Wonder when the review will be published?
I don’t go down rabbit holes Francie………. 😂
No doubt there would be plenty scaremongering about it during a review while ignoring that intimidation goes on right through the normal system.
Thats effecrively over though,with no murder in last 2.5 years?
its left the kinehans on brink of collaspe,as they have so many in jail now to fund vs money makers,its going one way for em...portogese/romanian gangs starting to overtake em
(your poll to show support was immediately after the hotel shootings,if your relying on continous high profile incidents like this to continue to perpetuate it,im afraid yous have run out of road,as that day is gone)
I took her to mean, not necessarily abolish it'. 'Review it'. Then take whatever action the review suggests/recommends.
Hutch / Kinahen feud will galvanise that support in my opinion.
'Puts Merriongate into perspective'
Sorry Brendi, if you weren't trying to vindicate, why introduce it into a thread where no-one was discussing it.
Tbf....its kinda obvious yous want to use it to 'vindicate leo' hence yous line that it puts merriongate into perspective🤣🤣🤣
Attempts to run to claim its about scc,when not referened in the orginal post,look the desperate scramblings of a blind man lost,
MLD has said she doesn't want it abolished. Think it was for a TV3 interview.
Thanks Francie, so you do your usual twisting to infer from the post that it was done to “vindicate Leo
Your posting content is not shy of referring to events a lot further back(and no, I’m not going to trawl back to find evidence)
It was done to highlight the need for the SCC in these events and to contrast the hypocrisy of a certain party in their view of ‘events’.
As these people themselves said “They haven’t gone away you know”
To me murder trumps a rubber chicken event no matter what rules exist or existed.
2016?
There's an awful lot of water gone under the bridge about Garda integrity since then.
Anyway, I think of this a bit like I think of the UI poll...attitudes would change significantly after a proper discussion of the issues.
I would hope SF in government would begin that discussion.
A 10 year old article, about a 42 year old event.......
For clarity, I wasn't even a pebble on the beach when that happened, nor will the vast vast majority of the people who are now voting sinn fein.
ancient newspaper articles about provo activities from 40+ years ago....... I'm now left wondering though, did brendan just out himself as director of FG election campaigns?
Poll wasn't that long ago and I've seen nothing to suggest support has changed.
Wondering if it's a case of SF watering down their opposition to it because of lack of public support?
Do you expect SF to abolish during the next government?
Why would hayes not be supported,he never set foot in the bank?
Special branch conducted emselves terribly in aftermath of this attack,smashing up cottages and homes of old ira members,whom.they suspected of sympathy....never so much as an apolgy from the government from it either
Every day is an anniversary of some awful event during the conflict war Brendi.
But I rise to my feet in applauding the use of a victim, and a 2011 newspaper article (from a fairly spiteful presidential campaign) about something that happened 40 years ago to vindicate Leo etc .
That's pretty dogged stuff, I have to say.
Today is the anniversary I believe.
Wonder who was the SF dude who supported Hayes was.
Terrible event and puts the “Merriongate” ‘incident’ in proper perspective I believe.
RIP.
Very good point.
Public support allowed an awful lot of stuff it wouldn't now.
Public support is neither here nor there,nazis,trump,bashir al assad and biden were elected by public support and perform all sorts of human rights abuses....its a poor excuse to justify human right infringements
If public support allowed for genocide of travellers,would you cheerlead that too?
It shouldnt exist,isnt being reformed,time for waiting about is done,pull the plug....its political farce an emergency legislation renewed annually for a confluct over with quarter of a century
I wonder.
The public have seen what some Gardai up to the top level are capable of. Given the powers the SCC gives them, I wonder would the public be entirely comfortable with that.
Had a look on Google and the last opinion poll (2016) had support for it at 67%. Even the majority of SF voters were in favour of it.
Can't see any reason why support would of dropped in the last 5 years.
SF stance has softened over the years and can't see them going against public opinion and getting rid of it.
Dont be so naive,nothing ever changes in this country,their never going to overhaul it,have zero intention of ever actually doing so,use bombastic rethoric (never facts/logic) to scream down any opposition to it
Its time to disband it,its been long enough pricking about waiting for reform
Nothing bad about Sinn Fein in tomorrow's front pages, (they usually come out after a Govt scandal) but a certain other party is front page ....
Who will Mary Lou be asking questions to in the dail come Sept? The Leak?
Overhaul the whole system...its creaking.
Seems like a practical solution to me. We have some serious drugs gangs in this country. I still think it's necessary.
What's your stance on it? Abolished straight away or independent review?
No idea why people who pontificate about rights at the drop of a hat can stand over it tbh. But then the same power swap allows Shannon to be used and pretends we are neutral. Hypocrites running the country maybe?
So why is it there in your opinion?
I'm saying pretending it is there because of 'intimidation' is a mis-direction.
the british army used be sent here to oversee exporting of food during the famine....a primary school knowledge of irish history would expose the obvious flaw in your taught logic
So your saying it's political because it doesn't apply to all cases?
The logic is, clearly intimidation isn't the problem. They want to retain the powers that bring the SCC in to issues with human rights organisation.
If jurors being intimidated was what they were really concerned with your idea would have been implemented long ago.