Biden sure doesn't like taking questions eh? runs off again, joke of a president
Reports now that there approx 16 US citizens faced with being abandoned by the US when they leave. US forces forbidden from venturing out to pick up isolated persons. The Biden administration has made a complete mess of this all together.
You misunderstood me. I never said that fact was mentioned in the documentary. I was commenting on Afghan history in general.
Even if they didn't know that Kabul would fall as quickly as it actually did, most of those foreign citizens in Kabul must have known that the security situation was so bad that it wasn't safe to be there anymore. So why didn't they get out before before the panic started/
and decided to become a member of the Raj of Iraq to dictate their lives by military force.
Were the Americans not aware of the lithium deposits?
During his gap year in 1991, he served a short service limited commission in the Black Watch for five months as second lieutenant on probation https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rory_Stewart#Early_life_and_education whats the point of that?
how does one become a soldier for 5 months?
I can't get noise on that video
that documentary from Rory Stewart is actually priceless, it should be promoted and shown around the world so everybody understands the history behind this country and also as a warning for any other so called empires to try to siege that country anytime in the future... I'm deeply amazed by the afghan people (surely not the Taliban) and admire their strength and putting their independence before any material gain.
but I have a question, thought it will be answered when it came to the 9/11 attacks, but it wasn't really. people here have good knowledge, so probably someone can answer it: why did the US became the main subject of hate for al Qaida? I mean, they helped to arm the afghans in the war against the russians and ultimately that's why the russians were defeated. Fmpov it would have been understandable if they turned their hate against russia and took revenge with attacks against them. Something must have happened in the 90's with the US and al-Qaida but there's no explanation in the film. Was it the invasion of the US in Iraq 1991?
Bin Laden issued two fatwa against the US because of their interference in other countries. See below.
This guy is a key influence on their 'thinking'
He is considered as "the Father of Salafi jihadism", the religio-political doctrine that underpins the ideological roots of Global Jihadist organisations such as al-Qaeda and ISIL.
Qutb is also known for his intense disapproval of the society and culture of the United States,[10][11] which he saw as materialistic, and obsessed with violence and sexual pleasures.
It wouldn't seem that much of a mystery to me why the US would be the epicentre of hate for Al Qaeda. Perceived American arrogance, general godlessness and immodesty, all that bare flesh and western decadence etc. But I'm not sure that ever had to lead to 9/11 which, of all the theories I've read, seems most likely to have been a very deliberate attempt by Bin Laden & co to suck the US into basically unwinnable wars thousands of miles from home. From their perspective, it's likely played out to their satisfaction, lots of perceived western humiliation and martyrs created.
Oh don't you worry your little head the US much like the Soviets before them had carried out their own geological surveys and have worked out there is trillions of dollars of minerals there.
Only problem is mining, and there is already some there, isn't easy with RPGs flying about.
Ah yes a good old lad at the top of the Egyptian Muslim brotherhood.
Now why does that organisation ring a bell. 🙄
I wonder did Qutb visit Ireland when coming back through Europe on the way home from states.
Hell he may even have been out in Clonskeagh.
People seem to forget bin laden was hiding out in more places than Afghanistan and al-qeada carried out some other major attacks before 911.
A lot of this has to be directly blamed on US.
No not for the usual excuse of sticking their noses into Arab world, etc.
No they deserve huge blame for fact they kept telling everyone the bogeyman was Iran and their influence over Shia in places like Lebannon, when the real threat was militant Sunni Islam and Salafi jihadism that was being fostered in the US's old allies and puppets they kept in power in the Arabian penisula and Gulf states.
Instead of looking at Iran and laterally Iraq they would have been better off looking at Saudi Arabia and the other feckers.
So IS is getting in on the turmoil. Start of the civil war?
Is it scaremongering though to try and get people to leave the airport area?
And when did they change their name to ISIS - K? I can’t keep up with them at all.
And knowing what they knew, and their normal avericious appetite for minerals, oil etc. there had to be a very good reason for walking away from this bonanza, especially as they were "on site" as it were. Unless of course, and unthinkable as it may seem, they will wait until the Taliban have 100% control, and then do a deal with them? With the Taliban responsible for security etc?
The reason Bin Laden hated the US was because there was a foreign non-Muslim army in Saudi Arabia even though the Saudis invited them is as they were worried about Saddam invading them after Kuwait. I don't know how he didn’t blame the Saudi royal family.
How many private security forces are left? I remember the US using them to keep the number of American army casualties down. They would be gone in a flash if they aren’t being paid.
For certain, that would have stoked his thirst for revenge, but Bin Laden had established Al Qaeda with the express purpose of bringing jihad to the rest of the world, which surely included the US, before the latter had stationed any troops in Saudi Arabia at all. The 1993 WTC bombers cited US involvement in Israel and Palestine as a motive. So the list of grievances ran historically deep.
Kontinuity ISIS; they regard Provisional ISIS as sellouts😜
Afghan Stickies.
Someone said to me earlier that they are more hardcore.
The K stands for Khorasan province in Eastern Afghanistan which is their stronghold.
It seems these lads and Taliban do not get on at all.
It is believed the Taliban executed one of their leaders since they took over.
They have been knocking around since 2014.
The US had blew the cr** out of one of their founders in 2016.
Jaysus we have found something that the Taliban and US have in common.
To me the big question in all this is how you should pronounce Qatar.
I was brought up to say cat-AAR, but in the last few days I've heard it as katter, kutter, gutter...
I am not understanding the desire for fundamentalists to create a religious war. If the west actually cared enough to bring back the crusades, the Islamic world would end up suffering the largest genocide in history. Is that what Al Qaeda wanted? Is it just to create an environment of fear? I just don't see the end point they are looking for. Luckily for Al Qaeda, pope Francis isn't too militant, lol
What's going to happen to all the people left behind?
When you put it like that, the whole thing is kind of reminiscent of
The full-blooded westerners and their close allies are being raptured/evacuated out of Afghanistan leaving the more doubtful cases to fight for survival in the chaotic end times to come...
Not sure if anyone posted this link or not.
Really great summation of how they could have stayed and kept the country out of Taliban hands to some extent.
Also as headline says he really thinks Biden has fooked it up.
Dion Nissenbaum @DionNissenbaum
2m
Explosion appears to have happened near Baron Hotel across from Kabul airport. Baron was used largely by Brits. Many injured.
I don't think the US should leave under circumstances of attacks like this. If the pretext is given they should by force retake territory around the airport.