Weight, roughly 700kg , new Yaris weighs about 1100, windy windows aren't a hardship,
Toyota tax.
2007 vw golf plus tdi
950 eur
http://www.adverts.ie/24639361
2006 A4, 1.9 TDI,
€1250
Looks pretty good in red.
2001 citroen xsara 1.4 petrol
Few of them out there
1000 eur
http://www.adverts.ie/24642825
1 owner, NCT til January 2022, tax til November, claims of full service history and 17k miles - €950
Someone buy this before I do!
Lads is it possible to get a winter runaround under 10yrs old and 1.1-1.3ltr (for insurance reasons) for around 2k? Was just looking at Opel Corsas 2011-2013 and nothing available with those filters. Any advice on a model that will meet this criteria? Stuff I would have expected to be around 2k is asking 3.5k upwards
And where from here on the higher prices, is this a new reality post Brexit or will supply improve and prices come down?
You should be able to get a Panda meeting those criteria easily enough.
Corsas are popular with young drivers and nice 2011+ examples have a while yet to go before they’re €2k.
Peugeot 107 / Citroen C1 / Toyota would be another shout, they are very cheap to insure.
I think you generally need to go over 10 years to get sub 2k quantity (and quality - although you need to shift through the shite). Any particular reason why you wouldn't drop back another year or three to 2007-2010.
Thanks Duke thats very helpful, I'll do some searches on those models
Primarily insurance reasons, seems some companies wont insure cars over 10 years and others charge more for it than sub 10yr old cars. Ive had a license for 15yrs but have been on a motorbike for the last 6 so insurance companies are treating me like Ive no driving experience at all, quotes are running at 1,200 for the first year so Im tryiing to buy a car that keeps it as low as possible. After I have some NCB built up I'll upgrade then
Conscious that I'm answering the question that nobody asked but I thought it'd be no harm to give an update on the Bangernomics Celica almost one year (and some 13,000 miles/ 20,000km) on. In case they are on anyone's radar as a runaround 🤷♂️. And also given the fact that this thread seems to have died a death since the new version of boards.ie went live!
2006 Celica UK Import - Blue model with premium pack (adding climate and sunroof) and a £250 factory option of rear parking sensors :)
140 BHP, 6 Speed Manual. Bought for €1,300 last September. Now on 132,000 miles. Just some random thought below:
Reliability - With the exception of the drive belt snapping two weeks ago (80 quid fix), the car has been faultless. Money spent has been on consumables like brakes, bulbs and a wheel bearing. Tires that were on it are still holding up well too. It is the first car I've done an oil and filter change on.
Great handling. Lovely mechanical feeling gearbox and direct steering. Nice driving position and everything close to driver - the handbrake on my brother's S40 may as well be on the passenger seat in comparison. Visibility is great out the front due to narrow pillars. Deceptively long car and the doors are huge so parking in tight spaces can be tricky.
Surprisingly economical - I get 37mpg on a semi-regular round trip to Craigavon. Helped, no doubt, by the 6 speed box. Best I've gotten is 44mpg at a steady 80km/hr in sixth over 50 odd miles . No trip computer so old fashioned calculations.
Awful ride quality on Irish roads - I dread and bumps or ruts in the road. Can become tiresome in and around Dublin.
Being the 140, it is by no means quick. That being said, it likes to rev and given the low kerb weight and the nice stubby short-shift box, it isn't a chore getting up to speed.
Lower part of the front splitter dismounted itself on the M50 one day. Hard to find.
Had the air con re-gassed last year and it worked all of a day. The condenser looks to be in bits and is 100 quid delivered. Not sure if I'll bother coming into winter. And given the fact that it will be exposed with the splitter missing
Will likely need clutch done in next 10,000 miles.
Great motor overall. Perfect for my daily needs. Good renewal quote. Would defo recommend👍️
They are bit like marmite never really took off compared to similar cars. I'm talking about the 190 version. There is one up on Donedeal for a while and the guy selling it mustn't know that. Obviously he likes them as he bought one but he is dreaming with the price as I said not everyone likes them so market compared to other Jap performance cars isn't there.
Yeah, I still keep track of them on DD and they tend to hang around for a fair while. I think that is feeding into the decision to keep mine for as long as I can. I'm under no illusions - it's worth f**k all so I'll just enjoy it for the time being.
Lads need some opinions.
Planning on heading over in September to get a few bits and bobs and as we are planning on coming to Ireland often then renting a car just because far more expensive.
So, thinking of buying some cheap as chips car and using it when we are over etc.
What are the 1.8 Civics like? Saloon preferably.
Giving myself a low budget of max 1k but playing it by ear so I'd aim even lower :)
1.8 Civics are bulletproof, but is a decent example obtainable for a grand?
I've seen some examples which seemed decent enough.
But have no clue about the 1.8 engine or the saloon in general.
Tonne of those 1.6 PSA engines about but really want to avoid those.
I had a Jap import 190 for about a year and I absolutely loved it. They're a great little car for the money imho.
I'd love to grab a nice clean t-sport before it gets too late.
Yeah the 190 T Sport is the one to have for sure but they are pretty thin on the ground here. This is the only one listed on DD and asking €3.6k
https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-celica-t-sport-nct-tested/28999475
There is this one as well but he is dreaming as I said a few posts up.
https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-celica-vvtli-2zzge-jdm-190bhp/28048038
Found this but there is no way to contact the seller it seems.. dodgy?
https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/honda-civic-for-sale/28779775
Mileage a bit high and high tax but the car looks solid.
Keep trying the number and go to look at it.
That's the thing, there is no number or email.
I mean I've tried clicking the number but nothing shows up.
For me it is showing 086 8412421.
Maybe because your in Poland. I'm guessing anyway. Try other ads and see if you can see the numbers.
It happens when you place an adverts.ie ad and get the free donedeal ad with it, the number and email address doesn't go across to donedeal.
It's probably on adverts.
Aaaand it is.
Donedeal really need to fix that.
I can see the number when I click it.
Yeah, and in the reverse scenario the miles on the DD ad change to KM's on the Adverts ad. They are bizarre errors to get past even basic test scripts.
Anyone near enough the car to take a look :D btw thanks lads