Following on from
this thread
Please remain civil or posting privileges will be removed
ill answer that
no he is not corrupt and no he has done nothing to demonstrate an abuse of power in any sort.
i honestly think if varadkar was straight people wouldn’t have an issue with him. that has always been even more clear since he became leader
I just checked the thread title, and it's about the FFG government, last time I checked that government has Leo Varadkar as Tánaiste, and he's also still leader of the FG party, who are in government with the 3rd largest number of seats.
I know it's probably uncomfortable having to defend it, but you're on the road to nowhere trying to dictate the direction of discussion, though probably as handy doing that as trying to defend him with pedantry the way the other Leoites are.
Tbf the taniste being corrupt and not allowed be pointed out on government thread is pointless
Like the government "leaks" basically dried up when everyone laughed at varadkar for saying he'd find the leaker of mother and baby home documents😅
I'm not defending anything as you can see clearly from my posts. I just think all the Leo talk about that topic is clogging up thread seen as there is a dedicate thread already. Nothing more nothing less.
I'm not defending anything as you can see clearly from my posts. I just think the all the Leo talk about that topic is clogging up thread seen as there is a dedicate thread already. Nothing more nothing less.
Never said yous were....but id be of the opioion discussion of this is entirely relevant within context of the government (as well he is in high profile government position)......
perhaps if yous feel he's a distraction from discussion on the government,yous should call upon him to resign,in place of badgering posters for posting about taniste in a thread on government🤔..
Holding opinions is fine
Allegations of corruption are baseless
Continuing to reject that has no basis in fact
Only opinion
You could have summed your position up in one sentence 12hrs ago-you don't believe Vradakar
I do
No bridging those 2 opinions
Zero point in directing anger towards me for that
You can of course come back and probably will to repeat the Allegations if it helps you deal with my opinions
But obviously I've made it clear that my position and reasoning need only be stated once and yet again direct you to same in this thread and others
How can leaking a document in a way you know to be wrong be considered straight? If it was straight the wouldn't have had to apologise for it. It was an abuse of power and was done due to the arrogance of power. The power swap's continuing display that their activities cannot be described with perfectly adequate and descriptive words.
Your posts make my head hurt trying to read them. Its like the reading first chapter of an Irvine Welsh novel.
There is a already a thread "people think Leo did something wrong" Would just appreciate if posts about it went there thats all.
Respectfully,il have to disagree as i feel discussion on actions of taniste are relevent to discussion on the government
The obvious solution,if yous feel this is a distraction on discussion of government,is surely to call for his resignation??
Or you could put forward some (high quality-like mine) content yous feel is more relevant??
All I suggested was to maybe use the dedicated thread to discuss it nothing else.
That may be so, but as already stated, Leo is tánaiste of the current govt, and also leader of FG, it's pretty much inevitable him leaking a confidential document to his friend is going to be brought up in here.
Uncomfortable and inconvenient it may be, but it's certainly not off topic nor clogging up the thread, given the thread title and the aforementioned roles Leo holds in government, and his party who are part of that government.
Grand if you think that it's an ongoing issue and relevant to this thread I personally don't. Its a story that broke back in October 2020 and the last post on dedicated the thread was from yourself over a month ago.
Any update on the story or just decide to jump in and contribute nothing?
I don't understand the last sentence? Any update to the story? - I don't know. I'm not a member of the investigating Gardai or the DPP.
As for the "jump in and contribute nothing" bit - that isn't how it went down at all. I merely corrected you on your attempts to shut down the flow of conversation.
As stated, Leo is tánaiste and leader of FG, if you think it's off topic to discuss him leaking confidential documents to his friend because there is a thread soley dedicated to it, well that's hard luck. If that's a model boards wants to go down, why don't we all just start up sub threads on random topics and bar any mention of that in other threads.
I mean surely if someone started a northern conflict thread you'd be all for restricting any and all discussion to the troubles to that thread?
Don't see that flying with various resident partitionists mind you. Just a heads up.
The Leo topic being discussed on this thread has it's own thread why not use it? That's all I was saying. Its old news with no updates. When there is maybe a good time to revive it.
An admin stepped into this level of debate last time, concepts of criminal behaviour and corruption were levelled at Leo. Yet here we are, repeating the same stuff in a new thread.
Leo confessed to what he did. He abused his power and the trust placed in him. And apologised to the Dáil for doing it.
The Dáil decided to accept that apology but that doesn't negate the descriptive word for what he did nor the fact that the Gardai are investigating it and the DPP will decide if it was criminal corruption under two points of law. NOTE; the 'or' in the definition/descriptive term below.
Corruption : dishonest or illegal behaviour especially by powerful people (such as government officials or police officers)
Again, that is merely your opinion, a small-minded, petty, personalised opinion, but still only an opinion.
It is an opinion that was rejected by the Dail which voted confidence in him. Now that is a fact. The Dail, as a collective, by voting confidence in Varadkar, rejected the opinion that he was corrupt. Now you can continue with your silly game pretending your opinion is a fact, but it is more than tiresome at this stage.
The Dail rejected the opinion that is was an abuse of power and trust and voted confidence in him. That is a fact.
MIcheál Martin said it was 'wrong and inappropriate' and had to be assured that Varadkar had not done it before or since.
I.E. he accepted that Varadkar did wrong and was prepared to ignore it.
Stop lying about the facts. Leo apologised for errors of judgement, he didn't admit to corruption like you would have us believe. We have been over this again and again for the past few months. There is an entire thread, dedicated to this topic with thousands of posts and now here we are the past few days, talking the same ol shite again and again.
The sun is out, the weather is great, and we still have the same ol crew getting busy on the keyboards rehashing old news.
He couldn't have had an 'error of judgement' without abusing the power and trust vested in him. He wouldn't have had to apologise.
Whatever way you fry it again.
Your aversion to using the correct descriptive word for what he did is of no relevance tbh.
He apologised for an error of judgement. Look up the Dail record if you don't believe me. Otherwise, perhaps we can move on.
An 'error of judgment he COULD NOT have made without abusing the trust and power vested in him.
No 'error' no corrupt act.
Taking ink cartridges may be an error of judgement and you may 'apologise' but it is STILL an abuse of the power and trust vested in you.
You are backing down at a rate of knots. We have gone from him being corrupt to having once done something wrong and inappropriate. Probably without blushing either.
Sigh...doing something 'wrong and inappropriate' is FG dictionary speak for abuse of power and trust which = corruption.
As this shows, these people also 'apologised for errors of judgement' but they have been charged and face trial for it regardless.
'Golfgate' case against current TD, former senator and two hoteliers is adjourned to October (thejournal.ie)
Tonnes of important stuff happening yet the vain peacock is centre of attention, Covid, housing, councillors robbing us blind, charities scamming, but the botoxed airhead is all Boards posters are worried about
Yep like the HSE shutting down soup kitchens.
I don't know what the government's long term plan is, they seem to be purposely pricing people out of accomodation and then attack them again when they are homeless,
Link?