Really? the “up da Ra” shouts at last election.The potential TD driving around playing rebel songs on the border. The list goes on. Give us a break Francie….
Gas, you don't know what you are reading.
How can you reconcile that with what she says here:
"It doesn't name terrorist groups or organisations," she told the NME in 1994. "It doesn't take sides. It's a very human song.
And what you have quoted?
I'll tell you how, she was thinking about the RA when she wrote a song intended to criticise all violence against the innocent.
Sinn Fein are anti violence and PIRA are gone as a violent threat.
Did you miss the last 25 years or is it you that is stick in the past afraid to move on or allow thesee young people move on? I ask because it suits some to hang stigma's over people's heads to their own sinister ends.
Take it you haven't read either so.
The song doesn't name either but she herself said she was referring to the IRA in both interviews. You only quoted a section of it.
How is is trashing her when it's want she said at the time?
SInn Fein using a song which was against violence, Sf and the PIRA trying to use for their own propaganda. As I said at the time will they apologise, seemingly not based on the spin here.
Spouting about Sands just confirms how desperate you are
We know she was critical of the IRA and we know the genesis of the song was Warrington but she was also critical of all perpetrators of violence and the toll it took on innocents.
Again:
You disgrace her by claiming she was writing only about one organisation and was taking a side.
Where was I critical of either the kids or SF on this?
She was critical of the IRA in both the Vox and NME interviews . She said the 'it's not me' was a reference to the IRA. That they didn't represent her in the VOX one and called them pathetic in NME.
Google Dolores O Riordan Zombie NME 94.
There is a pdf of the magazine. Don't know how to link it. Same website has the VOX one.
All he did was underscore the positivity by quoting Sands prediction...it was you and others who had the huff about it,
If you missed it, the whole reason this discussion is ongoing was because a SF TD make a faux paux
The desperation to link this to FG and Leo is hillarious
Remind me who took this event and try to score political points Francie?
No amount of SF spin will change that but it is funny to watch it in action
Could a post be any more self serving?
You are completely trashing the artist here to get a political point scored for your side.
Not to mention the young people singing it with confidence and no small amount of hope.
She said it was influenced by the Warrington bomb in interviews at the time. She was very critical of them in the NME interview Francie quoted. Said they should of fought man to man and not plant bombs where ordinary women and kids can be killed, they might think they are getting a point across but to her they were pathetic.
While the song is ambiguous , she wrote it from that perspective.
Wouldn't agree with Francie that it can only be seen as an anti war / conflict song. Fair enough if not aware of the background .
Also her meeting her soon to be Canadian husband while on tour in the US with Duran Duran had nothing to do with it?
The lyrics are dated, especially since the GFA. The IRA signed the GFA by the way. Kinda **** on the use of the song lyrics in 2021 :)
I think it's in some folks heeeaaad.....
How many left Ireland because they wanted a job, to be able to afford a family and a place to live over the generations?
We could all do a circular tit for tat on burning people out of their houses, but I can't see a link to Irish politics in 2021 including Sinn Fein.
Yes the lyric fit more with FG supporters and the anti-Irish than anyone in Sinn Fein IMO. Not calling you FG, just giving my opinion on your comment.
To be clear I don't think all Unionists are as hateful and anti Irish as some of those claiming to be all for a UI, but not Irish culture, language and maybe if we join the commonwealth :)
Banging on about the troubles because Varadkar found himself in bother again or hurting because SF did well in the election. Might as well have a Fine Gael thread and fill it with posts about Collins butchering people and the racists/antisemites in the FG of that period and later. Not really 'current affairs'.
She was. She moved to Canada because of a threat of being kidnapped by the IRA when a lot of people were being threatened with kidnapping or being kidnapped (O'Grady, Dunne, McGuinness).
If that song was specifically about the Warrington Bombing, Tim Parry's father would have known about it at the time (and not just find out recently what the connection is) and the video would have featured some footage of the Warrington bombing.
But particularly, Delores would not have been invited to sing by the Nobel Peace Prize Committee for John Hume & David Trimble's Prize Giving. Its kind of disgusting how some are trying to manipulate the real message of the song for some political 'gain'/SF bashing when it is doing so much good.
Sorry no idea what you are talking about? Was it meant for me?
Old enough to remember when it came out . More of a Nirvana fan myself so never paid it too much attention. I remembered she was critical of the IRA.
So she was talking about Fine Gael supporters anytime the rest of us try discuss a UI or any current politics?
Isn't trying to link what some people did or didn't do last century, pre GFA to today because your team got caught out once again, exactly what she described?
They'll ignore all this and insist it is ONLY about the IRA, when it is about the IRA and anyone who uses violence.
And what is ineffably worse and sad is that they think it is a bad thing the young are singing it in Belfast.
Appalling really that these people seem happier if the young are performing to their stereotypes and tropes.
It was written as a criticism of how innocent people, particularly children, suffer in conflicts.
Have you watched the original official video that went with the song (which by the way, was banned by the BBC (something about it may be taken as an anti Iraq War song) and RTE, seemingly because of the violence in it). If it was all about IRA violence, I'm surprised that both the BBC & RTE were not rushing to show it. The censorship was lifted after the Iraq War. Something similar happened in the US because of the Iraq War. By the way, it was filmed in Belfast under a pretext that they were making a documentary about peacekeeping efforts in Ireland.
Anyway, wasn't it great to see those kids having a great time singing and dancing to that tune in Belfast Feile. I'd say Delores would be thrilled, as should everyone.
The song was written because the PIRA with yeh help of Sinn Fein blew up two kids
Quit with the Sinn Fein rubbish spin, it’s an insult to the woman who wrote it. disgraceful carry on as usual from SinnFein and supporters.
As usual your post is full of hate for unionist, the opposite of what the song wants
You will be asked to provide ‘backup’ for that .
Better give Connolly House a bell and get the recorded records of all these events.
I’ve no doubt they will be extensive and far reaching.🙄
"I don't care whether it's Protestant or Catholic, I care about the fact that innocent people are being harmed," she told Vox. "That's what provoked me to write the song.
"It was nothing to do with writing a song about it because I'm Irish. You know, I never thought I'd write something like this in a million years. I used to think I'd get into trouble."
Instead, the song became an anthem for innocents trapped by other people's violence.
In the 1990s, O'Riordan would regularly dedicate it to the citizens of Bosnia and Rwanda; and her message applies equally to recent attacks in Manchester, Paris and Egypt, to name just three.
THIS ^ is why it is heartening to see the young singing this song. It is anti war/conflict.
And isn't it fantastic kids (not just from west belfast) but all over N Ireland can get together and sing it with not a care in the world?
Meanwhile the 12th weekend, we will say no more
It was written as a criticisim of the IRA.
Particularly offended that terrorists claimed to have carried out these acts in the name of Ireland, O'Riordan asserted: "The IRA are not me. I'm not the IRA. The Cranberries are not the IRA. My family are not. When it says in the song, 'It's not me, it's not my family,' that's what I'm saying. It's not Ireland, it's some idiots living in the past".
Would yous not think without the ira,there would be no prospect of a utd ireland,as the british wouldnt have stopped attacking catholics until they had em all forced out of 6 counties
Little point in aspiring for a utd ireland,while ignoring plight and washing hands of nationlists,when its politically expedient to do so
100 times this ^
It is an insult to O'Riordan's writing to take that song as anything other than an anti war/conflict song.
Feile Na Pobail once again showing how far ahead of the Never Never Never belligerent Unionist community the nationalist one is.
Able to sing that loud in recognition that it was all wrong and should never happen again.
Meanwhile we have Unionists Ministers inventing terror threats and stoking as best they can loyalist youths to violence.
Thankfully and as predicted the wider Unionist community is not interested in regression either.
fg (and ff to a lesser extent too) have long feigned taking offence at certain republican commemorations north of the border, while at the same time holding official state commemorations for essentially the same things south of the border. this good ira/bad ira is tiresome and hypocrisy.
You need to listen to the lyrics of that song and watch the original video with the song which looks to have been taken in West Belfast/Derry with possibly some of the grandchildren/children of those in the original video dancing and singing to the music of that song at Feile.
Its an anti-war/violence song just in case you don't get it. Delores wrote it after the Warrington bombings where she had been touring. In it she asks for us (Irish) not be blamed for what happened.
But you see, it's not me
It's not my family
In your head, in your head, they are fighting
With their tanks, and their bombs
And their bombs, and their guns
In your head, in your head they are crying
I don't think any of the IRAs had tanks.
Here are the lyrics and video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Ejga4kJUts
Having watched that video, how great it is to see all those kids having a good time now in Belfast to what their parents suffered back then.
The problem is some people, generally Fine Gael supports upset by SF's popularity, try to make every discussion about current opposition in the south, the north and the possibility of a United Ireland about things the IRA did. Like the IRA and SF affiliates last century before the GFA are all a UI or N.I. is about. It's driven by SF's popularity. It's childish IMO.
I agree. Works both ways. Having every discussion go to what the IRA did just brings us in circles and it's designed to get dirt on SF because they did well in the last election. This corrupts any reasonable debate.
When people spread lies or make allegations without any back up, calling them out doesn't make you a shinner either.