jeopardy, or serious repercussions, where exactly is that reported can I ask?
I wouldn't be holding my breath on Harrison doing anything Brendan, the FG party definitely won't , and I'd advise you not to either.
Which development are you referring to? They always give a reason for any objections.
The village are still waiting to hear from Varadkar 😉
You need to go back and read my earlier posts where I produced links to show that SF were talking through their arse when they responded to the newspaper. They have been given rope on the issue and will hang themselves.
In fairness now you are all over the shop. You are just throwing stuff out there in the hope to deflect.
What does posting a link about the Shared Equity Scheme has to do with SF objecting against BTR developments in Dublin, as that was the original point made. SF and MLMD are against them in Dublin, yet for them in Belfast. She has also said that 1600 BTR units will make the housing crisis worse, not better, which David McWilliams tore asunder when he simply said, if that statement is true, then destroying 1600 units will make the housing crisis better.
So again, why are:
a) SF for BTR developments in Belfast but not Dublin
b) In what world does building 1600 units make the housing crisis worse?
If you can answer those simple questions, it would be great.
All the other stuff about Shared Equity Schemes (which I don't favour by the way), or the taxpayer, or public developments are separate issues.