RTE's new 8 episode gangland drama with an all star cast.
AMC start date is September 9th I can't see a start date for RTE just a coming soon.
Very good, big thumbs up from me. Gillen is brilliant.
A very under-rated actor.
1: I think the standout performance of the episode had to be Clare Dunne (playing Amanda, Jamies mother). She just seemed to have the finesse for the type of Dublin Irish role that she was in properly. It's early days for the others but they were alright.
There were small bits early where it was a bit off-throwing like the subtitles for "get him his hole" being "give him his hold". 😬 Really hoping not to see Americans talking about getting their Holds in the future.. Might be hilarious though! 😁 Or other scenes like the young lads wanting to do a Save Game on a multiplayer car game and later the building site where viking meets his team... that was wierd that it existed or that it was looking wierdly lighted up with those kinda long halogen lights hanging off the ceiling. These were all just kinda niggles though.. but they all added up to a distraction for me.
That ending though raised the level of the Overall Story. It was
a bit of a shock that Jamie (played by Cian Fitzsimons) had been killed. At that point I turned around for him thinking he did well given it was his only episode.
Will give the next episode a shot. Show might be going somewhere.
New slang I had to look up: Scorpy. Nikita said it when
she was getting Viking away from the young lads he attacked.
New to me. Is it used much? I found this:
http://johnscabin.com/slang/S.html
Scorpy: A fairly large furry scorpion.
They tend to be very perverted, willing to grab at people even while going through ritual pain.
Scorpies also usually command giant starships and huge confederate empires.
Scorpies also tend to assault people for absolutely no apparant reason, eat explosives, and are immortal.
Be very afraid.
Example: Next thing I knew, the scorpy snatched my lunch box from my hands and ate my lunch. I hate scorpies.
Scorpy, as I heard it as a young fella anyway, meant angry or generally pissed off e.g. the scorpy head on ya.
Very good first episode
Bloody RTE would annoy ye for nothing been in sync with the US airings. Is what it is
The family tree surprised me a bit. Always imagined that Frank was the dad but turns out not (don't kmw how the hell to do spoilers and please admins do it to this post if they know how)
I thought it was a bit slow but I'm sure it will pick up in next few episodes. Biggest problem with RTE (you can fast forward ads) is the D.O.G. in top right hand corner.
I liked the opening scene with the guy on the bike.
Will watch this but I don’t think it will reach the greatness heights of love/hate.
When is the first episode scheduled to show on RTÉ ?
Sunday
I thought the same, Frank is the boss, but Jimmy, Mikey and Birdie are his siblings. Eric is his son.
Definitely something happened with Amanda and Mikey before so interesting to see what develops there.
I thought Amanda had gotten a dig off her husband Jimmy, but that's a birthmark below the actresses eye 🙃
What's D.O.G?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_on-screen_graphic
Interesting
So Birdy is Frank's sister and her husband is not on the scene. Mikey and Jimmy are their brothers. Didn't know Eric was Frank's son, had him down as the lads brother and another nephew
The aunt been is one of the leaders clearly taken from Peaky Blinders
I'm wrong, sorry
Frank - Boss
Birdy - Franks Sister
Jimmy - Franks Nephew
Eric - Franks Son
Mikey - Nephew
Any chance those talking about what happened in the episode can use spoilers this is a non spoiler thread.
Hardly much spoiling going on, just working out the family tree
Is Eric really his son ? I can't recall him calling Frank dad and when he is talking to his misses he says 'don't tell Frank'
Think this explains the tree!
https://twitter.com/AMCPlus/status/1435670529382535171?s=20
Suppose the family tree discussion got the thread going
Barry Boland is doing well for himself
Aidan Gillian = Gerry Hutch & Ciaran Hinds = Christy Kinahan?
Think people are hanging onto this Kinahan angle a bit too much, but ya its the local dublin crime family vs the international cartel.
Very good opener, wasn't the EZ'ist to get, almost VHS swap era like.
Made it about 25 minutes in before switching it off. I reckons at 41 I'm too old for this because snakes and hair length bothered me and Gillen being Gillen did too.
Was hoping this would be good as I really like C Hinds in particular
so...Watched the first 20 mins
dialogue is woeful
fair city level cliched rubbish :/
Wasn't mad about it first but the ending of episode has me wanting to watch more episodes. Overall I thought it was fairly good
It so funny that an "RTÉ" production of "local" drama is at US cousin era newest episode first. I think this should be re-title Screen Ireland & AMC.
Never understand this, bailing on a new show after 25 mins.
If I did that I'd never have watched anything.
Clears things up
Love/Hate thrived on being so relatable,they were faces you met on the streets everyday.
This is too slick and stylish.
Think it's spot on, the younger players, especially the garden party scene, the Mcgregorisms, the extreme wealth from coke. Good start so far