Temple bar pub assault incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,768 ✭✭✭whippet

I can only go on what I see .. so if I’m reading this correctly there was a verbal altercation and someone starting swinging a skateboard in someone’s face and a row erupted … culminating in a young fella getting a hiding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,251 ✭✭✭RoryMac

you miss the part where the little scrote is on top of someone punching them in the head before the security guy gets involved??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭Feisar

Agreed, however are we not forever giving out about feral youths having no fear of the law? And wouldn't it be great if they got their comeuppance? Attacking people with skateboards? Yea great idea but don't bite off more than you can chew.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

its an age old problem .. .young fellas who think they are bullet proof provoking bouncers ... and ending up getting a hiding.

Well we don’t know the full extent. All we know is what’s in the videos.

-physical altercation.

-Teens swinging skateboards dangerously.

-adults beating on children as young as 13

-an ashtray thrown.

-a confused security guy dragging people.

-A child dragged into a pub off camera against his will by clearly an older man over powering him.

Thats what I see in the video. I think it’s enough to make judgement in this case due to previous behaviour as well. Adults shouldn’t beat on kids. Sadly we’ll never know the full story but this isn’t the only problem they’ve caused. You might remember the bad name they gave every pub in the country at the start of lockdown hosting sing songs when the virus ran rampant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Play stupid games, win stupid prizes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭TefalBrain

Whole story stinks. What's a pub doing with an ashtray inside it's premises in 2021 for a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,240 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Absolutely problem is, if that craic starts going excused...then what a punter having a few verbals with a security head who looses patience after a challenging night.....and then the punter gets cracked on the head and dragged inside..that’s not lawful..

i guarantee most of us at some point have seen pub / club security overstep the mark, times I’ve seen it happen coincidentally has been temple bar too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76,248 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Its outdoors - and its usually a good idea to have one to put out illegally lit cigarettes indoors anyway. Brand new built aircraft still have ashtrays in the toilets for this purpose.

its two groups of people interacting when they should have been. Both in the wrong .. but adults should probably know better. However a skateboard can cause serious damage to any individual regardless of who is swinging it ... and if you do swing it you'd want to be prepared for what ever reaction you are going to get

See that’s an assumption though.

How do we know the lads were provoking the bouncers?

if it’s the case they asked the bouncer for a cigarette and the bouncer slags the teen then is it the bouncer provoking the attack or kid for asking for cigarette?

or skateboarders might have just decided to attack a bouncer for no reason.

This is not usually a typical skateboarders behaviour but how and ever we don’t know what happened which leads us back to video evidence and that video evidence shows adult men beating on teenagers. The kids giving some slaps back and then some guy goes completely over the top by throwing an ashtray. Same guy then drags the 13 YO into the premises against his will. And that is really where the problem is. This wouldn’t be a problem if the dragging into the pub didn’t happen out of camera shot knowing this pub is famous for that camera being live steamed it’s even on their website. So this then shows something malicious within the dragging off camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,696 ✭✭✭✭listermint

What's a 13 year old doing out at night time in the middle of Dublin city asking for smokes and hasseling licensed premises staff. All the videos show it's clearly dark out.

Is it normal for his parents to have him hanging around the city at night . Place is dangerous enough without throwing middle class kids into the mix.

As for not typical skateboarder behaviour. Never heard such waffle before. Lads on skateboards are no angels. They aren't some hyper being of great citizenship behaviour.

I also find it amusing the difference in opinion on this incident and the inner city young lads a few weeks ago causing havoc on south William Street.

Classism.

One of the young fellas sister even made the comment about him being no angel ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,522 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Add in the threats of criminal damage against the premises, threats of assault and even death threats on named people. Great 'community' alright..lol

its all assumptions ..... but I don't for one minute believe that the bouncers initiated anything. They are there day in and day out and probably immune to most of the abuse that bouncers get.

A bunch of feral teenagers out late at night getting in to a row isn't anything unusual either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭nullObjects

Yeah we should definitely leave this to the gardai, where the footage from the door definitely won't go missing if it incriminates the bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,852 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

I tend to agree this is most likely....but the footage doesn't exactly look great from the pubs POV

it’s all selected footage that is been uploaded to social media - I’m sure the guards will be able to get access to the footage that will show the lead up to the main event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

I seen him he dragged in. Have t seen him been assaulted after he was dragged in. So its an alleged assault.

Listen, if these teens started on a bouncer as its been alleged on some partsof Twitter, then they have themselves to blame. If thats the case of course.

The footage online is skewwed, as itt begins mid altercation..... its hard to know what happened without full footage. Id ask why was the full footage not published? Did it paint the teens in a bad light?

If its true that they teens did this to start this incident, then they deserve a hiding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,852 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

The sister saying he isn't an "angel" and he is a "cheeky kid"

Yeah I think best to look at all the footage before rushing to judgement

He was acting the hardman squaring up to someone. Hes no angel.

He reaped what he sowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭bennyl10

There is no excuse for licensed security staff to drag a teenager into a premises

absolutely none regardless of the preamble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,760 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

It’s a fair few **** inches from his face, seeing as he swung is at his arse. The first physical contact in that video was the staff member throwing something in the kids face. Would love to see these scum get shut down but of course it’ll be brushed under the carpet.

I dont know what started it as we havent seen the lead up to it.

I did see a skateboard being swung and this could cause a bad injury.

Best to let the gardai deal with it, thats their job.

You are right - but also no excuse for a bunch of kids to be squaring up to door staff of a licensed premises and threatening them.

So both parties very much in the wrong here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Normal One

He’s also a child, and if “security professionals” can’t deal with it then they’re in the wrong job.

What? If he is attacking people they can restrain the lad and hold him until Garda arrive.

they did deal with them.

From what I am hearing there isn’t any reports of injuries … so I’m sure the guards were called and will deal with it now