in your opinion. Its desperate how Sinn Fein and supporters are running around trying to link to another party. I wonder why is that?
What other party?
Is modern SF the result of a split or not?
Did modern SF stick to one of the core principles of the party that split or not?
The answers are not 'my opinions' but historical facts.
Its literally the same party.....the majority reconstituted as same party....to my eyes,if same people,in same premise,using same name....would make it same anyway
Quite why yous choose to argue againest fact,logic and commonsense is beyond me.....but i guess whatever yous need to do to try windup people and get attention that seemingly lacking in personal life,work away with your dreams.....but only one type person pushing a false narrative here,same type whom back away from disscusing the influence of 1930s facism on modern day irish politics
How is reciting fact 'opinion'? You deny the truth then generalise to dismiss.
Sinn Fein is the same it's always been. In any case I don't think many voters will figure in the 1916 rising when voting for tackling housing and the like. What's desperate is shiteing on about the IRA and good/bad SF because FF/FG are beyond redemption.
Take a look at this random election result. 1957...which Sinn Fein is this?
I suspect when dudley said it was my 'opinion' that dudley is working on 'received wisdom' and not his own research.
If anyone researched this, they would know that 'Provisional' was just a media appendage after the split and means nothing. And that the SF that form modern SF held to the principle of abstensionism - which the attempt to get rid of, caused the bloody split. 😁
If anything highlights the terminal decline of FF in particular,its that map
This election was mere months after the deaths of sean south and fergal ohanlon aswell....so maybe they gotton a boost with sympathy?,given souths funeral was largest ever held in the free state
Enjoy Mike
https://twitter.com/TadhgHickey/status/1429714130064248832?s=19
thats about the level of proof being provided by some of the posters here ,
some lad on twitter 🙄
An attempt in the 1940s to access funds that had been put in the care of the High Court led to the Sinn Féin Funds case, which the party lost and in which the judge ruled that it was not the legal successor to the Sinn Féin of 1917
Sinn Féin - Wikipedia
seems to be a recent party policy to try and steal other peoples history with your lies blazz , how disgusting then again .......
Edit
You should open the tweet mike, it's parody.... a p1sstake on how some fantasists try and rewrite history it's only 2 mins long but covers everything from the legitimacy of our violent struggle for freedom v the north, and the good ra bad ra schtick that gets used on this site a lot by posters,.posters like you come to think of it. Watch the video...itll not bite you I promise.
What proof is missing?
Modern SF can be traced right back to Countess Markievicz and abstentionism. The reason the party split in the 70's.
As SF were holding to one of the core principles, they kept the name of the party, Sinn Fein.
i never called anyone a good ra, but my point was that some posters think that a random person on twitter is proof or and expert on the topic, rather than just some idiot with wifi
All this sounds like teh Nazi party and trying to rewrite history. What next? SF get into power and they change record to say them and the PIRA had a fantastic victory in the North?
strange how ye lads started pushing that lie at the same time as the party did the same isnt it 😏
the facts are very well established as well you know , its a very lazy effort by the party to gain support your the younger and dumber voters who weren't around during the troubles by linking themselves to historical facts when in reality there is none.
Look forward to somebody pointing out the broken link.
Calling sections of the general public dumb, stay classy
Godwinned this thread, and you Godwinned another the other day too! Is your reasoned argument really in that short a supply lol
Um.... Well.... Nazis. 😆
You and a few are afraid of speaking about actual politics and drag us to silly claims related to ye olden times. That's it really.
TBF Fine Gael have more of a link to Franco than Collins.
We have had FG trying to take ownership of the rising and giving the glad eye to a United Ireland. You can be guaranteed they'll be singing 'We're on the one road' at their next Ard Fheis following a UI 😀
Wasnt this just an attempt by ff to funnel money towards retired ira men and such a case wouldnt fly nowadays?
Wasnt some of the sinn fein leadership** whom contested it,members since the 20s and reasonable to assume it a continuation of the party.....given it subsumed autority to.the ira leadership in the 30s (when the ira formally made an effort to take over sinn fein?)
**several whom linked up with FF to funnel guns to saor eire in 69,from abroad and searched old ira arm dumps for viable weapons
looks for evidence ,when evidence provided , evidence ignored because it doesn't suit the lies being pushed
pattern developing here
looking at the government we already have ? i have no hesitation
you think i shouldn't be allowed to call out blatant lies then ? thats a strange thing to say
reposted just for you francie
Except this evidence,deosnt say what yous think it deos?
The fact there was no funds remaining after expenses made.appealing it pointless?
Like factually and logically,yous are flailing about,but landing no punches,as much as yous.might try......tell us again how a majority of members staying,operating out of same premises,under same name....is now magically a different organisation....yous position deosnt make sense to.me anyway,and simply seems illogical
I don't know where you gleaned that from.
You complain about how the discussion is going on the genesis of Sinn Fein when it is yourself and a few others constantly using the past to avoid the present.
edit
Its himself brought it in.....to drool on about a garda commeration of 2 gaurds killed by the ira.....bow claims it wasnt the ira
Is now upset that his position is simply illogical and people are daring to qs it....hence the repeated hurling of insults
That's a technical issue over funds mired in controversy itself. There was no finding with regard to the continuity of the party or it's members.
Here is Eamon DeValera speaking in the Dáil in 1947 and he very clearly outlines what happened with the party and that despite the splits there was always continuity from the original even if the party went into the doldrums after 1926
Perhaps, I should say that not merely was the great national organisation of 1917-21 divided into roughly equal parts in 1922 but, in 1926, as a result of a proposal as to the future programme of the organisation which I put forward, there was a division again. Again, the division was very close—about fifty-fifty also. We left the organisation and formed Fianna Fáil. The other organisation dwindled until the position was reached that the body claiming the moneys to-day would represent only a tiny fraction of our people—very tiny compared with the great organisation to which the moneys were subscribed.
Sinn Féin Funds Bill, 1947—Second Stage. – Seanad Éireann (5th Seanad) – Tuesday, 13 May 1947 – Houses of the Oireachtas