I think it seems obvious that Gemma O'Doherty got her info from Bailey at this stage, perhaps he passed on the garda file to her. At the time of that article she had worked on a few incidences of Garda or political corruption, most notably the Father Molloy and Mary Boyle stories. As much as she's lost her mind and became an utter scumbag now.
In regards to your second post, could it be that Bailey now has to play the game and be willing to bend the truth a little to keep up with the gardai.
In fairness to her he wrote about his drink problems in his diary before the murder and she was also trying to raise the farce with Sinead O’Connor where she said he got plastered drunk during the interview. I think he counter-claimed she was plying him with drink.
It was also clear from the Jim Sheridan documentary that he had been drinking at several points in the clips.
Comment of the night!!! 😂😁👍
Congrats on outing yourself as an idiot, fair play.
I don't think gemgem did get her info from him, it's actually well known in bantry.
She ballsed up her investigation of it tho by going door to door round the estate he lived and obviously no one was going to talk to her.
It's apparent to the world and its mother that he has a problem with alcohol, it's just immoral and unethical to bring it up in an interview IMO. I don't see what was the point in asking the question other than trying to paint him as an alcoholic. Practically every person has an addiction of some sort, trying to bring his up on TV was in poor taste. Like much of the interview.
Not when he blames his multiple bouts of violence on his partner on drink.
TBF none of those are Bailey telling anybody that he knew her (not knew of her) - they are other people saying they thought he knew her.
My point is that the man is the walking, talking opposite to discretion and I believe it likely that if he knew her (spent time with her) then he would have had a plane flyover Schull proclaiming it.
I have to say, I've engaged in good faith with you throughout this thread, where others may have lost patience - but you really are a disingenuous interlocutor, with a striking inability to hold conflicting positions in your mind and to discuss their respective merits. You diservice the discussion.
The angle of this interview was more about the spectacle of a woman interviewing a self confessed wife beater than anything else. Like all main broadcast channels they just perceive it as their role to pander to the woke Twitter brigade.
If it was the other way around, would a male presenter be allowed speak to a female suspect like this?
A clowns reply to a statement of fact
Not far off though. It was actually Sergeant Pat Mustard (the randy guard) with the breeze block in the front garden.
Just tweak that uniform a small bit and you get the picture...
If Bailey is an innocent man....
Which he is until proven guilty in a court of law.
This comment reminds me of the people who said George Floyd wouldn't have been killed If he just did what he was told.
The interview was a bit of a wasted opportunity. I think a more conversational interview technique which stayed more on topic could have achieved a lot more.
Other than the snippet that Ian thinks the killer may be a since deceased man who lived in Bantry at the time and knew Sophie, there was nothing new to be found in asking questions which have been asked and answered numerous times already.
Man gets accused of murder.
Man defends himself from accusations.
People on the internet: I'm sorry but its your own fault for defending yourself from the accusations, I've no sympathy.
It wasn`t a wasted opportunity. They`re flogging a dead horse for ratings. Anyone who thought something new was going to be revealed is deluded.
He said he knew her to see, then that he didn't know her at all. Others gave statements that he had met her and that Sophie mentioned him by name. What do you want me to do, pretend we don't know this? This tactic is getting old.
It seems Virgin Media wanted a female interviewer to ask the most ridiculous questions and cut across Ian Bailey's answers in an attempt to get him to react aggressively to a woman on TV.
Whoever produced that interview should be out of a job tomorrow.
It seems crazy that people still think the guards acted properly throughout this case when not even a terrible TV producer can help himself from acting unethically towards Bailey.
When the West Cork podcast people asked Ian how they should start their podcast on the murder he said, in essence, 'maybe you should start with me'. He also admitted approaching local people during the investigation to suggest they should make false statements to the gardai to see if they are offered anything, in the podcast he calls this attempt to derail a murder investigation 'a breach of security' ie. the security around his operation to discredit the garda investigation into a brutal murder.
Maybe he came to the realisation he was being too honest and the guards were going to try to stitch him up whatever way they could.
Him knowing of her or seeing her once does not equal him murdering her, but could well arm corrupt gardai with all the more ammo.
Poor interview, don’t think Bailey comes across too badly from it.
Had to laugh at Collette with the Vincent Browne clip like it was her gotcha moment when he practically answered the same thing. If 25 years later, that’s the only thing to try and get him on, there’s not much to go on.
Man says he murdered her
Man gets accused of murder
I think part of it was Collette's concern with IB posting a stream of pictures of young women on Twitter and commenting on their looks. There may be some people who are not familiar with his history of domestic violence.
I think problems with drinking are completely irrelevant topics in this interview. The viewer would have been more interested in new theories, possibly the one or other revelation.
The only clue we seem to have learned was pointing to somebody in Bantry. And that's the Guard, right? So that would point more to the drug-story, rather than the avenging lover/husband?
You mean when he was catfished?
As soon as people taught him the basics of social media he stopped.
Fella was clueless!
We're talking about a man who's potentially been falsely accused of murder for almost 3 decades and has turned to alcohol to escape reality, forced through fear and shock and no choice of his own but to become self-obsessed.
You think he's trying to derail an investigation, others think he knows already people have been offered bribes and payment for statements a la Martin Graham.
You've previously said on this thread several times that Martin Graham wasn't offered hash by police and was likely lying out of greed and looking to enrich himself, well what says you of this?
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/high-court/bailey-case-photographer-says-graham-left-garda-car-with-cannabis-1.2075557?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fcrime-and-law%2Fcourts%2Fhigh-court%2Fbailey-case-photographer-says-graham-left-garda-car-with-cannabis-1.2075557
Another embarrassing aspect of the interview, quizzing a 60 odd year old on their ability to use social media. Amateur hour stuff.
I mean when he published photos of six or seven women on Twitter that seem to have befriended him on social media and chose to comment on their attractiveness. The posts are still there on his Twitter profile. He claimed tonight this was a mistake. Are you saying he was hacked and he didn't post these leering tweets of young women himself?
Martin Cahill a.k.a The General broke into the D. P. P's office in 1987 and stole over 150 files including the one on the Molloy case which was the only one that caught his attention. Apparently, he later gave it to the Gardai. Another file on the case, containing forensic evidence, was destroyed in a fire at the office of the Offaly County Coroner.
I can't access the article, but under cross examination the photographer said he checked Martin Graham before he got into the car but could not say for certain that Martin Graham did not get out of the car at some point between the time they drove off from the meeting point and when they came back.
Do we know anything about the circumstances of the fire?