Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
This doesn't seem like a bad idea. Especially if each constituency voted on it themselves.
Threadbanned
Varadkar and Coveney are (in the Zappone appointment) "official sources" Mark, and asking them went well, didn't it lol?
We know why FFG folk don't like Twitter, narrative marko, it's all about being completely unable to control the narrative.
Lots of people don't like Twitter because it is full of misinformation and crackpots posting all types of fake stuff, like that 'journalist'.
The fact is here that unlike other established media and posters here, the journalist preformed admirably, both in correcting the record and apologising. As you have adequately shown he is not the first to get a wrong steer from a source.
I noticed that from Sheehan this morning. He was really buttering Martin up. But Martin is ruined within FF. They don't like weak leaders.
I don't see FF distancing themselves from FG's shenanigans either. The perception is that FF gave FG the playbook and FG burned the New Politics document and became more FF than FF themselves!
Martin will be gone in a little over 15 months' time. FF can then fight it out among themselves over the scraps and MM can walk away into the sunset smiling.
If FF brings down the government when Leo is the boss, then many of them will be gone in the next GE. They are stuck and will have to suck it up till 2025
I would classify much of the noise from the FF backbenchers are pure noise and a distraction. Nobody really cares apart from some FF TD's and some journalists inside Leinster House.
Either way FG win.
Thats very true but at least back in the day FF were masters at pulling a stroke for a crony appointment. FG cant even manage that without cocking it up. Its remarkable that this is all over Zappone who isnt even a member of FG yet now both Coveney and Varadkar are in the cross hairs because of it, you couldnt make it up.
FG decided they could top up their retainer from Redacted with some dirty fifties in brown envelopes from developers for some dodgy planning?
FG are a bit like a political party being run as an experiment by a Transition Year class who have got bored after a few months, TBH.
Mis-step after bungle after mis-step.
14 years in power when they get to 2024..... not bad for some Transition year students. lol
20% of the vote last time out and a con job to stay in power, fooling the electorate with comparisons to allowing John Delaney back in.
I'd say exactly like school children, play now with no regard to the long term damage and falling vote share.
You said 2025 a minute ago! 😉
Long may it continue I say. Great entertainment. The opposition have a lot of new TDs (e.g. SDs got 4 excellent new TDs) who are getting great experience and making a name for themselves. Much better that the FFG government continues and continues to lose votes and trust.
Leo and Co were quite happy to stay out of government last time out, but rose to the plate in a time of national crisis and need. Sorry, but they are the facts.
As I said, 14 years in power is a good streak. After that, let the Utopians take over and fix all the problems, I am sure the Irish people will be just as patient with them. :)
That's a FG interpretation of their own self worth.
I think many voters will feel conned by the power swap again, they won't be able to pretend any more in a campaign. That was the precedent the coalition/merger set.
Indeed.
This 'time of national crisis', would you be referring to the outgoing Kenny/Varadkar government propped up by MM? After continuing to make their crises worse, how do you define 'rose to the plate'?
Is the thing we are supposed to buy into that FG came out third, said they relished going into opposition except Martin gave the best damn football halftime speech and rallied the Fine Gael troops for fair Ireland? He didn't and they didn't their hole. Varadkar got offered a term as Taoiseach. Judging by how Fine Gael operate with the lying and cronyism and leaving the public to their own devices to serve the interests of cuckoo funds and the like I doubt Fine Gael do anything for Ireland.
Time for a GE, out the shite show of FFG
Jaysus they are awful gombeens. I imagine Paschal was heavily involved too and attended the Merriongate party.
January or February next year, people need a Covid clearout and that includes the government
The question is has Martin checked 'Taoiseach' off his bucket list and willing to call a close to this shambolic coalition with lying FG and sleeping partners the Greens, (pun intended)?
Martin can still salvage some pride but he'd want to act soon.
I predict Coveney is gone within 48hrs. Varadkar will hang around like a bad smell unless MM calls it a day.
So hold on! Zappone texted in march to say thanks for the job that hadn't been dreamt up until June. What a stink of cronyism!
That's what Neale Richmond is claiming. I don't know how he can say that with a straight face. Everyone knows He is lying.
The big issue as I see it is that several provisions are likely to blow up the selling price of lower cost homes rather than bring them down, and the stuff that might actually do that are all beyond the likely term of this government. So make things worse short term, make fixing it tomorrow - and probably someone else's - problem.
The Vacant Property Tax might have made a difference but so far the noises made suggest lip service, and I don't think anyone genuinely expects them to be enforced to any meaningful effect.
If I was to sit down and design a plan to keep money flowing to developers and funds now it looks like people are reaching their actual mathematical limits of rent generation and house price inflation, I think it might look a little like this. If the usual actors can no longer shake down individuals as much as they like, they will get paid from taxpayer funds instead.
I have not seen the grand turn in public sentiment FFG seem to have expected, and the lack of actual student accommodation (rather than Uninest etc) is a subject of discussion again.
I expect more housing protests before the year is out.
As the man said, "They think it's all over".
The fact that FG ministers have lower standards than FF ministers won't be soon forgotten.
If there is no revolt within FF then they too, as a party, are more interested in keeping power than doing the right thing, which is calling for scalps. It damages Irish democracy to allow the behaviour of Coveney and Varadkar go so unchecked.
Dunno, Old Coveney like McEntee protected the party from scandal, There'll be some sort of fudge
I keep making the mistake of assuming they've standards.
Hard to disagree.
https://twitter.com/Tupp_Ed/status/1435362322709729281
at what point do FF pull the plug on Micheál and whoever is shoring him up in FF?
If there was an election after his latest reaction this evening they'd be wiped out.
The only people afraid of an election are a few FF backbenchers and perhaps some Utopians on the other side who have a nice trick in giving out about everything but run scared at the thought of power.
If there is an election let it be. MM won't care and FG won't care either.
A party falling to an all time low ebb, a dead man walking leader and a party with three of it's top members disgraced by political cronyism, it's leader under a Garda Criminal Investigation and lie after lie would not be afraid of an election right now?
Yeh ok. 😁