Its an achievement to get so many basic facts wrong in 2 sentences🤣🤣
The scc has no place in modern world,its not fit for purpose and you cant claim to support human rights,while allowing it to exist here...it hasnt been reformed despite promises to do so,time has come to disband it...sf are a joke to not vote againest it,id rate pbp higher than em for at least opposeing it
Anyone whom lacks principles,likely lacks character required to lead
Didn't live in the country, wanted to know if the Garda heading the case could be trusted.
Fact is, he was a republican, he gave the breakthrough evidence. Alive and well and unmolested.
Meanwhile Mark and Co. build a myth.
Then you look at the Garda scandals and note who was doing the 'intimidating' there.
Didn't he have to go to Gerry Adams to get permission to speak to the Gardai?
The Gardai, through investigation, identified him as someone who would have valuable information. When they apporached him, he told them he had to get the permission of Gerry to speak to them. Hardly class that as coming forward.
No, the Gardai did not find him through 'investigation'.
The court was told that he contacted a SF party member saying he had information, that member put him in touch with Mr Marry the lead investigator who stated that his information was vital to their break through.
Another round of mis-representation of the facts there from you blanch
Nonsense, you have never explained precisely why the SCC is in breach of human rights or explained why jury trials are so associated with former British Empire colonies.
Jury trials are open to bias, discrimination and intimidation, all of which could breach the human rights of victims and criminals.
No, my account is consistent with the Irish Times report, and I'll take that over your version of the world every day.
From the Irish Times
The break in the case came in February 2017 when the witness contacted Louth Sinn Féin Cllr Antóin Watters through Facebook and told him he had information. Mr Watters put him in touch with Mr Marry.
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/sinn-f%C3%A9in-witness-consulted-party-over-aaron-brady-case-before-speaking-to-garda%C3%AD-1.4332502
Can you link to the times article you reckon your bullshït is "consistent" with?
Pat Marry's evidence was clear, he had to go to Darren O'Rourke TD to get the witness to talk. The bullsh!t story that he came forward himself was made up afterwards.
So the bizarre claim you are making goes something like this.
'Garda investigations' led them to identify this witness and they went to Darren O'Rourke TD to get him to get the witness they had identified to talk?
That about right?
Can you back up any of this? Start with the Garda investigation that led them to identify this guy as a witness....
An interesting article on integrated education, something I have championed for a long time.
"Identity in the greater Belfast region, where Alliance is on the rise in electorally significant numbers, has never been more fluid. Outside Belfast, old suspicions lurk. LT suggests up to 72% of SF supporters want kids educated together."
SF's opposition to integrated education is looking like an old policy that they might have to drop.
How about championing backing up your claims? Or withdraw them as without any foundation except in your head?
They don't 'oppose' integrated education. Do your research.
Ive never claimed jury trails are associated with british colonies (they based on common law-type of law used here and in uk btw)
There is no justification for supporting a court,that a politically appointed gaurd can claim.blanch152 is in the ira and that is evidence enough for conviction.....a right to silence deosnt exist,as a refusal to answer questions,allows the gaurds to infer guilt and present it as evidence
With the advancement in technology and surrveilence,the above are too repressive for modern era and since it hasnt been reformed,it should be disbanded,they have had long enough
Not fit for purpose you say...
It won't be too hard for you to fire up a few examples of it convicting the wrong people so.
Oh look at the fluffy rabbits over here thats in an integrated warren or something SF blah blah.....just lets get away from that pesky Irish Times thingy
This only mere weeks ago
Hopefully he takes the state,judges and gaurds involved for all they have and all their pensions
The "evidence" in this case is simply farcial and should never seen inside of a courtroom,no mind convicting someone
How or why it wasnt reformed after this is beyond comprehemsion
From the charter......
Do not post any material that you know or should know is hateful, abusive, harassing, false and/or defamatory, inaccurate, vulgar, obscene, profane, threatening, invasive of a person's privacy, or illegal.
Great night in Belfast tonight at the Feile, some difference to the 12th
Thats Catholic Belfast, celebrating our land not burning flags on bonfires
Case #1.
I believe the legal terminology is "Got off on a technicality".
Case #2.
This is exactly how the SCC should work.
Case #3.
Irish Council for Civil Liberties and O' Gorman.
Two right beauties there no doubt.
Stand over this farce all yous want mate,to my eyes it deosnt work and has no place in 21st century....an inabilty to reform,leads to conslusion,it should be disbanded
Would you be happy for your friends and relatives to be convicted on evidemce available in case 2,do you feel level of physical evidemce presemted (essemtially a pipe with a hole drilled in it,contents of usb not shared-was dates/times of commerations/protests) is enough to lock people up for yesrs??
SF gave him a wide berth this time. Feile helping the "sports washing" of Daniel Kinahen is not a good look all the same.
What's the alternative that still protects innocent jurors?
Would you want to be a juror on a case involving the likes of the Dundons, Kinahens, Slab etc ?
This rise it was introduced to protect juries....it was juries accuiting,clearly guilty people brought it about (most famously a clareman,who had juries shake his hand after being foune innocent)
To my eyes the legislation is outdated,hasnt been updated/reformed,so disband it,its been long enough....hiding behind kinehan,dunden etc is a poor excuse to impede peoples human rights here,or anywhere for that matter
Justing getting rid of it without an alternative plays right into the hands of the criminals.
Have SF or any other groups that are against it ever suggested an alternative?
Mate,they've had long enough to reform it and havnt bothered.....looks to me only option left is disbandment
Sitting on your hands doing nothing,isnt and should never be an option,its renewed annually as emergency legislation,its time to stop pretending it will ever be reformed
SF cant even bring emselves to vote againest it,a farce of a party imo(some of what they stood over in the north is a disgrace too)....the improvements in technology,particularly dna,and surveilence makes it,and its burden proof required,obsolete
Would you willing accept a gaurd walk into court and name yous as a subversive and that being enough to lock yous up for years?
My knowledge of the SSC is superficial but totally agree with a judge instead of a jury in the cases of organised criminal groups such as the IRA or Dundons etc.
Agree with you on that aspect so could see scope for reform but would still want a judge instead of a jury .
Back from Portugal?
Only on a Sinn Fein thread would we have people shouting about “Catholic Belfast”
Still stuck on the 70, another confirmation of how far a United Ireland is away
Having juryless trials is not the issue. The main problem is that there is less of a burden of proof required with the CCC. People can be convicted on the say-so of a Senior Garda without providing any evidence.
On what basis do you agree with a judge instead of a jury?
Its not as if targeting em,was ever beyond reach of paramilitaries etc?
Given judges,and supers (think thats the rank)are politically appointed,is it not rife for corruption/political interference,espailly with burden of proof required??
(The evidence presented vs freddie thompson was v.good and without fault,and would convict anywhere,but the technical burden is forever too low,and open to abuse)
It hasnt been reformed,they wont ever reform ìt (like troubles over with quarter century at this stage),ergo its entirely reasonable to push for its disbandment imo