The 2021 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭crossman47

What???? I'm not from Mayo but the ref gave them nothing until late on when he had to flash a few cards. Dublin went down a lot in my estimation with their carry on. Sore losers doesn't even come near.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,702 ✭✭✭tanko

Yeah i know alrite but you wouldn’t think he was from Mayo going by the pathetic excuses he was making for the Dublin thuggery today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,232 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

That’s why I think a strong referee is key... physicality is one thing but football is primarily a skills based sport.

i think Kerry will beat Mayo by a couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

80s? 40 years ago? Who even remembers that? Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,807 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Kerry have played absolutely nothing this year. A plucky but limited Tipp and an insipid Cork team. A walkover in the semi would see them having played no real game in a long time. That can't be good for anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

You say 'reputation in tatters' like Lane won't be back next year reffing the semi finals again. Calm down, it's over, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Right on the money.

Dublin disappeared in the second half. So many players went missing. The Dublin corner back line particularly. Headless shooting from distance. A lot of people will be unhappy with the Dessie setup. If the questions weren't loud enough already they will be deafening now.

Mayo ran at them. Well deserved winners.

A basic requirement of a fair shoulder is that it’s to the opponents shoulder not their chin. He didn’t intend the outcome but there should be an responsibility on players going in for a shoulder to ensure it is executed correctly. And if it ends up shoulder to head they should live with the consequences- red all day

Kerry have won many All Ireland titles through a similar system to this. They are well used to beating nothing and showing up for a final. Far better system than playing a good team and getting knocked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭threeball

The biggest problem is kerry won't play pass the parcel for 10mins around the Mayo 45. They'll go for the jugular immediately and at pace and thats hard to defend and harder to hit.

I hope ye can. Kerry coming in cold will be a big help but only if you make the first half count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Didn't stop them when they won those first 30-odd All Irelands

Why not take ownership of your own opinion and not assume you can speak for "honest gaels"?

That doesn’t play with the ‘narrative’.. even though it be true 1000%

i thought the 1990’s was the last era of GAA referees trying to influence outcomes and ‘keeping games alive’.... but sure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭tobefrank321

Mayo can definitely beat Kerry if management make the same brave decisions. The young lads have more than enough for this Kerry team.

I admire Aiden O'Shea as a person but the talisman role doesn't suit him. Too much ball going through him with little end product as we saw again. As an impact sub sure. As a starter a big N.O.

And lumping the ball into the big man at the edge of the square is caveman stuff and kicking away valuable possession which Dublin scored several points off in the first half. Kerry will do the same.

No surprise Mayo turned it around after some brave calls from Horan.

Post edited by tobefrank321 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,807 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Jim 77

Well buddy, today yous are the "culchies".🤣🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,356 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

They were more than appropriate...Mayo were awful in the first half.

Fair play to Mayo, they found a way to get over the line. They were the better team for the last 55 minutes by far. Good game management, which if everyone on here is being consistent, they’ll be lambasted for! They fouled when needed, held up play, made time wasting subs, played keep ball when necessary until Dublin’s heads went. Maybe they’ve finally found that big game winning nasty streak that’s needed.

Dublin were so poor. Lost the head towards the end, but what team at the end of such a winning streak wouldn’t. Small rebuilding job ahead - 4 players short at least as shown by the complete non impact of the subs. No leadership of the bench like we had in years gone by with Daly, Kev Mc etc

Mayo fans mightn’t like this but I think the big moment was O’Shea going off. He was a liability, a passenger, a luxury, whatever. Play an extra runner instead of him and I make Mayo favourites, especially if Kerry don’t have a game. There doesn’t seem to be much hype around them either. Well barring the excitement on here from non Mayo heads, quite bizarre

Lane isn’t competent to ref big games any more. Not going into any decisions but I thought his reaction to the shoulder incident (which I thought was fair) when he didn’t stop the game added petrol to the fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,215 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Tommy Conroy really got Mayo going in that game. He really took the ball hard at the Dublin line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Just to correct you, he did actually intend it. He clearly looked and then followed through. He knew what he was doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Have no skin in the game, football not one of my sports, but I thought Dublin were pretty embarrassing tonight for great champions. You get the impression discipline has collapsed post Gavin.

Some of the hits in that game very cynical. Two that come to mind by both Smalls.

**** hell. Eye on man not the ball. Pure filth. You need filth in a good team but them hits were unacceptable.

Great result for GAA. That will rise other counties and put an end to this Dublin can't be beaten nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Dublin formula was defend like mad, break at pace. Or if opposition defence is set, then hold possession. All well and good, but when the playbook was out the window they had no plan B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭josip

The Gardai will have to give Paddy Prendergast around the clock protection between now and the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,174 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Congrats to Mayo

Now for the love of god do the business against Kerry

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,176 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Giving how long it is since Dublin lost and how awful Mayo were, it was impossible to see any other outcome than a facile Dublin win.

Don’t think anybody thought Dublin couldn’t be beaten... they’ve been taken to replays, what twice in the last 6 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭shockframe

Stuff what people say about Football. There's a good reason it's such a nationwide obsession. That was electrifying drama for a finish.

Dublin were probably helped along by Covid I reckon.The 5 in a row was the point where it started to slip. What a team they were though. Iconic.

Congrats to Mayo. Heroic after all looked lost after 35 minutes.

Post edited by shockframe on

Had a feeling there wouldn't be any holding back on Dublin when you revealed in advance that you had "no skin in the game"! Protesting too much.