Well, once again we are at the 'asking you to back-up' what you are saying. I will condense it into a question for you:
Are you saying that my argument was different on the RIC? My argument was that a state commemoration was entirely inappropriate for this organisation as it violently assisted in trying to suppress the very state that was proposing to commemorate it, while denying state commemoration to others.
I had zero issue and actually pointed out that NOBODY had any problem with relatives continuing to commemorate the RIC/Black and Tans as they have for decades.
If I 'spun' any differently on that issue YOU NEED to back it up.
What?
The only conclusion to be drawn from that post is that you expect Sinn Fein to misuse state apparatus to spy on private citizens. I would have to agree that I share that fear.
Interesting logic. You are against any state commemoration for an organisation if it violently assisted in trying to suppress the very state that was proposing to commemorate it. You do know that rules out any future state commemoration of any actions by the PIRA.
Magic 8 ball says: "Sinn Fein haven't been in government"
It's time to make your peace with the fact that SF as an electoral force are here to stay. It's also probably time to make your peace with the fact that FG aren't viewed by most of the electorate as you want them to be viewed.
What are you talking about?
Im saying that FF and FG will be shredding all there dodgy dealings lying about the place before SF have access to them
The next decade and a half will see a series of governments predicated on the 1948 government which saw different parties come together to keep out the malignant politics of De Valera. Similarly, there will be a number of coalitions which will come together to keep out Sinn Fein for similar reasons.
He died on hunger strike and was 23 years old. That is very emotive situation for republican families. I just looked up McElwee. He was serving a 20 year sentence for murder (unlike Soldier 'F' etc. who have never faced a court). The charge was reduced to manslaughter which suggests this poor woman wasn't a target. I think the US and British Army refer to something like this as ''collatoral damage''.
You have said that people will be destroying their phones so that SF won't have access to them.
You are therefore predicting that SF will come to power, break every data protection rule in the EU, and go after the phones of their predecessors. That is quite a scary proposition for democracy. That you don't even realise what you are saying is even scarier.
I said i believe they will be getting rid of phones to cover up dodgy deals (we already know the gardai have some of these burner phones in the leak investigation)
I dont see anything undemocratic there
This is the stuff of the wishing well. FF are primed to do business with SF once Martin shuffles of the stage and everyone within a 5 mile radius of Leinster House knows it. Labour / SDs / PBP already are willing. Greens? Who knows.
FG are practicing cross your fingers politics now. The needle has moved and there is an acceptance across the political spectrum that SF will be at the wheel sooner rather than later. It's time to reconcile yourself too Blanch.
FG are going to have to come up with a better strategy than "we iznt the Shinnerz". The cupboard is well and truly bare unfortunately.
If the troubles hadnt occured,that lad wouldnt be in jail
Little point in wailing senselessly while refusing to acknowledge,he got caught up in a war
Nobody made him do anything, it was his own responsibility and his own decision to bomb those people.
I don't see the link to SF coming to power which you have put forward. In a democracy, you can't suddenly go after your political opponents with charges once you get into power. The fact that you think that is likely to happen shows the contempt you have for democracy and human rights.
If there is wrongdoing, or alleged wrongdoing, the Gardai investigate it, regardless of who holds the reigns of power.
Taking insensitivity to new levels, describing women killed in firebombs as collateral damage.
noone said they did?
But if the troubles werent on,he'd not be getting involved in planting bombs,i think fair play to sf for not bending knee and refusing to commerate our patriot dead.....we gave long enough being sneered at for attending easter commerations/werent necessary...until all of a sudden they were ok to have again
Its difficult to fathom critism from people whom wear the poppy openly,given what the british have been upto here and elsewhere in the world
no 23 year old should be swept up into a wave of political violence again.
(yanno type you egged on with your cheerleading the dup wanting chief constable to resign few weeks ago over a funeral...quite how or why yous feel your in a position to critise is beyond me,those whom encourage through rethoric,carry everybit as much blame imo
Don't think he was intending to bomb ''those people.'' Looks like the bomb went off accidentally and blinded him in an eye.
..............''In October 1976, McElwee took part in a planned bombing blitz on the town of Ballymena. Along with several colleagues, he was transporting one of the bombs, which exploded prematurely and blinded him in his right eye.[1] Following his arrest, he was charged and sentenced to 20 years' imprisonment for possession of explosives and the murder of Yvonne Dunlop, a 26-year-old woman who was burned alive when one of the firebombs destroyed her clothes shop, Alley Katz.[1][2] His murder charge was reduced to manslaughter on appeal, although the original jail term stood.[citation needed]
In prison he became involved in the blanket protest.[1] He joined the 1981 Irish hunger strike and died on 8 August 1981 at the age of 23 after 62 days on the strike.[3] ............
Separate incidents according to my recollection, but maybe someone more familiar with PIRA atrocities would be able to clarify.
Who needs facts and logic though?
What will happen is some of the stuff that has been hidden from us plebs by FFG will come out. Stuff like all the info on the Dublin-Monaghan bombings and the depth of collusion with British during the troubles by the Irish Government.
Absolutely disgusting
How come?
If there is a UI, it will be a new state blanch not a takeover.
BTW, for the record and also expressed by me before...because of our history, personally, I wouldn't be commemorating any side. And I think if a UI is achieved a day of commemoration for ALL who died and suffered would be the appropriate thing, with each allowed to commemorate as they see fit.
ah classy as usual, from an official SF account...
Mask slips again…..not a good day on Twitter
What 'mask'?
SF has never hidden their opposition to Unionism and what it stands for.
I wouldn't get too caught up in mixing up the flag, even the Taoiseach can make these types of gaffes.
That tweet wasn't about opposing Unionism, it was about denying identity to unionists.
And I believe that if a border poll is resoundingly defeated, a day of commemoration for ALL who died and suffered would be the appropriate thing, with each allowed to commemorate as they see fit, and the constitutional issue would be put aside forever more.
Another crass ignorant moron.
😁😁 why would the constitutional issue go away after one poll blanch?