Yes there are some homeless people who hang around the city centre asking for money . It's easy to avoid them. They make up a tiny proportion of the population of Dublin
You Could say many parts of Dublin are boring bland and gentrified and many venues that support the arts and music are closing due to high rentals
Many American city's like Los Angeles and New York have 1000s of homeless living in tents due to high rents and the rising cost of building houses regulations require 2 parking spaces for each building in city's driving up housing costs even as gen z are mostly not buying cars relying on uber scooters or public transport junkies go to clinics and get free drugs and they only hang around certain areas you can also shop in shopping centres which have security guards if you want dublins not perfect but what city is?
New York is the best in the US. Which isn’t the capital. Anyway your claim is that to end the anti social aspects of Dublin more money needs to be spent on public transport. That makes no sense to begin with and certainly doesn’t explain why Dublin with better public transport is perceived as more anti social than other cities.
Seattle has the best in the US, but we're in Europe here! I don't know why you're concentrating on my point about public transport being improved, that won't sort out the anti-social behaviour that goes on. The metro police units will and the transport police will.
This thread demonstrates that the money the city makes needs to be redirected back in to the city.
Tourists should be warned that the city centre is dangerous. It must be an awful first impression of Ireland.
I was trying to raise awareness and people bullied. Now, I don't know any other place in the world where civilians are under these irrational threats. I hope the EU is watching all this when it comes to still allow American companies to bring money and labour here due to the Tax Heaven for their EU headquarter. Walking through the centre of this town is a complete NIGHTMARE
You don't know much going by this
It really sounds like you're having a really difficult time in Dublin , it just couldn't be worth this level of stress .
Would it not be worth relocating outside the city ?
Ok, always the SAME 3 USERS, DUBLINERS, bullying and pestering at any post. Just deal with reality
Ring Joe , he'd love that comment from an ol' wan.
I'm not bullying you , I'm being serious.
I’d say with heroin addicts the poster is not far off
Quite frankly, the boardwalk should be demolished at this point..it's beyond redemption.
What bullying and pestering exactly? Ive read this whole thread and only see posters engaging in a discussion. Your opinion is that dublin is unliveable having been here for a short time. Others who have lived here all their lives dont share your opinion. As other posters said, if you find the area you live in now not to your liking maybe consider a move to somewhere that would suit better.
Well, maybe. But property taxes are local and you are probably opposed to that.
there’s a fair amount of defensiveness here. Given the op is a foreigner I think her views should be taken seriously.
No one is bullying you by suggesting you move if you do not like where you live. You could move to another area, or even outside of the city itself. People move all the time for numerous reasons including not being happy where they are, it's the reason I left Frankfurt.
Saying no civilians anywhere in the world are in as much danger as those in Dublin and that the E. U. gets to dictate where companies can set up offices while claiming everyone who doesn't agree with you 100% or asks questions are harassing and attacking you doesn't lend any weight to your arguments and sounds at best hysterical.
Quite simply that sort of population increase in such a small timeframe is a big problem.
but nobody wants to address the route causes of the increases or go about examining how it can be stopped or arrested.
Ireland's population could grow to 5.6m by 2040, requiring 28,000 new homes per annum over the next 20 years, new research by the ESRI has found.
if that happens this country is fûcked.
no money for anything aside from building homes for them. And weekly benefits.
heathcare.. getting worse.
transport.. funding will grind to a halt.
gardai.. we won’t be able to pay for enough, it will become a dangerous kip.
this IS the scenario that the EU facilitates for us... the EU for all it’s done positively has and is dropping the ball on immigration.
I pay massive property tax and I don't have a problem with it. What I do have a problem with is my property tax being redirected to fund other areas outside Dublin.
Again, I'd like to see some of the money Dublin earns being spent on the city to improve it.
From Oxford English dictionary second edition:
'jackeen (________). Anglo-Irish.
[Irish dim. of Jack n.1]
A contemptuous designation for a self-assertive worthless fellow.
1840 Fraser's Mag. XXII. 320 A buckeen, a jackeen, a squireen, or any of the intermediate classes.
1892 Q. Rev. July 138 _Jackeens' loitering about the Dublin Theatres.
1897 Sir C. G. Duffy ibid. Sept. 451 In manner and bearing he is a superb Jackeen.'
Seems to taken an added meaning and life after the welcome Victoria received on her Dublin visit in 1900.
I'd guess all those alive when Victoria visited are long dead , so you really are just flogging a dead horse in the sense that nobody gives a shite what you're talking about , apart from yourself.
Why was Cóbh called Queenstown again?
In her diary, the young queen wrote of her travels. The citizens of Cork and Cobh (which was renamed “Queenstown” in honour of her visit) “gave the royal party a rapturous welcome,”
Queen Victoria wrote: “We drove through the principal streets; twice through some of them; that they were densely crowded, decorated… with flowers and triumphal arches…. that our reception was most enthusiastic and that everything went off to perfection, and was very well arranged.”
I suppose the people of Cork aren't really Irish either. The two most populated counties aren't real Irish!
Well for something that 'nobody cares' about it has triggered a few responses here. People outside Dublin do see it as 'not the real Ireland' just as many see Cork as the 'real capital'
Nobody calls Cork people Jackeens!
I don't know anyone who calls people from Dublin that either
Not surprised if you are from Dublin. It would be used by those outside Dublin sometimes in anger.
I have plenty of friends from other parts of Ireland, smart people don't judge people based on imaginary county boundaries
Always behind hands with a sly snigger, never to a Dubliner face of course! Anyway, moving on from the childish name calling (which is interestingly one sided). I presume, with the horrors and concerns you have for your capital you're all in agreement that the city should take what it earns and put it in to itself. Clean up the streets and bring it up to standard to other modern European cities.
Dublin already has a huge spend on itself. Much needed in many respects but some should be redirected towards sorting out the city centre.
True they have a more modern and descriptive nouns for them.
Cork wouldn't qualify for the new capital anyway, to much open drug dealing taking place, and people being set on fire