Alfie Lyons is dead.
Ian Bailey is alive
Ian has to be found guilty beyond reasonable doubt to be legally not presumed innocent.
Pointing out a dead man had means, motive and opportunity and himself had injuries consistent with a violent struggle casts reasonable doubt.
This is from an advice leaflet on citizen's rights
Back to the buying bleach sighting.
Maybe the ‘partial proof’ is that another person, other than the one who made the ‘admission’ bought or supplied the chlorine mentioned in another article?
Is there anything in the public domain linking this old guy's account to the homicidal Garda (or to any particulart suspect)?
Maybe a solicitor or Garda can confirm but it would be a fairly oppressive state where you could be held regularly for 24 hours with no charges.
Yeah a lot of the pearl-clutching talk about the 'West Cork drug scene' in this thread is remiscent of this
If you want to think that, that’s fine but just a few pages back you are heavily hinting you think Alfie Lyons might have been involved, had a ‘convenient’ excuse for having a bandaged hand (where is this corroborated?) or for forensics finding traces of him at the scene of the murder and you also wondered if the gate dispute ever escalated to having the gardai involved. I don’t accept your hypocritical criticism.
You are basically saying he is not legally innocent because you don't think he is innocent.
The legal system doesn't work like that. You are nothing more than part of a digital lynch mob.
The investigation has not concluded. No prosecution has been brought forward, that’s different. I don’t know if IB did it, only the person or people who were there know that. There’s no physical evidence that Ian Bailey or anyone else was there when the murder took place.
I agree with Judge Moran that the various witnesses were telling the truth, and as Judge Moran pointed out, some ‘confessions’ may just have been bravado. I also agree with Judge Hedigan that it would have been dereliction of duty if gardai had not arrested him based on the information in the investigative file at that time. I think the jury made the right call when it rejected Marie Farrell’s new story about gardai pressuring her and making her sign blank statements. These are all legitimate, transparent institutions of the state.
Oh sorry got carried away.
I feel like the person who broke in is the main suspect simply because that's a criminal connection to the property.
I’m aware of it only from the article by Gemma O’Doherty, I’d be very interested to hear of any other sources or even any locals on here.
I only know what I’ve read in publicly available articles and books.
You're familiar with the allegations obviously. You've read what I've read,
You're mistake is you've made your mind up with zero evidence. Do I think Ian Bailey did it? Probably, but I can see theres loads to suggest he didn't.
Like with this fiesta that was seen at 7.30am. Locals say a local cop drove one sure, but Jules' car was an 87 which means it might have had a red reg. So the guy who was nearly overtaken could be mistaken about the colour of the car. Maybe it was the cop, maybe it was Ian. I havent a clue!
But you know everything lol
I don't think that's Bailey's son. He was divorced in 1983 and the boy was born in 1986. Crazy story though. Raped and murdered his own great-grandmother.
The official investigation into Ian Bailey concluded with the DPP deciding there was insufficient evidence to prosecute him.
Therefore he is innocent.
Endlessly accusing him on here would rather infer the accuser believes there is some dark, unseen force operating in the Irish justice system to shield Bailey for some unknown reason.
As far as I can ascertain that child was born after the parents divorced. He was registered in the mother's maiden name and nowhere near Cheltenham.
Don't think so. if you are arrested tomorrow you can be held for 24 hours in total. You can be arrested next month for the same crime and held for 24 hours in total.
If you are held for 12 hours tomorrow it does not mean they only have 12 at your second arrest hours next month
I wonder if this witness is the person 'who now lives in Europe' who the elderly local claimed he discussed the matter with a year ago. Gardaí would need the cooperation of another country and that country's police to interview a witness in another country.
It's about 100mtrs down to the gate,
not that I think that's what happened.
https://www.google.com/maps/dir/51.5298015,-9.6762612/51.5294986,-9.6760448/@51.5296793,-9.6760572,154m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m2!4m1!3e2
The vagrant from even further west than Sophie who'd broken into her house if that's true, why might he have been living out there alone without money for food?
Just found out old news that Bailey's son in England went violentally criminally insane on his own grandma, wth
So, is the current theory that a Garda did the murder and blackmailed someone to help him clean the bloody clothing? Presumably his uniform which perhaps had to be accounted for, couldn’t just dump it and ask for a replacement from the station without explaining what happened to it and draw suspicion on himself?
And the theory continuing from above, that the person being blackmailed confided in the old man now giving the new statement, and the old man had also told his story to someone living abroad?
The next question is what could be the partial evidence to prove it in that scenario?
Intriguing development. Hopefully there is more to come from this lead.
It was the turkey who attacked Ian Bailey earlier that day.
Where is the source for this information on a local Garda who drove a blue fiesta?
No, it’s 24 hours total unless an extension is applied for and granted in court. It’s explained in the table on this page: https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/justice/arrests/detention_after_arrest.html
That is true but i was replying to someone who said the person giving info to the garda may be in danger
The local guard who is suspected by some locals was known to drive a fiesta similar to the one seen driving at 7.30am. It's not surprising this wasnt followed up by the gardai in my opinion.
I think it is obvious the attack began at the house. She went out and was struck and bled. Touched herself where she bled,blow to the head probably, and then tried to get back in hence her blood on the door. She failed to get in or maybe the attacker pulled her away from the door so she made a run for it. I do not see any logic to someone going down to open a gate in near freezing weather with night clothing and do not see why any one arriving would expect a woman to walk 200 yards, JS says it is, to open a gate. The driver would get out and open it.
I don't think the killer ever went into the house, there would be some gravel or mud from his shoes. There was nothing
New details in a Sunday Times article today I can't fully read as it's behind a paywall, here's an excerpt:
"Gardai are trying to establish if they have legal grounds to interview a witness who might be able to help their investigation into the murder of Sophie Toscan du Plantier, the French film producer beaten to death in west Corin December 1996.
Last week gardai interviewed a man who claims one of his friends admitted helping a suspect dispose of incriminating evidence using chlorine in the days following du Plantier’s death.
The man, who is in his seventies, first made a statement to the gardai about six years ago but made a further statement last week. He was interviewed on Friday about his recollection of a conversation with the witness, which took place in a café in Cork in the summer of 2001."
He cannot answer any questions and just moves the goalposts to avoid it
I still think it was the stoned goats. Perhaps they came back and killed Alfie to tie up loose ends!