Shocking details of what female TD's have to deal with in just doing their job. This is all perpetuated by an angry online mob who with glee always seem to enjoy going after female TDs that bit more. Plenty of evidence of that here on this forum unfortunately as well.
a female TD who was left terrorised after being repeatedly harassed by a stranger. The harassment included a sexually violent explicit letter with references to rape and incest, sent to her home.
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-40359965.html
So you wouldn't regard this as 'gender-specific abuse'? Or you don't believe it actually happened?
Abuse against politicians isn't gender specific. To suggest otherwise is nonsense.
Certain female politicians who are idiots like in 'Swinggate' saga get more abuse but look at some of the abuse across the political spectrum that the likes of Mattie Mcgrath, Healy Raes, eamonn ryan and others get. We have snowflakes citizens and we have snowflake politicians.
The misandry in this thread is sickening
Because they examples you've provided are isolated incidents which were highlighted. Male TDs also suffer similar threats and abuse.
Female TDs receive no more abuse or threats than male TDs, this is is quite evident and clear from your lack of willingness to engage.
🤣
But they do get death threats .....
are you saying that rape threats are worse than murder threats?
Glad to see you admit it exists.
Mary Lou gets it as bad the other side
Its not just a anti Govt thing
Jesus there's some amount of schoolyard shyte going on in this thread....
As for the article, absolutely no point telling us all this is happening, but then saying that you don't want to do anything about it. FFS, make a complaint! It's not going to stop unless you do!!! I would have had sympathy up to that point, but by not making a complaint and prosecuting the person who is STALKING you, you have no one to blame after that point. Being a public figure has nothing to do with it, and using it as an excuse to not go ahead with a complaint is ridiculous. If she can't even follow that up, how can we trust her to be involved in running the country?!
Not excusing the behaviour, but you let this person at it, and they will escalate it and then it will be too late. It's 2021, people will actually get behind a public figure who is being stalked, mostly. Crazy to not follow up on it. Just crazy, and if anything happens now it'll all be poor her. The same as the residents who complain about drug dealing in their estate, and "everyone" knows who's at it, but no one will make a statement. Ignoring it will make it go away I'm sure. And she gets to write a lovely woe-is-me article to get people to feel sorry for her, which can't be proven, and is completely pointless because she remained anonymous. Have a pair girl!
Everyone know Coppinger is an attention seeker. She grab a couple of poor single mothers and dragged them around Dublin to get elected. Once elected she dumped them all and never lifted a finger to help them. Hence why she got dropped kicked out on the last election.
Nobody had to spearhead a campaign against Jackson, once the text messages came out he was gone. Plenty of other TD;s at the time jumped on the bandwagon George Hook had so many enemies over the year, I don't even remember if she was involved at all in his removal Michael O'Leary will be laughing his head off at her.
I personally have heard nothing about this justice campaign but its probably the usual. When you see the brother of the man killed having to get arrested a few weeks after for his carry on that was the end of anyone having any interest, even RTE dumped them after the puff piece they done on the family.
The majority of what she does is an act and people have copped onto that in the majority. She is heading down the Gemma route as just a side comedy.
I am just wondering what exactly you want to happen to her?
What if the TD is themselves a bully and a thug?
Ruth Coppinger spearheaded a campaign that drove Paddy Jackson out of the country and out of any chance of representing Ireland again, all over criminal charges he was acquitted of.
She spearheaded a campaign to push George Hook out of a job.
The other week she tried a Cancel Michael O'Leary campaign over the press conference some years ago when he joked that a planned Ryanair First Class would feature hostesses giving blowjobs. Thankfully even her own mob didn't take her up on this one.
She is currently involved in some sort of "justice" campaign to try and end the career/ make life hell for a Garda who shot dead a knife wielding man in an incident that, having been caught on video, can in no way by any sane person be regarded as excessive force and not self defence.
Why should someone this awful not cop flak for their evil actions?
Sorry Jack, I obviously missed that this morning, I got into a bit of a kerfuffle batting away "misogynistic" accusations levelled against me, for a while.
Yeah, thread turned bat shït crazy after a while, was definitely a sight to behold.
I read the article and responded on the first page with similar to the point you’re making. Couldn’t believe it later in the thread when the OP themselves started hounding a female poster and questioning her, after making the opening post. ‘Twas feckin’ bizarre, and somewhere in between the first post and this one it appeared that some posters were airing their dirty laundry in public… weird thread tbf 😒
Did anyone (even the OP) even read the feckin article?
These female TD's weren't harassed or sexually threatened because of their politics, or because they were politicians, they were harassed because they are women (so far as I can tell from the article anyway)
OK, there's a reasonably good argument, that because they are in the public eye, that made them targets, or brought them to their stalkers attention. However, it puts the comments of "why would any woman become a politician" comment into context.
Why would any woman become a Famous singer/actor/personality etc etc etc, these politicians will hardly be the first women on earth to be victims of harassment or face threats of sexual violence, but lets not try codding ourselves that it was their politics that made them targets.
Yes. Male politicians do not get rape threats etc
I'm not going to reply no because you have already preemptively decided that examples you ask for are dismissable. As I said its disingenuous.
That's a cop out. In order to block someone, you have to read/view whatever content they sent before doing so.
It's tantamount to telling someone receiving physical abuse to toughen up. Even your comment about Hazel Chu suggests that she actually enjoys being targeted in various ways. Many of which are very insensitive and way beyond fair criticism of a public figure.
If it was your wife, daughter, mother or whatever receiving constant messages, would you call them attention seekers for trying to speak up about it?
Really? Your posts in this thread this afternoon have been aimed at other posters rather than discussing the topic at hand. Time to cop on, or don't post
I can't believe he started a thread on harassing women TD's and is harassing a woman while mansplaining how gay/lesbian people normally refer to themselves 😎
Quizzing a likely female to see are they male so you can have a go? Some online bullying/abuse is okay? Are you one of the examples on here you were referring to?
I'm a lesbian and I would generally just refer to myself as gay, as would a lot of my lesbian friends.
No. The block button exists, these clowns need to learn to use it.
If you run to the press or social media before you run to the Guards, there's a good chance you suffer from Hazel Chu Syndrome. Some people seems as addicted to the negative attention they receive as the trolls are to their response. It's amazing how fast you can make harassment go away at the click of a button, unless clicking it denies you the media attention and likes from people calling you 'stunning and brave' that some of these people clearly crave.
Block and move on.
Hounding? No, I am just asking why a poster chose the name mariab21 when they themselves posted in the Maria Bailey thread when they created the account.
Coincidence?
I have magic beans to sell you...if you are interested.
Using a woman assaulting Varadkar as an example of how hard men have it on a thread about women is pretty low. Let the women have a say without the need for drawing male equivalency (no need to try use such an important topic to score party points either). We know politicians get a hard time this is about the particular abuse women get. Let them at least have the thread. I remember that lady getting pulled onto the lap of that drunken politician in the Dail some years ago. Nasty business.
Plenty of evidence of that here on this forum
You keep making these claims and never have any evidence. Just throwing accusations out is hindering not helping genuine people with genuine cases.
Why do they not agree with me? just because someone is doing it online I am saying they should be treated the same, not to lessen the sentance for someone for someone doing it face to face. Sorry I thought that was clear from my post
You’re hounding another poster to confirm that they’re female and their name and sexual orientation.
Here's 2 women who experienced in person stalking who don't agreewith you https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/munster/arid-40268573.html
Can you be more specific?
It’s always maladjusted men who get involved in this sort of thing. Angry men with emotional issues and, in the majority of cases, tragic lives. Too much time spent on Twitter, Facebook groups, the Journal comments section, and even here. They are losers who would never have the tenacity or work ethic to go into politics or public life themselves, but are happy to abuse people who do.
Good to see a few cases come before the courts recently, and more to come. Lift up the slate and shine a light on these creepy crawlies.
Harassment is harassment. People seem to think online harassment isn't too bad and it is alot worse in person. They should be both in the same category and in my eyes they should be both treated as serious.