I'm sure just like the lads that don't know the Ivory Coast flag from ours, morons are not in short supply across Irish politics.
Parity of esteem.
To be fair, Quinlivan is one of biggest.
Will he apologise to the O’Riordan family?
This is only true,if you view unionism as wanting to oppress natives
Quite a narrow worldview on unionism there mate
Is this acceptable? Or will we have outrage?
Here to stay? How can you be so sure? Remember 'Gilmore for Taoiseach'?
A common theme from the previous few elections is that whoever is in power, the electorate give them a good kicking. SF will be no different when they realise that hot-air, outrage and splutter alone does not run a government never mind a country.
Their new voters will desert them like leaves in the wind once reality hits.
Magic-8 ball indeed!
A nuclear explosion of irony here, do those singing and those SF/PIRA supporters know that the song was about 2 children murdered by the PIRA, and the usual 'whataboutery' that entails such violent atrocities?
"It's the same old theme
Since nineteen-sixteen
In your head, in your head, they're still fighting"
Same ol **** from the usual apologists for political violence.
Their leadership is quite strong and vastly different to gilmore under labour and its policy process is not tied to a leinster hous/media bubble(ie party of activists)
Lads thinking things are ever going back to ff and fg pretending to be opposition to one and other,are like people who's wife left em and still havnt accepted it
Rightly or wrongly,at least people have a viable alternative to stand up to their extravagance now
😉😁 FG and FF etc only exist because of 'political violence'.
1) A typical glib and banal comment from someone who defends the murder of children
2) This thread is nothing to do with FG and FF
3) The comment has nothing to do with the insensitive tweet and the irony of people singing a song decrying murder of children, while singing 'Up da Ra' in the next minute
The Labour party was not a party of activists? You don't know anything about the Irish Labour party so.
FF/FG formed out of a succesful campaign to get British rule out of the Republic
What have Sinn Fein and the PIRA achieved? Apart from burning to death the odd mother with her child watched? Or blowing up children?(which the song is about)
Political violence in an Irish context has EVERYTHING to do with this thread and this particular discussion. FF members arrived to the first sittings of the Dáil armed ffs. Original members of both parties killed and supported killing and violence to get their political ends.
That crowd singing that song fulfilled the prophecy of Bobby Sands, that is what Quinlivan was referencing and he is right.
Sands made his prophecy precisely because he observed how the awful tragedy of political violence that gave birth to the state and the partitioned one he was unfortunate enough to live in, was forgotten about by the south and the world moved on, AS IT HAS ALWAYS DONE everywhere that conflict/war takes place from the beginning of time.
I do know about the labour party,what with coming from generations of trade unionists (see agri labour strikes ,circa 1924-waterford and its effects),and from strongest trade union part of ireland
The fact labour party couldnt muster a canditdate from waterford city for last election...could barely manage 700 or so first preferences iirc in watefford city in LE2019,should tell yous enough about their commitement to activism and connections to.the ground
In last recession,while money lenders wete terrorising single mothers and those on welfare here,labour were in the dail sneering that protesters had iphones....likes of john hearne.stood up for em,and forced the gardai into action at great personal risk
"FF/FG Formed after a successful campaign to get British rule out of the Republic"?
(This would be the Republic that was only formed after the British withdrew from 26/32 counties it had occupied.)
How is it possible to be so wrong about a pretty significant event in the states formation FFS. 🤦♂️
🤣🤣
Its obviously satire
Satire or clearly someone who doesn't have the slightest notion what they're on about.... Dudley was obviously at the back of the class doing playing tic tac toe during basic history lessons. Words fail me. 🤣
FF and FG formed as parties because the British had been removed, would they have formed if the British still ruled? No
I could post a full history but on a phone so I thought the above was ok, seemingly not
Answered already
No need for the "full history" just the specific period of time that the Irish Republic was "under British rule"
Don't you recall posting this?
Cant help feeling somewhere along the line, I seem to have been deprived having this period of time in our nation's history explained to me in various history lessons over the years.....
you pulled that out of your backside Dudley and are now trying to backpedal away from it.
They have exposed the power swap for what it is - a grubby greasy fumble in the till to maintain power.
The emergence of SF from political violence (like FF and FG) as a third force in Irish politics will give politics integrity here. No longer will the power swap be able to do things like they did after the last election - i.e. completely con the electorate by promising NOT to govern with each other and then doing precisely that.
if you think so, no skin off my nose
I was responding to another poster and it’s clear what I meant. If you want to discuss details of my education v yours then I suggest we take it to another thread more suitable
Still waiting to hear what PIRA and SF achieved?
So all the murders in the North, South and England they have managed to expose the power swap?
I think PBP and Social Party, etc will say they have exposed the power swap as well without killing thousands of innocent people
It's not clear what you meant though, what you posted was an oxymoron, and you dont even have the wit to see it.
The PIRA were formed because of the conditions in the north.
You seem to be sneering at those who got left behind in the 6 counties after the creation of the Republic we live in.
"Ha ha, we got our 26 back (after a violent campaign btw), WTF did those lads get for their other 6" ? Looks a bit like goading and triumphalism to me, keep at it, your online persona is marvelous.
I suggest not making statements about history your not up to speed on.
SF the political party that emerged has exposed the power swap, the others were all happy enough at taking their turns at taking scraps from the various sham coalition tables and being decimated at the next election because they took the fall. Rinse and repeat.
Because SF are now in the picture the power swap have had to have a confidence and supply arrangement and have now tacitly merged as one in order to maintain the power.
Signal achievement of SF in my opinion and I am on board as a voter for them.
The IRA, were involved in a conflict/war in which people where killed by all sides, and depending on your view achieved/didn't achieve for their people. I suppose you need to look at who the 'people' rewarded electorally for that achievement? Knock yourself out spinning that one.
The post Is clear to me.
Sneering? Goading? Triumphalism?
Incorrect on all.
Good spin, straight out of the Sinn Fein book of spin.
Don’t worry you already answered the question. Thank you
Why did I know you would just simply dismiss the point?
Which part of what I said was 'spin'.
Which point? The last few points are just a party political broadcast. Straight out of the Sinn Fein book of spin
You might think murdering innocent men, women and children is something to mock but I certainly don’t. Saying it was worth killing thousands of people just to get one over on FF/FG
Edit: and before you start about misrepresentation etc, I asked what all those murders had achieved and your answer was it exposed the power swap. To me that is mocking all those poor people who died