Under the weight of having to govern and feed themselves the taliban will reach out to kindly foreign sponsors.
As command fractures and fragments, and internal conflict arises, various shady gulf state emirates will be there to claim their own little factions and promote their lads. Some of these money-men will be US, French, UK, etc puppets (some aware, some not).
There'll soon be a split, and they'll be fighting each other on behalf of their various paymasters. We'll soon be hearing about the western republic of talibistan fighting the eastern talib national army, or some such.
Rogue Pakistan backed commanders claiming resource rich areas and the like. More coups than you can wave a koran at.
The US leaving them loads of gear to bate the shite out of each other with will only hasten the process (and makes me wonder).
Theres a zoom call going on as I type this with an oligarch, a taliban general, a republican senator and an influential imam in each corner. Numbers getting thrown out. Maps getting colored in.
The US should leave them to fight it out and stop putting money in PK also.
Pakistan is more closely aligned to China than the US.
Although it seems the Chinese are not very popular there in some parts - it seems the Taliban may have a new target
I'd say that the US ( and others ) would be more than happy to leave them fight it our amongst themselves except for PK having nuclear weapons. Imagine the Taliban getting ther hands on one of those.....
Actually I don’t agree as I know what’s involved in operating transport category aircraft. Considering that we charter airliners to transport the IDF to/from some of their UN peacekeeping assignments, I would suggest that we used that option for any rescue attempts.
PK is intertwined with the Taliban.
Interestingly, I've noticed in the past week that the Toyota Corolla is popular among Afghan civilians in Kabul.
Great car
It's for the same reason it was the Irish taxi drivers car of choice for years
It looks like an army of Conchita Wursts
Why don't you think it would be preferable for Ireland to have this capability? The expense?
The Pakistan Madrassas is where the Taliban originated, and they trained,armed and supported them ( and still do!! ) they want to control Afghanistan. " Ismail Khan, a powerful U.S.-allied warlord, who is trying to defend his territory of Herat in western Afghanistan from a Taliban onslaught, told local media recently the war raging in his homeland was the fault of Pakistan.
“I can say openly to Afghans that this war, it isn’t between Taliban and the Afghan Government. It is Pakistan’s war against the Afghan nation,” he said. “The Taliban are their resource and are working as a servant.”
But there is growing resentment among even the Pashtuns against the Taliban, and the Pakistani support for them. Thousands atended a recent rally organised by the Pashtun Tahafuz (protection) Movement (PTM) against both the Taliban and the Pakistan Govt. The success of this rally can be seen by the efforts made by Pakistan Authorities to block media coverage of the event ( and others too) As I mentioned earlier, Pakistan is riding the Tiger.....and cannot dismount.
Not just in Afghanistan,,,its in all the "Stans",Iran, the missle east, Lebanon, Syria, not to mention Europe. Friend of mine had a 1995 Corolla....400'000 Miles on it when he retired it, but its still running well. Great car.
@jmreire “I can say openly to Afghans that this war, it isn’t between Taliban and the Afghan Government. It is Pakistan’s war against the Afghan nation,” he said. “The Taliban are their resource and are working as a servant.”
This is the key point in the last 40 years Pakistan involvement in Afghanistan ,the Americans armed the Taliban ,the Americans trained and support bin Laden ( yet no one provides any evidence) ,the mujahadeen who faught the Russians are not the Taliban (two totally different groups with different agendas and times )
Pakistan had been funnelled weapons and support to Taliban since day one , Pakistan doesn't want a strong Afghanistan on one side and a strong India on another ,
It been said since America and NATO went in the single biggest mistake was not sealing the border between Afghanistan and Pakistan especially when you hear about Pakistan border guards opening border checkpoints and welcoming Taliban fighters who were being persued by the Afghans and Americans .
Bin Laden living in Pakistan undetected says it all
So Americans have been told now not to go to the airport and there are rumours that ISIS members are planning to shoot people there. Total disaster that is getting worse by the day.
Saw that. And reports of Taliban beating U.S. passport holders, and reports of them taking US passports and not giving them back. Grim.
Does this move Iran up or down the MIC hit list, in terms of where to fcuk up next?
Iran last week revealed a huge new gas deposit located in the Iranian sector of the Caspian Sea. The ‘Chalous’ structure is to be developed with the intention of forming a new gas hub in northern Iran to complement the southern gas hub centred on the massive South Pars field.The principal named developer of the Chalous site is Iran’s Khazar Exploration and Production Company (KEPCO) but technical and financial assistance will also come from Russia and China. If the initial estimates of the gas reserves held in the Chalous deposit are correct then Iranian gas will be able to supply at least 20 percent of Europe’s gas needs.
Most of which is completely unvarified or appearing on social media accounts of people Claiming to heard it from elsewhere
Fair enough. I must have let my cynicism down for a moment. ;) Hard to verify and/or believe a single thing coming out from the region at this stage, TBH. First casualty of war being truth, etc.
I wouldn't want to be the one to tell them that to their beards.
I'd most likely is people have been told to stay in place and wait for assistance ,or get to the embassy of possible ,
But for the most part we won't be given that information because if we get that information the Taliban also get it ,
There was a an increase in support aircraft that arrived into Kabul airport , usually operating along side of special forces ,
Africa isn't a country
The Taliban do Twitter now
#progress
Funny that these fellas get blue ticks when Trump isn't even allowed on Twitter.
😯 Unreal. Let's see how Twitter police this one going forward.....
According to all the big social media sites the Taliban are permabanned
Maybe the Taliban itself. Their members who are now running the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan are very much are on Twitter.
But it seems that resistance has started. The National Resistance Front of Afghanistan, headed by Shah Masoods son, Ahmad. The resistance are being joined by ANA elite soldiers, who did not agree their commanders surrendering to the Taliban, and are bringing their weapons. Masood has appealed for more anti-Talib fighters to join him, and also for the outside worlds support. He makes the point that its not only the future of Afghanistan at stake, but under the Taliban, the World will be threatened with more sept 11th style attacks. So its very much in the worlds interest to help defeat them with weapons supply being high on the agenda. Reportedly the Taliban have lost 3 Districts they held in Baglan, with 30 Talibs killed, 15 injured and 20 captured.
They learned quite a lot about the power of the media in Qatar......which is very strange and goes against their former hardline Islamic edicts of all cameras and picture taking being forbidden. I wonder what other red lines have been eliminated.????
Still a thousand times better then the Taliban ideology of death and destruction......and as for "fleecing", wait and see just how they will fleece Afghanistan, fleecing the Americans will pale into insignificance. And already there's a queue of "helpers" jumping over each other to help them.
under the Taliban, the World will be threatened with more sept 11th style attacks.
Will it though? Biden seems confident American will be able to deal with those threats without boots on the ground in Afghanistan.
We are developing a counterterrorism over-the-horizon capability that will allow us to keep our eyes firmly fixed on any direct threats to the United States in the region, and act quickly and decisively if needed.