Yea, the cab in mine is pretty poor, but I fabricated new mud guards more or less just because there was nothing left to hold the lights up off the wheels, but it seriously took the bad look off it too.
There is a dealer in Roscommon selling replacement cabs, Valdi Machinery I think.
This is the cab I think although it's in another dealership.
That’s a tidy looking replica cab. Any idea on the price ??
I did enquire with them a few years ago but I honestly can't remember. I remember thinking it was fairly reasonable, but I couldn't justify the spend on such a low value tractor.
Maybe given the way tractor prices have gone it could be worth looking at if the tractor is otherwise in good shape? Their number is on DoneDeal, there's always a few 100 series cab ads up
Something almost Mad Max like about it with black wheels and cab
Yea, it’s grey oxide but in photo looks black 🤣🤣
replaced the front lower cab section down both sides and across under the front window with 2mm plate. It brought great strength back to the cab and looks armour plated too 😬
it’s definitely a job that belonged in the guntering thread, but it makes her useable amd that’s what I wanted.
Nah, he's only painted it the wrong colours not replaced the cab with the shell of a VW beetle and welded spikes to it.
Looks almost like Case livery in the photos. To be fair it looks respectable enough plated up and painted.
Belongs in the guntering thread alright, not just because it's bodged together but also because it's works.
The paint is just what they had on special offer in the local hardware, I got enough oxide to tidy it up for €50.
I’m not too fussed about brand livery in general just wanted something tidier than bare metal and rust. The oxide should slow further rust.
Our DB 996 needs work, it will be a candidate for the guntering thread too, I’ll be making new cab panels and roof rather than buying them and I have a notion of a back window as they never had one.
Pet peeve - spray paint on the tyre!
Agreed, it's ruined what otherwise looks like a decent finish, but was the only photo of that type cab I could find.
My guntering for today. Changed hot tap in dairy, when the water is very hot the tap gets hot too
That's a brilliant idea and class recycling too. Plus you'll never run out of replacements 👍️
Stuck at a rush job for a bord bia audit for a neighbour yesterday today and again tomorrow 😏. Had a small room for med cabinet water heater and odds and ends but the wall got a belt and had to be taken down. I was supposed to replace it with a bit of mass concrete but never got the chance. He put in a 1200l bulk tank for when he starts calving as the main bulk tank can't agitate the milk and the cell count would go up. Anyway the tank is slightly bigger than the space so I'm extending it out by about 400 mm. Galv box frame. Inside a heated with smooth white pvc sheets and outside sheeted with stokbord. I'll put up a pic of the finished job tomorrow.
Gave the evening finishing my job. A bit rough around the edges but it's closed in now. Must make a hatch for milk lorry to attach hose to tank from outside as it's too tight to get near the connection from inside the dairy. Probably something like a grain chute on a trailer. Job for another day.
Some work.
An oil barrel into a wheelbarrow.
(Well chloroform barrel).
https://youtu.be/u_zgqz1fIww
Funny, I only watched that last night. health and Safety in that part of the world doesn't exist. No safety shoes, weld away with eyes squinted. mad stuff.
In many ways we have forgotten how to make to with what we have.
From my off farm experience in that part of the world - H&S does exist but is ignored and habits are impossible to change. Even simple things like safety footwear in a freezer warehouse wouldn't be worn right; they fold down the back and wear them like slippers. Sandals are standard issue and you won't change it. They use these shovels that are swung like a pick axe; would make you cringe when they are swinging them and bare feet all around.
The first thing to be done with a new tool is to clip off the plug and expose the two wires; then they can just shove the cable in to a three pin or a two pin socket easily.
Goggles/ear protection - not a hope
Loose hanging clothing around machines/moving parts- not a bother.
Scaffold - The bare minimum they need; sure you'll only have to take it down again.
The list was endless.
And the folks around here probably do better than most.
And if your barrel is dented and needs to be straightened out before making into a wheel barrow.....
Queer mad hoors, some of them foreign lads
Wonder would that work on a slurry tank.
Of course it would......
Remember to post the video ;)
All joking aside, I'd imagine even if you straightened out a slurry tank by any means it's structural integrity is fecked and wouldn't take much to suck back in again.
Use it as a carbide cannon. The Dutch have a festival using all sorts of vessels to make the loud bang.
Looking for some advice/inspiration please. I have a 34 foot span that I am looking to close with a 20ft and 14 ft gate. Anyone have any ideas beyond a lump of chain for closing the gates where they meet?
Excellent thanks 👍🏻
Do gates need to be locked with a chain?
Deeper one for metal gates.
think most gate manufacturers here make a similar one, this was just first one to come up on Google.
What's the gates made from and what are they intended to keep in/out?