Yes, it certainly is.
But if the intention was to create the impression that it was a crime of passion.....it certainly succeeded.
But yes, you're right, its an unlikely scenario.....
That didn't happen. She had about 50 injuries, including scrapes from briars. She was not struck 50 times with a rock.
Thanks for the input @irishspiderplant A very comprehensive and knowledgeable addition to the thread. You said you may be able to answer questions: can you give more details on this man? Where exactly was he living? Do you have a name?
".. The young French man Sophie was said to be having an affair with, and his parents didn't let on that he was staying with them around the time of the murder. He was never questioned..."
Open to correction but, She did call the husband on that schull visit.
What was the nature of the conversation?
Only she and he know.
Feck, missed comedy hour! The punchline for all those long winded posts about phantom unnamed Garda sergeants, drug smugglers and phantom suspects turns out to be a link to an article by Irelands premier paranoid conspiracy theorist. Welcome to the site, more complete nonsense is exactly what the thread needed. Bailey never changed his story once 🤣
They spoke on the phone after midnight on the night she died. She may have been speaking to him with her light on when Bailey was looking across from Hunts Hill on his way home from the pub.
I doubt they consider completely unsourced speculation about people who we don’t know even exist while getting facts about the actual investigation badly wrong.
The DPP doesn’t even consider the five witnesses who observed IB playing the bodhran in the bar on the night of the murder and who said he had no scratches, including a barman that served him five times. The only witnesses who said he had scratches before the murder lived under the same roof as him and one person in the bar who said he might have had a couple of scratches on one hand. After the murder practically everyone who interacted with him saw scratches and he admitted having them. Even the guy in the local co-op who sold Bailey bleach on Christmas Eve, just your typical festive bleach of course.
Sounds completely made up, no names, no statements, no paper trail, no news articles.
Someone is plotting to kill me, I better tell everyone I’m going to a specific and very remote location on my own for several days. When the hitman shows up, I better be ready to put the boots and bathrobe on so it can all go down outdoors, will avoid getting nasty stains or broken furniture.
The Assassin wants the job to look amateur and unprofessional, a trained killer and knows that many many weapons dry stone from walls etc would be readily available
Why not? It lets the killer know the level of detail and work that the gardai are doing and what level the investigation is at. Ian Bailey wouldn't have access to it ?
What's this about bleach now, that's the first I've heard of it?
You want it to look amateur, if it was carried out with a gun or another method it could make it look like a professional hit
She wandered around remote locations in an easily spotted hire car, why not push her off a cliff or bury her in an unmarked grave? Why leave the body where it will be most likely to be found straight away and identified just as quickly? How does a hitman lure a lone woman out of her house in the middle of the night without breaking in?
He bought bleach at Lowertown Creamery down the road from his house on Christmas Eve, the day after the murder was discovered. The guy serving made a statement to the Gardai. He said he noted nasty scratches on both hands. IB also bought stuff for making a fire, turf I think, which is of course not so surprising in the middle of winter.
Would the extent of her injuries have obsfucated the immediate cause of her death?
It seems strange that such a sustained frenzied attack has left little or no evidence of her killer.
Could it have been a cold and calculated killing followed by an equally cold and calculated framing of it as a frenzied attack while also obsfucating the exact location and cause of death? Is there conclusive evidence that she died where she was found?
The outside for a joint is a nice theory but I've heard it reported that she had armed herself with the hatchet which was used for chopping firewood. Suggests there was a disturbance of some sort she went to investigate. My guess would be a car up the driveway. Not sure how anyone knows she was armed with a firewood hatchet as last time I heard it mentioned, it was that it was missing and never found? Not sure if anyone can clarify
Maybe she did have a joint and was a little paranoid when someone came late unannounced up her driveway so grabbed the hatchet, and things quickly of of hand as she had the life frightened out of her. Similar to yourself would lean on the Garda or the Paris man, as the lead suspects. If the Garda was suspected you'd expect there could be DNA testing of a close relative to check against the other DNA evidence they have.
I think the Garda is the most likely of the two suspects given how extremely negligent the AGS behaviour, and how quick they were only focus on IB. Would also explain the nonsense that is Maria Farrell. AGS had something on them so used her to try to nail IB.
Most likely ran from front door to gate when she realised the danger.
It the mid nineties Irishmen would not normally wear gloves whereas English and most European males wore them as standard.
If it was such a frenzied attack I dont think a drunk IB would have the strength
Can I ask you a question, MoonUnit75?
What is your personal investment in this case?
You have posted elaborate post after elaborate post, page after page, feeling the need to answer every question to your own angle in both threads.
You are not just a regular poster who has a passing curiosity in the murder of this woman.
Can you share with us what drives you to post so much and so often across both threads?
I’m interested in the case, I’ve read a good bit about it over the years. I’ve not posted anything about the case until these two threads were started about two documentaries that were not announced before I joined boards. I’m not sure what you are insinuating, but whatever it is it fits right in with the PCT angle this thread veers into regularly.
I had to laugh when you accused the new poster of 'long winded posts'. You invest a massive amount of effort and time to push your narrative across both threads. I'm just asking you why you take the time and effort to do that.
When I post it’s relevant to the ongoing discussion or directly replying to people quoting me. The new poster dropped three essays, I think they even said a lot of it was pasted from elsewhere, covering practically every conspiracy canard that’s ever been made up. Including the non existent Ban Garda who ‘cleaned up the house’, wiping away fingerprints, when it was established immediately that the house was untouched and no interaction took place in it.
Yeah I get that but do you really need to hit her over the head dozens, scores of times whatever it was to achieve that effect? Would a professional hitman really have preplanned such a gruseome MO?
But what really puts the kibosh on the hired gun theory for me is the failure to make even the most rudimentary attempt to conceal the body. Is a professional really going to massively increase his chances of getting caught just to put the final touches to his 'crime of passion' cover story?
In this scenario it was blunt object and across the head the killer chose the breeze block very carefully and went with it. I'm just not fully convinced it was IB , drunk walking 3k doing that and then drunk walking home without leaving a single shred of evidence behind
He managed to drive home from the pub earlier without hitting a ditch, and according to him and his partner actually spent most of the night writing a puff-piece article about something like the opening of the first Internet cafe in the local area.
Thats grand he drove home, Why did MF see him walking and if he drove to the crime scene surely there'd be plenty of evidence in the car blood etc
You, as always, avoid the question.
You say you are just interested in the case, like us all, yet you take hours out of your day to counter every post.
I'm just asking why.