Team bondage!! 😂
Best of luck in the new role! Can I ask out of curiosity, did ye ever consider going to the union on this matter?
Update. Moral is an all time low. The solution. Team bondage...I mean bonding. Suggested by the failed PO. Thankfully leaving. Sideward move. Suggests customer service legacy more a skid mark. In Tony Sopranos garments. Hopefully new PO. Cares about immigration. And the law. I digest. No one wants to go team bonding. Management consults the big book of corruption. Bribe staff. So they go. I mean what and pardon my Francais. Gimp suggests this on staffs rest days. Someone with no clue how shifts work. Or how staff feel. After been rammed by failed team changes. If anyone reading this. High up there. Fix the actual problems. HR contact sorted. So this approach works.
Can anybody please tell me how does the roster works for an ICO , I mean week 1 week 2 etc what kind of shift hours are they ?
example:
week 1 05:00-17:00 (mon, tues,fri,sat,sun)
week 2 06:00-18:00 (wed, thurs)
week 3 14:00-02:00 ( mon, tues,fri,sat,sun)
week 4 18:00-06:00 (wed,thurs)
Do they repeat these way or how? Or are they mixed shifts?
anybody who knows,pleAse give your feedback . Much appreciated .
Many thanks
They are in OOM 200ish...
I'm in the 420's and am waiting for a correspondence.. Previously the last ICO recruitment (2016) drives were extended a year, so I would assume this will happen again.
I know that applicants from the 2019 competition were recently contacted asking if they were still interested in the roles and for zoom interviews.
Does anyone know if this has progressed at all or has anyone got a date? A family member was one of the applicants and hasn't heard anything since.
If RTE did manage to come out and view, they probably wouldn't be able to make head or tail of the total chaos and lack of planning out there. They wont find any Management to interview; they've gone back to their keyboard warrior status. to avoid and ignore staff .🙈🙉🙊
Don't be holding yr breath waiting for RTE to report anything of interest in the airport.
Thanks Walter.
For the witch hunters. Brisco is a tv show and nothing more. The Ico/co to Ics/eo was a lie. Wheres Wally the ap strikes again. Harder to find then white beard. Anyone with savvy called porkies. The new advertised eo to ics. Confirms what was known. The amigos been looked after again. We have already been told who #1 on panel. By middle men. Anyone whos a Eo already. Dont apply it a waste. Panel confimred already. Temp icos = new ics. Moral once again. Hits a new low. Thankfully an The Insider movement in the works. Wont be long now before RTE reports.
ICO = immigration control officer (clerical officer)
ICS = immigration control supervisor (executive officer)
ICM = immigration control manager ( higher executive officer)
Head of operation = (assistant principle officer)
Then there is back office admin staff.
Yeah civil service is a decent job, the BMU would be as well if staff weren't so mis-treated and the back hand dealing wasn't carrying on.
Just remember your trapped in the BMU for 4 years if you hate it unless your promoted out or quit.
What does ICS stand for? I'm not into all these acronyms!
That's kinda what I was saying in my last comment. Work can be difficult without everything else that is posted here. I do think it is great to get into the civil service though.
I was at a Justice union meeting (Zoom) about a month ago and BMU are not the only section that are unhappy. But it seems to be a common theme that a lot are feeling demotivated and that rules are not applied equally to all.
Hahaha Legend, someone had to be brutality honest. I take my hat off to you. I agree with 99% of what you said, I mean Kathrine Zappone wouldn't have the same power of as a BMU HEO to make them ICM contracts.
But the job did use to be good at the start, management sucked the life out of that and their staff. Sure latest BS is and ICO to ICS panel, can’t wait for the hilarity of corruption that will follow with that.
If I had known what the job was going to turn into, I’d have stayed away tough tackling shifts on top if unnecessary mental health fatigue being created by an organisation that considers staff as essential.
There is a total disregard and lack of empathy for the staff out there. No other Dept treats staff so badly . Until the attitude towards staff changes, there will always be a negative and demotivated staff
Why don't you leave?
There isn’t a HR unit out there. There is a PO in town but she doesn’t care about staff or their mental health. Normally covers stuff up then fix the problem. There is no clock either. What’s being referred to there is local arrangements. AKA for a CO not been provided with scheduled breaks and you get let go in lieu of that. For certain COs, EOs, the new HEO grade (who work less contracted hours then everyone else but still get full allowances) the entire back office and the AP they may as well job share. These arrangements are used as a threat by management. As they know without them the BMU would fall apart. Which at the moment it is. They even bringing out old staff on better conditions. Less hours same shift and allowance payments. To make sure they have cover in case of walkouts and resignations. Job is unbearable. Good thing you opted not to take it.
Yup, at the moment feels like they doing everything in their power to push staff out. But keeping their amigos looked after and have them stay. Awful atmosphere out there, considering how many COs stepped up to do work not even related to immigration. But hey ho its all aload of ballocks. At the end of the day your only a number.
I wouldn't say the job is no longer interesting but each to their own.
You have to work your full shifts. The job is no longer interesting and has never been handy; management have made sure of that.
Interesting role for sure, the rest is absolute nonsense!
Interesting! An expression of interest was sent around to my unit, I personally didn’t want to work the shifts. However, nothing was mentioned about being able to leave early. Is HR cooking the clocks out there???
Private sector experience is never considered for civil service jobs. With a couple of exceptions - solicitor, barrister for some legal roles in the civil service
Does anyone has an experience dealing with pay grade? I mean is it strict by public job pay scale ? I have over 10 years health care service experience but not with HSE. it is private company I'm working for. So do yous think I can discuss pay scale if I accept the post? Thanks
You are right to take the permanent position but use it as a stepping stone into get into other areas of the Civil Service. You are not treated the same in this area as you would be in other departments. Apparently a lot of people are applying to get out and move to other areas; it is not a happy place to work in
Finally they got back to me for permanent position. I'm going for it.
job seeker wrote: » I'd literally sell my soul to the devil himself for this offer!! (I'm way down the OOM though!)
Deleted User wrote: » Although there is some risk of not being kept on I'd still jump at it. Basically no new ICO's taken on over last 2 years, crying out for bodies there over the summer, everything is going to pick up in the next couple of months so there is definitely going to be permanent positions.
blackeagle wrote: » I remember I contacted them after the positions being filled they told me I'm down to 34 on the list which was moving quick enough then covid happened. Tbh I'm bit hesitant now after all these things even if I get permanent offer. I have full time permanent job last 11 years so it will be risky move for me even I really like the idea working as ICO.