Seems like the bar staff of the temple bar assaulted two teenagers Monday night. Kicking them in the head and using a ashtray as a weapon. After this incisdent and the blatant disregard the temple bar had for the rules at the start of the pandemic. Is it time that the temple bar's trading license is revoked ala Berlin's?
Video of assault: https://www.instagram.com/p/CR59UVtj4oW/?utm_medium=copy_link
Exactly let's wait to find out
Got a lot of reports to work through. Thread is being closed and may not be re-opened
Its common sense. Im sure they have legal advice telling them to keep silent.
defending themselves is fanning the flames? Do you work there?
Why would they comment. It only fans the flames. The smart thing is to say nothing and let the guards sort it.
Yeah they should probably release a statement at this stage. Someone has obviously advised them not to engage maybe because it admits wrongdoing. They are probably worried about a court case now.
lol, that would be optimistic.
The bars silence on the whole thing is not doing them favours
Crazy bit of business.
They might spray the building with water guns I’d imagine.
vandalism
Like what?
If there isnt some degree of justice here, the pub will be on the receiving end of some payback I fear from the skating community from what im reading in their circles
Well if their is evidence that CCTV was in operation in the area (such as evidence a camera was present), its reasonable to assume the AGS will be requesting access to it. If said footage is missing or deleted, then thats tapering with evidence. They cant just delete it without consequence.
Yeah cos that'll be handed over to the guards alright.
Usually around closing time they physically man handle people away from the premises including myself one night minding my own business smoking a cigarette near the establishment. Once they got people’s money @ 8 quid a pop they don’t care.
yeah have had the same experience in there as well at closing time. Barely a few minutes after buying your final 8 euro pint at closing time the bouncers are shouting in peoples ears to get the fcuk out. A mate said to them that we have half an hours drinking up time and they got aggressive with him. This is part of the culture in that pub, once they have your money they want you out of there.
On another occasion there we were standing outside Bunsen and saw a guy so drunk he could hardly stand up trying to enter. Any bouncer who knows how to do their job knows how to deal with that situation. But this ended up in them putting the drunk to the ground and one of them giving him a fierce kick to the back of the legs. This happened in front of 100+ tourists with many of the women there screaming. I remember saying to my mate that the bouncers have literally made a mountain out of a molehill by not dealing with the situation properly.
Its hard to comment fully on this situation without the entire video but ultimately dragging the kid inside the pub has gone far beyond any semblance of self defense. Those bouncers are in a spot of trouble over this because they went too far.
Due to the protests maybe some tourists might accidentally end up going to a decent pub
And this is exactly it in a nutshell. Nothing else to be said case closed. The bouncers outside that kip have been throwing their weight around for years especially around closing time on a Friday/Saturday night. Since 2007 I’ve seen multiple problems at that pub.
Usually around closing time they physically man handle people away from the premises including myself one night minding my own business smoking a cigarette near the establishment. Once they got people’s money @ 8 quid a pop they don’t care. They think they’ve the right to touch people and they should be challenged all the time. Can’t give nasty people like this too much power. And for the record my father in law does the doors around this area and I have nothing against doormen but I hope they shut that kip down for the amount of shite it’s caused. Temple bar in general is one big sh1thole with this place leading the charge.
This is far from the first time The Temple Bar have had security beating the shite out of teenagers go viral. It's a bit telling that it's somehow a much more prevalent issue for them than other premises in the same area.
Could have started for any reason, but if they're not capable of de-escalating 13 year olds they definitely shouldn't be anywhere near drunk adults for the same purpose.
And if the young lad was "chasing a claim" or whatnot, they have given him exactly what he wanted when they dragged him inside the building against his will after having beaten the shite out of him.
It happened out of shot of THAT camera. You have to know theres CCTV inside too, right?
Adults kicking a minor several times who's held down on the ground by colleagues, there is no additional details required to be disgusted by that, what scum those staff members are.
Meh I’m sure a good few of us have squared up to bouncers in our youth and learned our lesson. Wrongs of passage. Won’t do it again?
They deserved a good kick in the arse. Far too many tripping over making excuses
boy squares up to another , on the streets, what on earth do they expect… fortunately they will be well compensated for their pain suffering and made up mental health injuries that arose from this incident
kids of today need to be put back into their place, they have no excuse being anywhere near Temple bar at this hour of the night
the buckos got brave and mouth off, got ratty because they were made fun of with their skateboards , they square up to someone that they ought not have …
back in my day, we knew how to have fun: up in a field, drinking , shmoking, fighting nearby village and chasing girls (and a few sheep) . No running to mammy when we got hurt
skateboarding … good grief
stories about ashtrays being thrown and kicks in the head lol, there’s be a few ambulances outside of that was true ..l
pity these bouncers weren’t around a few weeks ago when the other brats were causing chaos on the streets
It went down for a while and looks like it’s back up now.
Article still there.
They probably just restrained him until AGS arrived. Any evidnece to show they beat him up inside?
https://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2021/07/30/outrage-as-skateboarder-charged-e100-for-beating-in-temple-bar/
Yeah they were probably bringing him in for a cuddle or a discussion on Tony Hawk ffs.
At the end of the day, both sides are pathetic here.
The lads on skateboards are scummers. They deserve a good hiding as do most teens in these types of gangs, whos behaviour will only escalate if they go unpunishied.
The lads pining down a teen while kicking him are idiotic and went too far, as did the Ashtray flinger. Could have killed someone.
Remember years ago getting frog marched out of one of the Temple Bar pubs for standing up on my own drinking red bull.
You said skaters arent usually known as scummers,
These lads are though.
Google is your friend. You'll find plenty of stories of people being hit with skateboards and hospitalised.