My first time back here since the Big Boards Blackout.
Unrelated to thread, but it's nice that paper articles now have previews, and how big replies now are collapsed, particularly given how both of these are so prolific in the Current Affairs/IMHO subforum. Pretty difficult to find this subforum now though. Hope they improve quality of life features in coming updates.
Hanging around with the Twitterati isn't much different to being missing.
Sure look im sure she'll call around to yous with tea,jaffa cakes and a hug tomorrow🤣🤣🤣🤣
Jesus wept man,do ya wonder why people dont take ya seriously....the dail has fcuked off on holidays for the summer,unless yous gonna go full socialist and demand they be work same as everyone else (good idea imo,they've too many holidays),yous are complaining for sake of it🥳
Caught spoofing/inventing again. Not much different there either.
For those that support SF, beware of the Indo/Sindos new tactics against the party. Looking back on previous killings by the IRA during the troubles and having a swipe against SF.
Of course I hope and pray that those that committed atrocities in the troubles in all sides will be prosecuted and face the full wrath of the justice system. But when the likes of right wing Indo hacks are using the troubles as a propaganda tool to discredit SF for Fg political gain then that has to be called out too.
Thats being on,since year dot
Tbh its kind of a meme now tbh, (same as how shinners were gatering voters data,while ffg were only collecting voting intentions🤣🤣),they are playing those whom lack critical thinking skills like a fiddle**.......i actually question the value of this as a tactic,as it deosnt seem to bear fruit atal
**the videogame makers in america used do same things by playing up games as being violent,that it would set off pages and pages of right-wing outrage/critism......essentially free publicity and helped drive sales
You are aware because you posted it here loads of people who would never have read the articles will now read them? having the opposition effect you wanted.
“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it"
She really has a penchant for hyperbole.
On a more serious note, in light of the medical advice, are Sinn Fein still in favour of allowing unvaccinated have seamless access to indoor dining?
Apparently in this country, there are people who believe only the government can ignore medical advice. Bizarre ain't it?
Do you think she was right to use a reference to Rosa Parks in this situation?
No.
I'd also ask, so what? I'm not very woke really.
So Sinn Fein still want to allow unvaccinated people endanger my health and my elderly parents' health. Good to know.
The opposition do not enact laws blanch.
Whither your rant when the government actually ignored medical advice and enacted their own plan, that resulted in actual unnecessary death and suffering on a mega scale.
Can you point me to your posts on that?
Thankfully, you are correct that the opposition do not enact laws, the whole country should breathe a sigh of relief.
Once again, a dog's dinner has been made of reopening in the North by the SF/DUP administration, and we have been so lucky to avoid having SF in government down here. The posturing on Covid has been disgusting.
You have been told often enough that it isn't a SF/DUP administration but a 5 party one.
Why you insist on showing your ignorance amazes me.
Can you point to this 'dogs dinner' you refer to?
*Your running away from the question asked about your anger at the government ACTUALLY ignoring advice and effecting the unnecessary deaths and suffering here, speaks volumes about your 'concern'.
It isn't really about victims at all is it?
Take your government question to the relevant thread, and stop trying to distract and deflect from the questions that Sinn Fein should answer.
The thread where you mention SF at the drop of a hint of government criticism? 😁
Any links to this 'dogs dinner'?
"Later, the South Eastern Health Trust posted a similar message. It said: "We are currently experiencing pressures in the system and would appeal for any Trust staff who can help out this evening to contact their Department Manager.""
The health system is under huge pressure in the North, case numbers and hospitalisations up there are on a par with the South, even though the North is one-third the size. There is a complete lack of leadership from SF on these issues.
The same thing is happening all over the UK. It is primarily because of Johnsn's disastrous moves.
But blanch, rather than cut to the chase, has a go at the Shinners.
It ain't about victims, it's all about the Shinners. Not a word out of you when NI was ahead of us on vaccination and Covid control. Macabre competition rears it's head again. Pretty disgusting and you should be left on your own to indulge in it.
You don't get away that easy. Public health policy is devolved to Northern Ireland and SF didn't have to copy Johnson.
PH policy in NI is to co-ordinate it's approach with that of the UK.
Remember SF challenging Arlene wanting to follow Johnson's herd immunity fantasy?
Who is responsible for decisions with regard to COVID-19 in Northern Ireland?
The Institute of Government has a useful explainer on COVID-19 and devolution. They underline that while most public services impacted by the pandemic are the responsibility of respective devolved administrations (e.g. health and education), there is a strong emphasis on regional coordination across the UK.
In Northern Ireland, the Executive Office has overall responsibility to ensure a coordinated response.
Emergency UK-wide COBRA meetings are attended by the First Minister, the Deputy First Minister, the Health Minister and other Ministers where relevant. Northern Ireland Executive Ministers are also in close contact with their counterparts in the Irish Government, both informally and through the North-South Ministerial Council.
Guess who has refused to do the bit in the last sentence? The Unionist Minister for Health.
Blame FG government, blame the poster, blame the unionists, blame everyone except SF.
You have gone through the full list once again on this one. So people dying because of incompetence and SF won't walk out of government, but hey, if there is something about an Irish Language Act, they are gone.
SF are to blame for what they have gotten wrong. I have blamed them for getting things wrong on this very thread.
You are winging it again, otherwise known as mis-representing and lying.
That's great Francie.
SF cant spout all the anti-science nonsense it wants, and sure it's grand because they are not in government to enact any of their witch doctor nonsense. So the question then is, why support them? Clearly, you support their anti-science stance on things.
Absolutely nothing to do with being woke. Conway Walsh's comment displays a lack of historical perspective and a lack of proportionality. (As did Mattie McGrath's "mark of the beast" comment).
Plenty of differing opinions in all parties aa we know.
Is anti-science SF party policy=nope
View OED entry
#staywoke. In the last few years, the injunction to ‘stay woke’ in the face of racial discrimination or social injustice has ensured that woke, an originally African-American variant of woken or awake, has received wide currency and considerable attention. Woke was among the candidates for Oxford Dictionaries Word of the Year in 2016, when its development and usage were explored by Nicole Holliday for the OxfordWords Blog. The OED is currently seeking any contextual evidence (i.e. not from a glossary or definition) of woke meaning ‘well informed’ or ‘alert to racial or social discrimination and injustice’ that dates from earlier than 2008.
Yes, it is. They have consistently called for the pubs to be reopened in the face of all scientific advice. It is playing to the gallery at its worst.
They also exploit the Irish nod-and-wink culture, we can't openly say 9/11 was a conspiracy or that vaccines are bad for you, but look at what some of our representatives let slip.
Given the definition that you have posted - alert to racial or social discrimination and injustice - I wouldn't be proudly shouting from the rooftops that you are not very woke.
I would have guessed that anyway from some of your clumsy suggestions as to how to respond to the unionist culture in the North.