Enjoy!!
Old thread here......
https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2057962937/mayo-gaa-discussion-part-4#latest
Threadban list
Green Peter - Permanent
Man Vs ManUre until 9/05/23
I see some over on the general thread seem delighted we've had the heartbreak again this evening.
That was…. Well. Certainly not our finest day. Not a good day. Although both teams made mistakes Tyrone beat us pretty thoroughly in the end. And that’s despite giving us plenty of rope to haul ourselves back into the game. We just didn’t manage to do it
Take me off the list there, Yop.
i think a mayo lost the game- could have been closer at least at the end - by going into contact and holding onto the ball until there was three or more Tyrone players around the Mayo player. This was happening frequently throughout the match and mainly between the Mayo full and half forward line. The end result in most cases was the ball being held onto too long, the ball being turned over or the ball was thrown. This played right into Tyrone’s hands in that it could buy time to get its defense fully organized in case it is needed to defend further and take the wind out of the Mayo sails.
I’d say that Tyrone practiced the above to the n’th degree to make sure that it would have a high rate of success.
i cannot understand why Mayo ‘play around more’ with the ball, move faster towards the Tyrone goal and release the ball as soon as two ,max, tacklers are drawn. Mayo’s best chance for getting scores against a team like Tyrone with the way it’s defence was set up was to run quickly at its defence when they break out and not give time to Tyrone to get fully organized.
I didn't see a game plan at all there today. Started brightly but seemed to panic when a few turnovers resulted in Tyrone scores.
Mentally not there when it comes to finals. It's a hard one to take when they missed so many opportunities against such a tight defence
Alright feel free to say it a few dozen more times so...
I could never understand why Mayo let Rochford go to bring Horan back, it was a mistake, Horan doesn’t seem to learn.
DOC shuda taken the pen. Needed a cool experienced head not a young lad.
McHale when played in right position can score . Horan takes a dislike to certain players and alwys gives them less time on pitch than others. O shea did not deserve 70 mins today .
Total disaster
Where's the better attacking option? Carr?
Complete non performance really....shocking amount of missed chances.
Hard to know if Tyrone even played well tbh but they did enough to win so fair play
Don't kno where to start. They bring on mcshane early when ahead . We take off o hora when getting into game . Walsh and o shea are forwards who can't score . Loftus was left in too long when poor. He brings on Flynn who can't score. Orme expected to perform when played only a few mins for mayo before. They planned for every period of today's game and looked like fully drilled . We didn't.
Shocking penalty in an all Ireland. The goal chance they messed up in the first half had a feeling similar to the goal Kerry butchered against Tyrone.
With Kerry and Dublin gone, that was a shambles today.
All our old failings on and off the pitch laid bare
Serious question marks over a few players now and the manager again .
Horan was taken to school by the Tyrone management today. Last quarter was a shambles . It was still there to be won
Same old mayo
As a neutral I don’t know what to say to ye lads. I know a few Mayo people down here in cork and all sound heads and passionate about the Mayo football team but the past few years it’s been cruel to watch them get hyped up every summer and fall at the last hurdle.
Well done Tyrone mayo were shocking.
At a time like this all one can say is
Thought Horan learned something last few games, apparently not.
Years and years of being called bottlers, and it was never warranted... Until today!
Sh*t the bed yet again. We may never have a better chance, with Kerry and Dublin out of the way. Soul destroying.
Beyond useless. No cursé to blame, missed points, penalties and goals
We're renowned for sticking behind our players but fcuk me, they were terrible bar one or two. My own clubman top of the pile of s....
Best chance ever of Sam, Just not good enough on the day lads....
Fu#k this. It’s an unequal playing field anyway. How can you compete against a 16th century witch??
Loftus was hopeless. Brainless performance.
Have Mayo no replacement for Conor Loftus? He's having a mare.
*Rte player lagging behind
Oh dear lord. 4 points again. My heart is in my mouth
Please stop this..its horrendous to.watch....throw on a few hurleys ...from.a neutral