Ah whist would ya for the love of god.
I fully would go along with the premise that Kerry were “out on their feet” way before Tyrone were.
that is worrying from a Kerry point of view and it is not the first time over the last few years where Kerry’s fitness was found wanting.
I have deep respect for Peter Keane as a man and as a manager - a true Gael -and he has more to give to the Kerry set up but you would wonder if there should be another look at Kerry’s fitness regime as we were told a few weeks ago they were the finished article in terms of fitness
I don't think anyone really cares what was true and what was not. Kerry should have been good enough to beat them last Saturday, or next month or in 6 months time. They weren't and they have no excuses and in fairness, they are not making any either.
Tyrone are where they deserve to be, in the AI final.
This is an amazing post. Top work.
Don’t shoot the messenger
the hints were in lot of newspaper articles and I listened to the Newstalk sports show yest also - I’m just saying if it was proven that Tyrone were “not exactly on the level” on the issue - sanctions should be imposed and publicly to send out a message
And if its not true, then what sanction do you deserve for rumour mongering?
Come of it.......
I believe the Covid issue is quite genuine and they were right to ask for their 2 weeks, and the GAA and the other teams were correct in giving them the time needed. Declan Bogue puts it very well in this article, in particular how Spillane starts his rant about how from a vacuum of information comes false narratives and innuendo, then how QUOTE he was allowed to lay down a series of what he described himself as "false narrative and innuendo". UNQUOTE
Were you watching the first half of the semi what rubbish. Dublin had it won and only scored 2 points in the next hour. What is in Mayo's favor is Tyrone are not much better but i still expect them to win. Mayo were probably the best team in the country a few years ago but couldn't get over the ling...
I really do hope Mayo do win but i cannot see it happen....
Just from reading the papers and listening to radio yest seems to be a “hint” going on that Tyrone were not overly honest about the covid excuse
if this is true that they were playing fast and loose with the truth about covid in their camp then HQ should declare that Tyrone are banned from the championship for 3 years and also strip them of their win last Saturday and let Kerry into the final against Mayo
Kerry not doing underhand stuff is the biggest myth in the GAA.
Everyone knows that Mayo are well capable of it and do partake in it.
Way more teams of a decent standard?
I'm not so sure of that. Much of a muchness in terms of actually competitive counties.
Way more counties playing football alright but about 30 of them are perennial also rans.
There's nothing competitive about Munster or Connacht! Mayo and Kerry showed that with their absolute cricket scores. Leinster has three competitive counties at best. And that's stretching the credibility of competitive.
So really what you actually meant, was the Ulster championship is competitive. But even at that you're maybe talking about 2/3 serious contenders.
Overall more counties of a poor standard than a decent standard is how I'd see it.
Mayo not doing the underhand stuff is the biggest myth in the GAA and comes with having the media in your pocket. Every team is well practiced at the dark arts.
That was really funny.
I do, but you need to go have a lie down.
maybe on a ball like some of the lads being discussed the other day !
This final will be between two of my favourite non Cork football counties. But really i hope Mayo get over the line this time. Mayo have no historical baggage with Tyrone in all Ireland finals, in the way that they historically do with Dublin and Kerry, so that will be an advantage to them. 1989 1996 1997 2004 2006 2012 2013 2016 2017 2020 2021. That is an awesome record with regards to consistency for making finals. Muppets like that pompous ignorant and classless attention seeker David Hickey call Mayo a tragic county. But the way i see it Mayo are a very competitive football county who deserve serious respect, and surely to god 2021 will be the year they finally land that long awaited and long deserved all Ireland. Best of luck Mayo and bring Sam back home.👍️
Congrats to Tyrone and Mayo for reaching the final in a very stylish way indeed. This is an unlikely pairing, considering the dubs and kerry were raging hot favourites to get to the final.
I think it is a breath of fresh air to have 2 teams who have had little to cheer about in recent years to be contenders.
I really can't call this one. I would expect it to go down to the wire.
But he is an auld lad from the fifties.
Your first example is a poor one.
Twenty minutes left in a game is an age in football, actually it's closer to 25 or 27 these days with injury time.
Being the bare minimum up with that amount of time to go really stretches the narrative of being in a winning position and finding a way to lose the game.
To give it context as the clock hit 70 minutes in the 2016 drawn final Mayo were three points down, and they did not need a goal to level it.
Your second example is not even an example of being in a winning position and finding a way to lose the game.
So, any more examples ?
Do you do standup?
Lying on top of the football feigning injury so the opposition can’t get it to take a sideline ball or free, provoking the opposition to try and enter into a physical contact to try retrieve the ball... dark arts.
Running off the pitch and booting the ball away so sideline balls can’t be taken quickly by their opponents... dark arts...
Mayo exploited a weak referee and were dark art effective...fair ? No... multiple pundits / ex players don’t agree with your assessment, I certainly don’t.
for the good of the game / sport hopefully the referee lays down a marker from the first second... both sides equally.... too much of it now... it’s ruining the sport..l
Spillanes rant was all over the place yesterday. Yes i think there is a possibilty that tyrone could have used the covid situation to their advanatge, but its pure speculation and he had no evidence to back any of his claims and being from kerry he just came across bitter and twisted. very poorly handled from RTE and Cavanagh and Spillane sniping at each other like children for the rest of the game was very unprofessional should not have been allowed to continue. If anything Cantwell encouraged it, very poor.
You’re living in cuckoo land if you think football is in a healthier state than hurling.
This will be the first time in 7 years we will have a different All Ireland winner in football, that stat alone finishes your argument.
A well rested Dublin could come thundering back again next year too.
The Lower minnows in hurling and football will never be in the mix for Sam or Liam so they will have their own cups to play for at their level.
Colm O Rourke sounding like an auld lad from the fifties, saying those young Meath lads could be distracted by rock and roll.
You know what everyone knows ? Ehhhh ok, maestro ;)
I don’t think I’ve quoted what Pillar or Hickey said first off, I don’t need anybody to defend my views on the game... if you don’t agree I’ll still get a good nights sleep. Trust me.
a student of the game ? Don’t think I’ve ever claimed to be... I enjoy the sport and simply comment on it, as one in enabled to do here...
you seem to get upset and emotive quite easily... that’s not good for you... because someone has an opinion that differs from yours ? Just relax... it’s not life or death.
2010 seems like such a crazy anomaly now. Reads like a final from years ago
An interesting match up in the final.
Tyrone were good yesterday, but Kerry made some basic errors, butchering several goal chances in the first half, and carrying the ball I to the tackle too much. They relied too much on Clifford and O Shea, and the support cast were average at best. That said, the game was a draw on 70 minutes.
I found it interesting the poor conditioning of the kerry lads (relatively speaking). Lads were cramping up all over the place before the hour mark, in this day and age something is wrong ad you seldom see this any more.
Peter Keane is as well throw his hat at it tonight, because the 'fvcking animals' will gut him after that. Patteen was beginning to round up a posse at the end of normal time, the knives will be out this week.
On the RTE coverage, do ye have remote controls lads. The so called analysts are a joke, like sitting in a pub listening to 2 cranks arguing. McBennett has gone for the lowest common denominator in their coverage, really poor, low brow stuff. I missed the BBC Ni panel, who I've seen a few times and they provide decent insight, usually Harte, McConville, and maybe Marty Clarke and/or McHugh (who is a bit of a pain at times, granted).
Sad to see all the coverage the pundits are getting really.
2017 final Mayo after getting back into the game and go one point up with about 20 minutes in normal time left. John Small gets a second yellow card and Donal Vaughan proceeds to clock him and get a red card. Mayo lose by a point
2016 maybe not to be describe a winning position but Mayo decide to switch goalies before the match starts. David Clarke had an excellent game during the first game and Mayo looked the team more likely to win. Hennelly proceeds to have a poor game conceeding a penalty, getting a black card and having to be replaced.
Would disagree with your first comment. 1 new final won't change that just yet
You've pretty much confirmed what we all knew, thank you.
You can get back to eulogizing the nonsense spewed by Pillar and Hickey in defense of your thinking. No one else will, the two are easy enough to dismiss.
You're nowhere near a 'student of the game' either, just in case you think you are.
Cop on. If its a strict ref, then Tyrone will be the ones at a disadvantage. mayo are tough but fair - Tyrone are well practised at the dark arts.