Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Blindboy cancels himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

He wasn't a child though, or a teenager, or a young adult. He was 27 when Spastic Hawk was released. Not sure the point of your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,024 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I think it’s fair to say that this is less about Blind Boy Boat Club and more about different “sides” of a, current, cultural divide.

If the roles were reversed and you had, say, Ben Shapiro, Donald Trump, Jordan Peterson, Jair Bolsonaro, Vladimir Putin, Justin Barrett or Tommy Robinson trying, and failing miserably, to apologise for something that goes against their current “brand”, I think we’d see the usual, angry, suspects on here angrily defending them to the bitter end as well.

Blind Boy isn’t a hill I would choose to die on, myself. It’s not so much the message but the “medium” I have the issue with. He’s also insulted his original fans by making out that they misunderstood the Rubber Bandits early output, making out they weren’t mocking Limerick scrotes. Nonsense.

I, also, find it very hard to believe he wasn’t aware of the meaning of “spastic”. He’d have been better off just apologising for using the term and leave it at that.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Jesus! It must be a "full moon" today. I actually "agree" with Emmet.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

This quote from around the release of Spastic Hawk, would seem to confirm that he knew what spastic meant:  "‘Spastic Hawk’ is a true story unfortunately. I have a hawkery, and I had a physically retarded hawk." Strangely doesn't seem to match with what he said in his "apology": "I wasn't aware at the time of writing the song, that the word spastic was a slur, which is directed exclusively against people with disabilities. It's just not something that was in my awareness".

So, was it just an extreme coincidence that the "spastic hawk" in the song was, in his own words "physically retarded", since apparently BB didn't realise spastic was a slur on the disabled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

What does it have to do with this instance That's? That's the whole point, isn't it? He said he didn't know the actual meaning of the term because it was used as an insult out of its proper context. So he knew it was an insult (he said it was used against him in the statement) but didn't know it related to a specific disability. And lots of people have come on to say everyone knew exactly what it meant. So I'm telling you that I didn't know exactly what it meant until I googled it and that was in the second half of my 20s. If I hadn't been prompted to Google it then, I might not have known what exactly it meant until now. So the idea that everyone knows exactly what the word meant by the time they're in their 20s, is not realistic. I suppose it's like the term "wolly". It's used as a mild insult but I'm not aware of if having any medical meaning or referring to any particular disability.

Isn't it strange for so many people to get hung up on what BB knew and at what age they knew it?

Ive only read the statement linked in the first post in this thread. I haven't read anything more about it so that's all I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

I'm just about old enough to remember the "Year Of The Spastic" that he wrote that song in response to. I remember letters arriving from the relatives in England with stamps related to and being baffled because up to that point spastic was a widely used playground insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,494 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Also if he's apologizing for the word "spastic" in a comedic sense saying it's wrong to do so is just plain stupid. If he starts there what else will he apologize for, he's a comedian... Your career is over if you start that craic.

Was he ever a comedian? Thought he was a teacher or lecturer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

Ah you say that, but those people you mentioned don't tend to apologise for anything precisely because they know their people wouldn't like that. The same people who are suggesting its not the fact that he made an apology, its the way he apologised that made them cross, would not be any less cross if he had apologised in a different way. People like Trump know that their people don't like apologies because their people perceive it as weakness, so they don't apologise.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Curse These Metal Hands

The only thing that is unrealistic is the suggestion that he was the only person in Ireland that didn't know that to call someone a spastic was to liken them to someone with disabilities. You're reaching.

This is exactly the kind of apology we see ridiculed all the time, where a person doesn't accept responsibility for their actions. Why is it suddenly an adequate apology now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,560 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

Basically can't use any words on facebook any more. Everything is cancelled, everything is woke, everything is racist or at the very least a micro-aggression.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Is there really a need to get so personal? It's very odd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

I just went and watched Spastic Hawk and Your Da's Best Friend and they are fabulously subversive.

Why would you apologise for this?

No normal person thinks he's saying disabled people are **** (he's actually saying the opposite) or you should jerk off to gay porn in your shed.

Maybe he really is mentally ill and needs help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,204 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Curiously enough, the background to Blindboy’s “explanation” (as opposed to an apology) is that he was pulled up on it on Twitter by a guy called “Cork boi mental”, who is autistic himself.

So Blindboy released that statement by way of explanation, claiming that his use of the term was due to his “upbringing in Limerick”, as if his Irish audience weren’t aware of his spoofery, the explanation appeared to be aimed at an international audience on social media. That, and his claim that he didn’t know the term referred specifically to people with disabilities, is what appears to have got people’s heckles up, not his use of the term in the context of the song itself at all which has been understood for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

That's actually quite a good point you have raised as I remember at the time thinking (as he's still in character as blindboy giving this interview) how does his view that young men need feminism stack up with the lyrics of that song?

If that song is satirical, is his claim that young men need feminism also satirical (as he was in character giving the interview)?

For him to come out now and say he didn't fully understand the meaning of the word spastic, especially with his entire gimmick being around using big words in a surrealist context, it just does not ring true for me.

He knew what he was saying and what he was trying to say (satire or not). I would respect him more if he owned it, not try to play it down as such.

Personally I have no issue with being "woke", but this to me seems like a bit of a face saving exercise he's doing to potentially mitigate any future issues considering the podcasts popularity effectively puts him out there to be "cancelled" for saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,283 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Another Limerick head here, in school until 2001 and spastic (and retard) were used without care and understanding. It was just an insult. I thought it no different to the many red haired insults I was getting on a daily basis. I didn't Google it because, Google only released in 1998 and we weren't the most up to date technology wise here. AJ was there, but it would never have dawned on me to search the meaning of an insult.

I also don't really understand why people get so upset by it. It's a legit, medical term and not exactly the World Cup of insults either... But to 12 to 20-something year olds during those years it's as common as saying toast. I'm pretty sure it was my late 20's before I found out **** is not just an insult. Can probably apply the same to lots of words. People forget how young the internet is, and how hard it was to get decent (affordable) internet in the country.

Edit: Hah, a bundle of sticks is censored...

Double edit: It uncensored after I edited...

My teenage years predate the mass use of the internet. I knew what spastic, retard and f*gg*t meant.

I don't believe anyone who claims they didn't when they used the terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,204 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Yeah but in fairness, most people knew exactly what the word spastic was referring to 20 years ago, it’s why they used it, and you didn’t write a song 10 years later about a spastic hawk and then go on 10 years later again to try and claim that you were at the time “reclaiming” a word that was used to bully you, in order to appeal to your woke audience.

Like there’s a lot of bullshìt I’d be prepared to swallow, there is, but that bullshìt excuse that he came out with that it was used against him even by teachers at the time in the school he attended? Nah, bad and all as they may or may not have been, not for a minute do I believe a teacher ever referred to BB as a spastic. Handicap maybe, but spastic? And then he’s trying to say he was reclaiming the word, as if THAT’s what anyone is suggesting he should apologise for?

Neck as hard as a jockeys bollocks tbh.

Claiming to not know what a word meant is the weakest defence ever. Why would you repeatedly use a word without ever enquiring as to what it meant. It completely defeats the purpose of using a language to communicate.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Entonces

A lot of folks on here could do with chilling out and listening to this great episode of the Blindboy Podcast on developing empathy for others and self-compassion

https://open.spotify.com/episode/05f1OvbJlA4gUH7FS7JI9N?si=VbzqbTsGToaT9WeY_S_L2w&utm_source=copy-link&dl_branch=1

Yes, no one should criticise his statement, just listen to the podcast and don't ask any questions.

What was he like when you met him? I’m curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,580 ✭✭✭bassy

What's this thread actually about??

I knew him in school too. He was always pretty funny saying outlandish things, with that weird accent. But even back then it sounded put on. Such a nice guy and not a bad bone is his body.

A long time ago now since I've seen him last I'm sure he could have changed a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,617 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

A lot of people have their knickers in a twist because a lad with a bag on his head called an animal a name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Your reading comprehension is as good as blindboy's excuses are believable if that's what you've taken from the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,260 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

I'm always wary of people who constantly go on about be Kind to one another, there's a good chance that they're the c****.

You can be absolutely sure people who virtue signal are the ones doing the thing they're complaining about.

A classic example is Gerry Ryan constantly talking about how drugs are bad and drug dealers are scum... yet he was doing coke nearly every day.

You've probably heard of the new thing where Apple will be scanning every (initially American only) iPhone because they think their customers might be pedophiles and think it's their job to police this. It's such a weird flex that I will be zero surprised when it turns out Tim Cook is a pedophile.

I know a lot of woke people in real life and they are all incredible hypocrites. Here's an example: an acquaintance of mine who has her pronouns next to her LinkedIn name, her social media is absolutely full of virtue signalling and very loudly does charity work... she sleeps with married men and gives no **** about hurting people.

The only other thing to take from this thread is how outraged people get about so little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,660 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

No.

There's something particularly awful about "woke" people who virtue signal like crazy while being scummy themselves.

He thinks his audience are stupid and will believe his obvious lie that he didn't know calling someone a spastic was an insult in reference to being disabled.

He's not a good person, yet he spends his time telling you that you're the bad person.

It's gross.

Give me an honest scumbag any day over a dishonest virtue signaller.

you must spend a lot of time listening to him to be so well informed.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Entonces

Go out and rub a dog...ye gowels 🐕

No one is allowed to criticise BB, lads. Just listen to the podcast and never question him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭HBC08

You use the same comeback for anybody you disagree with in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,940 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Its just lasts week version of the same 'non-woke' (what does that make them? sleepy? dozy? bleary-eyed) vs 'woke' discussion we see like clockwork here.

Anyone who gets a platform (self-made or appointed) who advocates for or has advocated for anything of a progressive nature is a target and in this case an opportunity has been presented to really stick the knife in.

I think because BB covers topics like mental health and some progressive issues that he's created a shield for himself, of sorts. Some believe this puts him above criticism. Of course, anyone with a brain knows that this is a fallacy, and a fairly common tactic used historically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Nigzcurran

pox bottle of a retard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

He covers those because it’s exactly what his woke audience want to hear - be kind to everyone and mind your “mental health” - but forget all that when someone says something that totally offends you. He’s a **** sheep corralling all the other two faced **** who spout this bullshit.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Kinda weird getting angry about people you can easily ignore. Seeking out people to get frustrated about can't be good for the oul head. I can take or leave BlindBoy but one thing I don't do is consider him any sort of intellectual.

Just calling it like I see it. Lot of anger around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Dante

Why does he get so much hate from some coherts? His mainstream stuff isn't exactly my cup of tea but its better than most of the shite pumped out by Irish comedians these days. I've listened to a couple of episodes of his podcast and thought it was decent enough. Is it just the usual Irish begrugery or has he done/said some controversial stuff to piss people off?

You should probably read the OP to see why the discussion kicked off. What are your thoughts on his statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,830 ✭✭✭Demonique

John Cleese has become the sort of person that Monty Python's Flying Circus would have made fun of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Dante

Just Googled the full statement as the OP's link doesn't seem to work. Sounds like a bit of waffle to be fair, gives the impression that he's trying to cover his tracks for when the woke brigade come knocking on his door further down the line. Still doesn't really warrant the abuse I'm seeing around the place, I'm guessing this wasn't his first rodeo with these antics.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,906 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

That's because he's incapable of coming up with anything else.