He's on FB. taking a twitter break, thus the trolls are attacking anyone who even suggests he's innocent. It's painful to watch tbh.
Why do people assume that anyone was with Marie Farrell? Or even that she was out in the car at that time?
The woman is a proven spoofer who has lied under oath at least once.
Wouldn't surprise me if she was at home in bed all night . Nothing she said or says can be trusted, whether it helps or hurts the case against Bailey.
Twitter really seems to be reminiscent of the odour of a 1970s pub's outdoor toilet on a misty morning after St. Patrick's day.
It's nasty indeed. He didn't really help himself tbh taking the trolls on. These vermin are professionals.
The guy in this song
Touch a sore point did we..?
The Babe Farrell is instumental in this investigation, weather you like it on not..
You seem to forget she is the only person to admit that she was in the vicinity around the time of the murder - With an undisclosed male companion.
The Babe Farrell is anything but... (not a babe)
Get off our high horse and quit playing the poltia
It IS bloody weird how you keep saying it though.
Do you have the hots for her or something?
I really enjoy your posts flanna01 - dont change a thing. I laugh out loud every time I see 'the babe farrell'. Marie herself makes it sound like every man in West Cork wanted her!
How many times have their body language opinions about who is guilty been found to be wrong by the emergence of other evidence?
It's like a lie detector test. The innocent can fail it cos they are nervous, sociopaths can pass it cos they are not.
Jim Sheridan chats briefly about this in the last 10 minutes of the latest Blindboy podcast. Worth a listen.
In the interests of fairness I should point out that there were quite a few people in West Cork in the 90s with extensive knowledge of wine, and several of the attendees at Shirley's retirement BBQ in Aug 96 fit into that category. IB, like everyone else there, knew his shiraz from his merlot but wasn't in the same league as other guests who literally owned wine worth thousands and were certified as sommeliers by Chateauneuf-du-Pape.
No-one at that party would have been interested in the cost of the wine, they would want to know the vineyard, grape, year etc. And could very well have dismissed it as overpriced airport crap.
Same 😂
Bannasidhe whats your take on the Leo Bolger angle. Grow farm etc.
Leo got busted at one point for having an extremely sophisticated drugs operation so that can't really be argued with. There's news links. Somewhere
What is the Leo Bolger angle?
So it was dumped as it was seen as not good enough or even an insult? Would be interesting to know the vintage etc.
You are reading things I did not say.
I was responding to a comment that in Ireland in the 90s there wasn't a wine culture when there certainly was - not only that, many of the attendees at Shirley's party were internationally recognised wine experts.
Much is being made of the cost of the wine, that it was French, and not available in Ireland at the time therefore it was a 'good' wine so likely brought there by a non-Irish 'visitor' or Sophie herself. I think while the latter is probably correct, believing it was a good wine simply because it was relatively expensive, French and not available in Ireland is by no means a given.
If memory serves at that point French wine was considered mediocre at best and all the focus was on the New World Wines - Oz for the Reds and NZ for the whites being the buzz. Simply put, the cost and where it could be purchased means nothing. The vintage/vineyard means everything - and I find it hard to believe that a truly worthwhile French wine was for sale in an airport, but I have never bought wine in an airport (and never would) so could be wrong there.
But - pure speculation here - the rep of French wine was so bad that if given a choice of wines from around the world I cannot see any wine buff buying French unless they are doing so for 'patriotic' reasons (i.e. they are French). IF I was going to steal a bottle of wine in that area in 1996 I would have waited until Alfie and Shirley were out and gone for the Rockford Shiraz they had a couple of bottles of... ;)
Sophie was about to blow his Escobar-rivaling cartel wide open so he smashed her head in
I'm sure Sophie knew about wines too
Yes. I imagine she did so her buying wine in an airport would be... odd. But possible.
My basic point, however, is that there was a thriving wine culture in Ireland, and that French + expensive + not available in Ireland does not mean it was a good wine.
But to add, as far as most French people in the 1990s were concerned, if it wasn't French, it was a 'curiosity', not real wine :)
And I can't imagine a French airport stocking anything other than French wines.
If someone didn't know too much about wine and wanted to pick up a bottle to impress someone French, it's the kind of bottle they'd pick.
Absolutely. There was a huge amount of Frenchy wine snobbery around, not just in France I may add. But the people IB liked to hang around with in terms of the Cork foodie in crowd ( and I am talking very influential people, not those who fancied themselves as gourmands) were all about the New World Wines. The debates were around SA vs NZ or Chili Vs OZ and Bailey would have been very aware that French wine was considered a bit passé, over rated, and over priced.
Can't see him taking the wine as if it was some object of particular desirability (unless it was an exceptional vintage in which case 80 quid in an Airport? I don't think so) and if he did take it, being an alcoholic, why would he fling it away? Doesn't make sense.
I do think the wine is significant.
What condition was the label in?
What region of France was it made?
How do they know it was bought in a airport?
Which airport?
If it was thrown away was there any damage to the bottle?
Interesting information there, it would be a bit passe for that kind of foodie crowd alright. And I can't see any such bottle gifted to Ian lasting long enough to be regifted!
Someone mentioned earlier in the thread that it was assumed it was bought in airport as it was not available for sale here in Ireland. I don't think I've seen the producer \ region \ vintage mentioned, just that it was an expensive bottle of French wine.
Producer, region etc are all very important information. True wine buffs - esp on the Continent - have favourite vineyards where they will bulk buy. If this is top notch wine it would have been worth checking with the vineyard, they keep extensive records. Not just to keep track of their customer list (some have a waiting list) but in case there is ever a need to establish provenance. If it's shop bought but still an excellent wine it's a bit harder to track but not impossible. Was it bought from a wine merchant? A supermarket?
If it's mass produced and untraceable then it's not excellent wine - it's dear wine. Who would have been in France, then West Cork who would have bought a very dear mass produced wine?
Indeed you weren't. I was saying it, as it might have be seen as 'Airport crap' by Sophie.
Excellent points.
That's right it was not in off licences but was in airports.They said it was worth about 70 pounds, I presume they meant Irish punts.
It wasn't found until some time after the murder. I wonder if it was possible, e.g. from the lot/batch number on the label, to trace back to where it was could have been sold or at least narrow it down somewhat.
Were sales in Irish airports and relevant connecting airports checked to see if any sales around the time could lead to a person of potential interest.
I wonder if it was possible, e.g. from the lot/batch number on the label, to trace back to where it was could have been sold or at least narrow it down somewhat.
I'm sure the garda would have done that or tried
The Garda didn't do many obvious followups so really doubt they did.