You seem to think so.
The Monaghan glassman seems to be brought up at regular intervals to throw shade at FG.
Now don’t start up with your usual pedantry as to what this post has to do with SF.
Its an answer to your post, a chara.
Who is the Monaghan glassman?
What is the connectìon with SF?
Wasn't "Monaghan glass man" a sitting Fine Gael (who were in govt at the time) TD when he attacked the fella in the pub?
You need to make like for like comparisons Brendan. I don't know if that man in blanch article was, or is a member of any political party when he got himself in trouble, yet alone one who are currently in government at the time of his troubles.
He wasn’t when SF posters on this thread used the incident to vilify FG.
which is the kernel of poster Brady’s response.
But he was when he committed his crime, right?
You just used him as a cornerstone for your "let's not be stereotypical argument" , and are now trying to back away from it.
The fact is he was a sitting TD of a party in govt when he broke a glass and attacked one of his own constituents. Had he of left FG years before you might have a point. Right now though, your on the road to nowhere, your at nothing.
C, you don’t understand the context, and frankly I haven’t the time or energy to waste on explaining it.
So, sorry my friend, those who the post was directed at will know the context
Thank you for your contributions.
I get the cryptic clue now.
The former TD has nothing to do with FG now as far as I know.
And the only reference I make to him was to ask 'is it ok to assume that all of FG were the same as him when he was a member, likewise McElvaney.
Of course the answer is No.
So any chance one of you can tell us what the connection is to SF here. Is he a member, was he ever a member?
I can't think of any republican commemoration of any attack. They tend to commemorate atrocities committed against the nationalist community and the deaths of former activists.
Just checked out Aidan Grew and it looks like he may be involved with the Real IRA - certainly not PIRA. He was tried for membership of RIRA in 2002 and interestingly enough, defended by Ivana Bacik. He won his case.
https://www.irishtimes.com/news/trial-of-three-on-real-ira-charge-collapses-1.1304871
See post above.
Clue is the last line
Quare bang of desperation off ffg,trying to throw mud at shinners about this🤣🤣🤣
Like,they have a variety of deeply flawded policies,and instead of trying to discuss em,ffg rant about some dissident,fag smuggler.....when in reality,ffg could virtually wipe out smuggling overnight here by pushing for a border poll,and wipe out fuel smuggling,with stroke of a pen without a border poll....but state makes too much off it😚
Real IRA? So more likely to be diametrically opposed to SF.
Gosh these lads and Maryanne have no issue putting their two feet in it and wallowing about again and again.
You will be pleased to hear that I neither want, nor do I need you to explain anything to me.
You made a silly boo-boo when you referenced this "glass man".
The point is, just because he actually was a sitting govt TD when he attacked a patron in a pub, doesn't mean the rest of FG go around doing likewise, same goes for Farrell and Bailey and there compensation claims, etc etc. Dug a hole for yourself achara.
Point is that the person to whom the point was directed at got it..
That was flagged early on.
You done taken the wrong turn.
soz, dude.
You didn't have a 'point'.
If you did the 'person' hasn't received it yet.
Well if you didn’t you answered the point I was making, a chara
You lied about how I referred to the glass wielding TD, and I corrected you. That's not a 'point'.
Sure, everyone does it, so it's grand. Nothing to see here.
I know you guys have barked up the wrong tree again.
Lack of knowledge letting you down - Real IRA and the IRA? - put it on your list to look up Mark.
We know SF is against the extradition for anyone in the IRA or the Real IRA, if someone is looking for a link.
Weak.
You didn’t ‘correct’ anyone, a chara.
He was involved with the Real IRA subsequent to his membership of the PIRA, a time when he was fully supported by Sinn Fein. Quite the nasty character.
So, diametrically opposed to the direction SF and the IRA went in. No connection or relevance to this thread therefore.
Anything else on this?
a branch of the same rotten tree a you well know francie , where did he get training indoctrinating and contacts from
has the exact same aims as sf ira just has a slightly differing less patient view as to how they should go about it is all
I wouldn't agree. Nor would the various agencies monitoring these things.
Seems to me he is a criminal element who attached himself to a cause, when that 'cause' thankfully changed direction he continued his criminal ways.
Let's be clear on this, when he committed terrorist acts, he was a member of the PIRA fully supported by Sinn Fein.
Let's bring the Monaghan glassman, Lowry and McElvaney etc back in here for a moment:
When they committed their acts, they were members of FG and fully supported by them. FG actually still use the services of one of them if it comes to a tight vote or support.
Also: SF don't hide their support for the IRA in the past. Not sure what more there is to say.
Is there anything else of relevance here?
By this logic ffg are from same tree as this chap,aswell, in they both hold same aims (ie utd ireland)
You are equating those acts with terrorism?????? Seriously????? Like WTF?
He was involved in an IRA landmine attack!!! And that is equivalent to Lowry.
Your post is one of the most desperate attempts at whataboutery seen to date. Next you will be telling me that killing people with landmines is ok because Varadkar went to Zappone's do.
No blanch.
Let's try this again.
SF do not deny or recoil away from supporting the IRA in the conflict/war that happened here. They also do not as far as I know see the IRA as 'terrorists'.
Once you grasp that fact and accept it, your life will be much happier.
I.E. You breathlessly ranting about how this guy was once supported by SF is not news or of any import really.