Its embarrassing to be straight up. FFS "their" team has just been dumped out of a match they were expected to win and then you see this SHS(T(e.
But thats what is happening all over the place. Breaffy and Westport are raffling tickets off, yet there are their "true" fans sitting without tickets. Its an Irish mentality, screw every penny out us like what you have seen with the price of hotels etc
I don't know what to make of Donegal a few years ago they blooded a raft of players against Dublin in a league game in Ballybofey and got a draw. They looked magic. I remember Thompson had a great game. Thought Donegal would be a real force. But it has not worked out for what ever reason.Maybe Donegal posters can shed light on it?
The raffles etc have been around for years in all sports I presume they raise money so they are not going to stop . This year will be tough on a lot of fans as at least with season tickets or county board schemes a regular fan would get a ticket .There will be good amount will get tickets because of contacts like any year unfortunately for those not in with lads dishing out tickets they will have to watch on TV.
Remind me again, did Mayo win that game? Sure O'Connor has kicked a point here and there to level a game, but I am talking about the clutch moments, you have a chance to win the big one, just get the kickout to the right man, kick the winning point etc.
Cluxton kicked a point to win an All-Ireland, Clarke kicked the ball out over the sideline to lose an All-Ireland.
Rock kicked a point to win an All-Ireland, O'Connor never has.
Those are the moments, those are the plays, they separate those who win from those who don't. As I said already, Mayo have a better chance of winning this All-Ireland without those two than the last few they lost, and so long as they minimise the Aidan O'Shea involvement. Good luck to them.
Let’s be honest, you don’t really mean that last sentence
And we love it
You are the best person to ask this, it has being said here that this is the best team Mayo has had. Personally i think they are way short of the team Mayo had 4/ years ago but that just my opinion.
What your opinion... i like Mayo to win but cannot see this team do it...
14 was probably the best team. 17 probably the best managed.
I don’t think we have the back line we had on either of those teams. But I do think we have a stronger panel, 4/5 positions up for grabs. That’s something which hurt us previously, especially in 17.
If we win Sunday week I think not having COC there will be pointed to as its allowed ROD and Tommy G to take on more responsibility. If we lose it’ll be said how could we win without our main scorer
Mod Note
Just letting everybody know I will be throwing up a thread for the All Ireland final early on matchday.
I know some posters have a preference for sticking with this thread but IMO the highlight of the gaelic football calendar deserves a thread of it's own.
This thread may be locked for the matchday.
If you have any comments good or bad re same feel free to drop me or any of the moderators a PM.
Mayo won’t need to be better than 2017 to win next week anyway so it’s irrelevant.
Seem to remember rock having a clutch moment against Kerry in 2017 league final
Why would you lock-it on match day... sure that be when the slaggin match be.....
I don't see the point in that, it's over moderation. No wonder this place is losing users!
Do ya reckon so. I think the team few years ago were more seasoned, but not necessarily better. Had Many players who had been there for many years, so it seemed like a very established team - 2 x O'sheas, Keegan, O'COnnor, Clarke, Vaughan, Higgins, Boyle, Harrison, Doherty. Great players. But the fact that they had been playing regularly would lead to a more recognised team.
A lot of the current team are relatively knew so haven't proved themselves for the long term. But for this year and last, they have definately proven that they have the capability. Mullen, Conroy, O'Donoghue, McLaughlin, WAlsh, Hession in the Dublin game was unreal. Big factor for me is the form of Matthew Ruane. Playing exceptional. And another big factor is that Robert Hennelly is growing in confidence game on game. His distribution is so much better than David Clarkes, and the last game will have brought the confidence to another level again. The fact that there isn't that debate as to Clarke Vs Hennelly any more, so that eases the pressure on him for the big-game days.
Anyway, that's just my opinion. I think the current team has great drive and pace, and a decent mix of experience and youth in the team.
It's not over moderation, it's common sense.
Would be a nightmare trying to mod both threads.
It's not common sense. Its nonsense. No reason for a separate match thread to be started. This thread does the job just fine.
There was no separate match thread for the hurling final and the general thread survived just fine for match chat.
It's better to have it all in 1 place besides having the entire season in here and then not having the final.
Unfortunately though, regular users dont have a say and the mods will just do what they want anyway
You don't need a new thread, just use this one, edit the words "and final" to the title
You are both probably right, especially considering the name of this thread is 2021 Championship.
Can't decide who will win. Mayo by 2 points. Saw a super aggressive and talented side in Mayo v Dublin second half. Then again why did they concede so much space, possession and scores in the first half? I think Tyrone will always play within themselves. When they went 5 up v Kerry they should have gone for more. Instead they sat back and gave the initiative back to Kerry. For once i would really like to see a Tyrone team playing with total abandon. I cant see them pulling more than 2-3 points ahead at any stage so for that reason I am going for a strong last 20 minutes for Mayo to win by 2.
Mod Note:
There will be no match day thread.
Mods do listen to 'regular users'. It's called Feedback. Clearly working I see.
Yeah, credit to Selighit where it's due. Ye didnt listen last year so fair play for taking it on board this year. Always found Selighit a very fair mod to deal with in fairness.
He's the exception.
There's always one.
Dm_7 as well actually.
Different forum though 😁
I can see it now.
Next Saturday, Selighit in the lower Hogan, Mayo game in the melting pot, and he/she is trying to Mod edit posts from "Green Peter", or "Peter Green" or whatever his name is.
He has applied for a day off, not sure if he will get it 😁
I'm guessing the Clár for the football final will be available from DBA publications and probably on sale in Centra or SuperValu stores also
https://www.dbapublications.ie/product-category/gaa-programmes/
Which Mayo lads?
Dear Kerry, washing my hair tonight. Wot u at? L8rs, JOC.